Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 18-03-17, 07:22 AM
King of Old Old School King of Old Old School is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,227
This is what they should have been doing from the start AMD should be getting 3rd parties making E-ATX motherboards and then comparing the 1800X or whatever to the 6800/6900K.

Also NOT telling YouTube reviews to turn of Quad Channel memory and under clocking their 2011-3 CPU's.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 18-03-17, 10:44 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 13,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by King of Old School View Post
This is what they should have been doing from the start AMD should be getting 3rd parties making E-ATX motherboards and then comparing the 1800X or whatever to the 6800/6900K.

Also NOT telling YouTube reviews to turn of Quad Channel memory and under clocking their 2011-3 CPU's.
Quad channel doesn't change anything anyway. Doesn't matter
__________________
"I would have followed you, my Captain, my King."
- Boromir's last words.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 18-03-17, 07:18 PM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,906
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
There's no benefit using Quad Channel anyway. You're bandwidth doesn't go up, it does in the theoretical sense because you have two more sticks, but the real world impact is virtually 0. You just get more capacity potential really is just it.
I would probably rather have dual channel, less strain on the CPU which means higher speeds, which would give an actual boost to performance.
Yeah, the people that are complaining about a lack of quad channel memory are a minority and likely mistakenly feel they need it.
__________________
MSI Z97 Gaming 7 ⁞⁞ 4670K 4.5Ghz ⁞⁞ Nepton 240M ⁞⁞ ASUS Fury Strix ⁞⁞ Fury 16GB ⁞⁞ Define R4 ⁞⁞ AX760 ⁞⁞ Pexon PC ⁞⁞ Samsung EVO 120 & 500GB ⁞⁞ WD 1TB & 3TB
BenQ XL2730Z ⁞⁞ Mixonix Naos 7000 ⁞⁞ K70 Cherry MX Brown ⁞⁞ Audio-GD NFB-15 ⁞⁞ EVE SC205 ⁞⁞ AKG K7XX ⁞⁞ Fidelio X2
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 18-03-17, 08:16 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 1,593
Quad channel might matter at the enterprise level, but not the consumer level.
__________________
Guts: Ryzen R7 1700 / Asus CH6 Hero / 16GB G.Skill 3600CL15 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU / Case Labs M8
Storage: Intel 600p 1TB NVME / 6TB RAID0 array / 2TB RAID0 array
Water Cooling: Watercool HeatKiller IV blocks on CPU & GPUs / 4 360 rads + 1 240 rad / Singularity Computers reservoir / dual D5 pumps

Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 19-03-17, 03:12 AM
King of Old Old School King of Old Old School is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3,227
#QuadChannelMemoryMasterRace
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 19-03-17, 10:46 AM
KTM_RULZ KTM_RULZ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaapstad View Post
The 10 core 6950X is a better overclocker than any of the Ryzen CPUs, AMD need to address this first before even thinking about a 16 core consumer CPU.

What would a 16 core Ryzen CPU run at, 2.5ghz?
I don't think that Ryzen cpus will ever be great overclockers. L3 cache doesn't have its own multiplier and I'm not sure that fabric thing between CCXs can handle overclock any better.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 19-03-17, 12:25 PM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: In a hobbit hole.
Posts: 7,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaapstad View Post
The 10 core 6950X is a better overclocker than any of the Ryzen CPUs, AMD need to address this first before even thinking about a 16 core consumer CPU.

What would a 16 core Ryzen CPU run at, 2.5ghz?
^^All of this, they have a good line up so far and should concentrate on that not throw more cores at the problem. #moarcoresfixesnothing
__________________

"As a species we evolved with complex communication and sound reasoning, monkeys fling poop." ~ Me
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 19-03-17, 02:47 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 8,474
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wraith View Post
^^All of this, they have a good line up so far and should concentrate on that not throw more cores at the problem. #moarcoresfixesnothing
If this is true and I highly doubt it for reasons given (AMD changing sockets etc) then they would be forward thinking again. And they've gotten themselves into trouble every time they have done that.

However, that said we do need to move forward. If they can get 8 cores supported properly (and they're working at it) then the next progression will be more cores of course. Because IPC becomes tight, and at the end of the day the only way to move on from Moore's law is to add more cores.

People only think the idea of 16 cores is stupid because they have been on 2/4 for a decade. Why do servers have 64 cores (as an example)? because it makes them more productive. There is no reason other than Intel that desktop PCs could do the same.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




Young man ya too girly girly, you're just a Cadbury's Curly Wurly
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 19-03-17, 04:56 PM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: In a hobbit hole.
Posts: 7,599
Yes but servers are also generally kept in racks cooled by industrial fans or have cold storage rooms so cold an eskimo would feel right at home, AMD have come on leaps and bounds and been planning this for the last 4 years putting the software in place first essentially paving their way to this moment. Next thing they need to do is further improve the IPC and frequencies also maybe work on a clearer way to indicate thermal readings.
__________________

"As a species we evolved with complex communication and sound reasoning, monkeys fling poop." ~ Me
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 19-03-17, 06:04 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 8,474
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wraith View Post
Yes but servers are also generally kept in racks cooled by industrial fans or have cold storage rooms so cold an eskimo would feel right at home, AMD have come on leaps and bounds and been planning this for the last 4 years putting the software in place first essentially paving their way to this moment. Next thing they need to do is further improve the IPC and frequencies also maybe work on a clearer way to indicate thermal readings.
Our old server room at the call centre I worked at had a small cupboard about 6ftx2ft. In the wall they had three air conditioners that were in the wall going straight outside.

However, as NM and heat drops (not on OC chips of course) AIOs are proving quite popular in Server Land.

I'm super interested to find out what sort of temps/power use these 32 core Zens will have.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




Young man ya too girly girly, you're just a Cadbury's Curly Wurly
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 06:02 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.