Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 18-03-17, 07:22 AM
Doomslayer Doomslayer is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,247
This is what they should have been doing from the start AMD should be getting 3rd parties making E-ATX motherboards and then comparing the 1800X or whatever to the 6800/6900K.

Also NOT telling YouTube reviews to turn of Quad Channel memory and under clocking their 2011-3 CPU's.

__________________
Previously Known as King of Old School

Current Build:
CaseLabs SM8 | Intel i7 6850K | EK-XLC Predator 360 R1.1 | MSI X99A Godlike Gaming Carbon | Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB 8x4GB |
EVGA GeForce GTX 980Ti | Samsung 27HG70 FreeSync 144Hz | Samsung SD850 Series 1440P

Upcoming Build WIP:
CaseLabs SM8 | ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Extreme | AMD Ryzen 7 2700X | EK-XLC Predator 360 R1.1 | EVGA GeForce GTX 980Ti | Samsung 27HG70 FreeSync 144Hz 1440P | Samsung SD850 Series 1440P
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 18-03-17, 10:44 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle-Earth
Posts: 14,697
Quote:
Originally Posted by King of Old School View Post
This is what they should have been doing from the start AMD should be getting 3rd parties making E-ATX motherboards and then comparing the 1800X or whatever to the 6800/6900K.

Also NOT telling YouTube reviews to turn of Quad Channel memory and under clocking their 2011-3 CPU's.
Quad channel doesn't change anything anyway. Doesn't matter
__________________
Pickles are cucumbers soaked in evil
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 18-03-17, 07:18 PM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is offline
Old N Gold
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,516
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
There's no benefit using Quad Channel anyway. You're bandwidth doesn't go up, it does in the theoretical sense because you have two more sticks, but the real world impact is virtually 0. You just get more capacity potential really is just it.
I would probably rather have dual channel, less strain on the CPU which means higher speeds, which would give an actual boost to performance.
Yeah, the people that are complaining about a lack of quad channel memory are a minority and likely mistakenly feel they need it.
__________________
ASUS X370 Crosshair VI Hero ⁞⁞ Ryzen 1600X 4Ghz ⁞⁞ Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT ⁞⁞ Aorus GTX 1080 11Gbps ⁞⁞ G.Skill TridentZ 3200Mhz
Jonsbo W2 ⁞⁞ Corsair AX760 ⁞⁞ Pexon PC ⁞⁞ Samsung 960 EVO 250GB & 850 EVO 500GB
⁞⁞ Western Digital 1TB Blue & 3TB Green
BenQ XL2730Z ⁞⁞ Mixonix Naos 7000 ⁞⁞ Corsair K70 Cherry MX Brown ⁞⁞ Audio-GD NFB-15 ⁞⁞ EVE SC205 ⁞⁞ AKG K7XX
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 18-03-17, 08:16 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 1,885
Quad channel might matter at the enterprise level, but not the consumer level.
__________________
Guts: Ryzen R7 1700 / Asus CH6 Hero / 16GB G.Skill 3600CL15 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU / Case Labs M8
Storage: Intel 600p 1TB NVME / 6TB RAID0 array / 2TB RAID0 array
Water Cooling: Watercool HeatKiller IV blocks on CPU & GPUs / 4 360 rads + 1 240 rad / Singularity Computers reservoir / dual D5 pumps

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 19-03-17, 03:12 AM
Doomslayer Doomslayer is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,247
#QuadChannelMemoryMasterRace
__________________
Previously Known as King of Old School

Current Build:
CaseLabs SM8 | Intel i7 6850K | EK-XLC Predator 360 R1.1 | MSI X99A Godlike Gaming Carbon | Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB 8x4GB |
EVGA GeForce GTX 980Ti | Samsung 27HG70 FreeSync 144Hz | Samsung SD850 Series 1440P

Upcoming Build WIP:
CaseLabs SM8 | ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Extreme | AMD Ryzen 7 2700X | EK-XLC Predator 360 R1.1 | EVGA GeForce GTX 980Ti | Samsung 27HG70 FreeSync 144Hz 1440P | Samsung SD850 Series 1440P
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 19-03-17, 10:46 AM
KTM_RULZ KTM_RULZ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaapstad View Post
The 10 core 6950X is a better overclocker than any of the Ryzen CPUs, AMD need to address this first before even thinking about a 16 core consumer CPU.

What would a 16 core Ryzen CPU run at, 2.5ghz?
I don't think that Ryzen cpus will ever be great overclockers. L3 cache doesn't have its own multiplier and I'm not sure that fabric thing between CCXs can handle overclock any better.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 19-03-17, 12:25 PM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: On the Moon.
Posts: 7,944
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaapstad View Post
The 10 core 6950X is a better overclocker than any of the Ryzen CPUs, AMD need to address this first before even thinking about a 16 core consumer CPU.

What would a 16 core Ryzen CPU run at, 2.5ghz?
^^All of this, they have a good line up so far and should concentrate on that not throw more cores at the problem. #moarcoresfixesnothing
__________________
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 19-03-17, 02:47 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 10,811
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wraith View Post
^^All of this, they have a good line up so far and should concentrate on that not throw more cores at the problem. #moarcoresfixesnothing
If this is true and I highly doubt it for reasons given (AMD changing sockets etc) then they would be forward thinking again. And they've gotten themselves into trouble every time they have done that.

However, that said we do need to move forward. If they can get 8 cores supported properly (and they're working at it) then the next progression will be more cores of course. Because IPC becomes tight, and at the end of the day the only way to move on from Moore's law is to add more cores.

People only think the idea of 16 cores is stupid because they have been on 2/4 for a decade. Why do servers have 64 cores (as an example)? because it makes them more productive. There is no reason other than Intel that desktop PCs could do the same.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins



Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 19-03-17, 04:56 PM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: On the Moon.
Posts: 7,944
Yes but servers are also generally kept in racks cooled by industrial fans or have cold storage rooms so cold an eskimo would feel right at home, AMD have come on leaps and bounds and been planning this for the last 4 years putting the software in place first essentially paving their way to this moment. Next thing they need to do is further improve the IPC and frequencies also maybe work on a clearer way to indicate thermal readings.
__________________
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 19-03-17, 06:04 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 10,811
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wraith View Post
Yes but servers are also generally kept in racks cooled by industrial fans or have cold storage rooms so cold an eskimo would feel right at home, AMD have come on leaps and bounds and been planning this for the last 4 years putting the software in place first essentially paving their way to this moment. Next thing they need to do is further improve the IPC and frequencies also maybe work on a clearer way to indicate thermal readings.
Our old server room at the call centre I worked at had a small cupboard about 6ftx2ft. In the wall they had three air conditioners that were in the wall going straight outside.

However, as NM and heat drops (not on OC chips of course) AIOs are proving quite popular in Server Land.

I'm super interested to find out what sort of temps/power use these 32 core Zens will have.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins



Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 05:52 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.