Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Customer Care Forums > MSI UK Forum
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 29-04-17, 11:55 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newbsville
Posts: 13,411
Gaming Pro Carbon AM4, Permanently Change Onboard LED's ?

So I changed my onboard LED's on the X370 Gaming Pro Carbon through the Gaming App, I had to reinstall Windows due to a bug and somehow the motherboard has kept the colours I chose even through the format and multiple reboots and has not defaulted back to its red colour scheme.

I have no clue how this is possible as the bios has no options to change lights permanently and the Gaming App is not installed.

Anyone have a clue how this happened ? As I'd love to do it again but with a different colour.

Or maybe MSI could add the option in the bios to do a simple colour change ?

__________________
Steam: Dicehunter
Origin: Dicehunter
Uplay: Dicehunter
Battle.Net: Dicehunter#2746
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30-04-17, 11:07 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,927
Its all linked to the BIOS dude. All the app is doing is talking to the BIOS. Some boards even have options to change colours in there.

Give the BIOS a clear and it may sort itself out
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30-04-17, 04:22 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,790
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
So I changed my onboard LED's on the X370 Gaming Pro Carbon through the Gaming App, I had to reinstall Windows due to a bug and somehow the motherboard has kept the colours I chose even through the format and multiple reboots and has not defaulted back to its red colour scheme.

I have no clue how this is possible as the bios has no options to change lights permanently and the Gaming App is not installed.

Anyone have a clue how this happened ? As I'd love to do it again but with a different colour.

Or maybe MSI could add the option in the bios to do a simple colour change ?
If it is anything like my Alienwares then it will have a PIC chip that controls the LED colour. As such it will also have memory and will remember the last colour you used when you boot next.

My Alienware blew up, was given back to me, gutted and completely rebuilt (new PSU etc etc) but as soon as I booted it it went back to the Tron colours my step son had set it to.

So yeah, it has probably stored the colour settings in RAM of some sort somewhere.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30-04-17, 06:33 PM
S_I_N's Avatar
S_I_N S_I_N is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 4,635
my msi board had it in there but for the life of me I cant recall where but it is in there just going to have to give it a good poking about in the bios
__________________


Intel 7700K
Aorus Z270 Gaming K7
2x8GB GSKILL Trident Z 3200MHz
Intel SSD6 256Gb x2 in Raid 0
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
EVGA GTX1080 FTW2 iCX Heat Killer IV block
Custom water Cooled Hardware Labs GTS360/240
ThermalTake Grand RGB 1000w PSU
Corsair Crystal 570X

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30-04-17, 07:53 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newbsville
Posts: 13,411
Thanks peeps, I cleared the bios and the colour I picked still remains, Would be nice iof MSI could just add a simple option in the bios to change colours so no app would be needed.
__________________
Steam: Dicehunter
Origin: Dicehunter
Uplay: Dicehunter
Battle.Net: Dicehunter#2746
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30-04-17, 09:35 PM
S_I_N's Avatar
S_I_N S_I_N is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 4,635
I know reinstall the software change the color back and then delete software
__________________


Intel 7700K
Aorus Z270 Gaming K7
2x8GB GSKILL Trident Z 3200MHz
Intel SSD6 256Gb x2 in Raid 0
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
EVGA GTX1080 FTW2 iCX Heat Killer IV block
Custom water Cooled Hardware Labs GTS360/240
ThermalTake Grand RGB 1000w PSU
Corsair Crystal 570X

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30-04-17, 09:48 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Newbsville
Posts: 13,411
Quote:
Originally Posted by S_I_N View Post
I know reinstall the software change the color back and then delete software
Tried that, Doesn't work, It just reverts back to the original cyan colour I chose.
__________________
Steam: Dicehunter
Origin: Dicehunter
Uplay: Dicehunter
Battle.Net: Dicehunter#2746
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30-04-17, 09:51 PM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 4,763
Have you tried sending MSI an email and see if they can assist you in any way?...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30-04-17, 09:54 PM
S_I_N's Avatar
S_I_N S_I_N is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 4,635
Sounds like a buggered board then
__________________


Intel 7700K
Aorus Z270 Gaming K7
2x8GB GSKILL Trident Z 3200MHz
Intel SSD6 256Gb x2 in Raid 0
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
EVGA GTX1080 FTW2 iCX Heat Killer IV block
Custom water Cooled Hardware Labs GTS360/240
ThermalTake Grand RGB 1000w PSU
Corsair Crystal 570X

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 30-04-17, 10:09 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is online now
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,200
This happens on there GPUs too.... Don't get hopeful is all I can say I've tried everything suggested here as well.
__________________
I am Iron Man.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 07:42 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.