Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 11-04-19, 08:31 PM
hournybiscuit hournybiscuit is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: England, Walsall
Posts: 5
Random PC Black screen !!HELP PLEASE!!

Hi guys hope ive posted in the right section.

Ive recently built a new rig and now it randomly black screens on me, so my monitor goes black my keyboard & mouse leds turn off and the PC becomes unresponsive. it does this whenever it feels like, i could be browsing the internet to playing games.

i have no idea why it is doing this, my Specs are:

Motherboard: ROG Strix B450 F-Gaming
Processor: AMD Ryzen 7 2700 (using stock AMD wraith max cooler)
RAM: 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance RGB 3000Mhz
GPU: MSI GTX970 gaming edition (took this from my old Rig)
PSU: Corsair CX600

Much Appreciated if someone can help

Thanks

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-04-19, 08:36 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 14,796
I assume that you are running the system at stock settings and that there are no overclock in place?

What do you mean by unresponsive? Does the system reboot immediately or does it not turn on again for a while?
__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-04-19, 08:40 PM
hournybiscuit hournybiscuit is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: England, Walsall
Posts: 5
Everything is on stock settings, I even made sure by resetting the bios to the default settings.

Also by unresponsive I mean the screen goes off, so does my mouse and keyboard but my CPU, GPU fans are running. All Mobi, CPU cooler and RAM RGB lights are all still active

To reset I have to use switch on PSU because the power and reset switch also don't do anything
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-04-19, 08:51 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 14,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by hournybiscuit View Post
Everything is on stock settings, I even made sure by resetting the bios to the default settings.

Also by unresponsive I mean the screen goes off, so does my mouse and keyboard but my CPU, GPU fans are running. All Mobi, CPU cooler and RAM RGB lights are all still active

To reset I have to use switch on PSU because the power and reset switch also don't do anything
Strange question, but did you do a clean install of your OS when building the new system? Have heard of similar problems before when somebody used an old OS instal on a new system with a different motherboard platform.

I would also try the system with only one DIMM of memory to see if the issue is with your DRAM. Test each DDR4 DIMM separately.

Does it always take the same amount of time for the system to stop working (How Long?) or is it all random?
__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-04-19, 08:54 PM
hournybiscuit hournybiscuit is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: England, Walsall
Posts: 5
No I didn't do a fresh install of Windows, I didn't think that would cause an issue.

I will try reseating my RAM and see what happens and also it's completely random when it happens, sometimes its hours before it happens and then like today I booted the pc and within 5-10 mins it happened
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-04-19, 09:32 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 14,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by hournybiscuit View Post
No I didn't do a fresh install of Windows, I didn't think that would cause an issue.

I will try reseating my RAM and see what happens and also it's completely random when it happens, sometimes its hours before it happens and then like today I booted the pc and within 5-10 mins it happened
Remnants of old drivers and lots of other things can cause issues with new hardware, especially if you are changing manufacturers. It's always best practice to do a clean Windows install when building a new system on a new CPU platform.
__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-04-19, 09:36 PM
hournybiscuit hournybiscuit is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: England, Walsall
Posts: 5
Okay thanks, I'll remember that from now on. I'll try a fresh install of Windows and take it from there.

Thanks for the help
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-04-19, 09:29 AM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,371
There is something else you can try before going nuclear.

Start your PC in safe mode, then uninstall every device from device manager (and choose the delete driver option) then reboot. It will then rebuild the driver database and detect your hardware.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-04-19, 02:07 PM
hournybiscuit hournybiscuit is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: England, Walsall
Posts: 5
Well so far so good, I did a fresh install of Windows and everything is working fine.

Thanks for the advice
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 06:50 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.