Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Customer Care Forums > NZXT Forum
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 22-04-17, 12:07 PM
ras2a ras2a is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 2
Kraken x52 loose backplate

Hi guys,

Hoping someone can help me out with my new Kraken x52. Just in the process of installing it (for my 7700k). I've made sure that I've used the correct standoffs with my ASUS ROG STRIX Z270G mobo, but the plate seems quite loose. A quick search reveals that lots of other users apparently having the same issue. Some report that tightening the standoffs down with an adjustable spanner does the trick, whilst others say that the 'looseness' is normal and just to go ahead and fit the pump. Others users, still, say that over tightening the standoffs has broken the plate etc. I'm confused as to what I'm supposed to do in order to fit this safely. Any help would be fantastic?

Thanks a lot guys
-ras

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23-04-17, 03:27 AM
S_I_N's Avatar
S_I_N S_I_N is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 4,635
test fit the block and see if it tightens up if so then its most likely normal I wouldnt over tighten the standoffs as they can break and ur out til rma.
__________________


Intel 7700K
Aorus Z270 Gaming K7
2x8GB GSKILL Trident Z 3200MHz
Intel SSD6 256Gb x2 in Raid 0
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
EVGA GTX1080 FTW2 iCX Heat Killer IV block
Custom water Cooled Hardware Labs GTS360/240
ThermalTake Grand RGB 1000w PSU
Corsair Crystal 570X

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25-04-17, 09:18 PM
ras2a ras2a is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 2
I ended up packing out the backplate so that the threaded lugs on the backplate only just showed through the mounting holes. I then installed the standoffs and they're completely snug against the mobo (no 'play'). However, despite mounting the CPU block correctly (From what I can see), my CPU temps climb very quickly as soon as I boot my PC... we're talking starting out at around 40 deg and climbing to over 75 (at which point I power down) within a minute or so.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25-04-17, 09:31 PM
S_I_N's Avatar
S_I_N S_I_N is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 4,635
That's not unusual fir sky and kaby lake cpus let it boot all the way up and you'll see them go back down mines delidded and will hit 40-45c while booting but settle in at 31-33c after everything's done then when I open a program it'll spike and settle again full custom loop on mine

Also what's ur vcore at stock setting or auto will more than less overvolt
__________________


Intel 7700K
Aorus Z270 Gaming K7
2x8GB GSKILL Trident Z 3200MHz
Intel SSD6 256Gb x2 in Raid 0
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
EVGA GTX1080 FTW2 iCX Heat Killer IV block
Custom water Cooled Hardware Labs GTS360/240
ThermalTake Grand RGB 1000w PSU
Corsair Crystal 570X

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26-04-17, 10:41 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,978
Sounds like the pump isnt running? Do you have all the power cables plugged in?
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26-04-17, 01:17 PM
S_I_N's Avatar
S_I_N S_I_N is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 4,635
That's another issue I didn't consider lol :face palm:
__________________


Intel 7700K
Aorus Z270 Gaming K7
2x8GB GSKILL Trident Z 3200MHz
Intel SSD6 256Gb x2 in Raid 0
Samsung 850 EVO 1TB
EVGA GTX1080 FTW2 iCX Heat Killer IV block
Custom water Cooled Hardware Labs GTS360/240
ThermalTake Grand RGB 1000w PSU
Corsair Crystal 570X

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21-10-17, 11:06 PM
denial denial is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 4
If anyone else need help on the topic , i bought x52 today and i had exactly the same issue with "loose" backplate.
There is no issue at all as it seems before u put the cooler and have only the backplate on motherboard (its not like other backplates i used) u just have to put the cooler and tighten the screws and everything will lock in position with no issue.
I hope this helps anyone else get furstrated like me today
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:51 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.