Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Air Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #21  
Old 10-03-17, 01:02 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 6,879
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
I would drop your multiplier and work towards 200BCLK

I cant remember specific voltages on this platform now where it has been so long but Im sure you would be able to find some info in my guides and reviews
spoken like a pro.

Yeah, it's all about 200 bclk on X58. Then you see what it can do with whatever you manage to obtain.

__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




And they couldn't prevent Jack from being happy
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-03-17, 03:42 PM
notcool notcool is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 282
I could probably just put more volts through and get 3.8 but I'm going to be using this cpu for atleast another 2 years and I don't wanna break it. To go from 3.6 to 3.7 took two more voltage steps. Might try a lower multiplier as you say when I have time.

I've seen people with 4ghz on lower volts than my 3.7ghz.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-03-17, 04:53 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,132
Drop the multi back to 15 - go for 200bclk.

The work you volts back as low as you can before working the multi back up again
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-03-17, 07:57 PM
notcool notcool is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 282
Classic TTL Footage



Tom in this video you say you used 200x20 at 1.35v for an i7 920 at 4ghz. Maybe my 1.28 isn't that high after all.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10-03-17, 08:18 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 6,879
Quote:
Originally Posted by notcool View Post
I could probably just put more volts through and get 3.8 but I'm going to be using this cpu for atleast another 2 years and I don't wanna break it. To go from 3.6 to 3.7 took two more voltage steps. Might try a lower multiplier as you say when I have time.

I've seen people with 4ghz on lower volts than my 3.7ghz.
They're about £10 to replace so don't worry too much
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




And they couldn't prevent Jack from being happy
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11-03-17, 08:57 AM
notcool notcool is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
They're about £10 to replace so don't worry too much
I'm lazy though I would have to move my case then take the NH D14 off. My case weighs a bloody ton too.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 17-03-17, 03:06 PM
notcool notcool is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 282
Well I finally got 3.8ghz only through using a 19 multi though, seems whatever I do this 920 won't go higher, on sensible volts, but seeing how I used it at stock for about 6 years 3.8 is a nice boost.



Might get a 6 core i7 970 at some point not really sure.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 17-03-17, 06:35 PM
Damien c Damien c is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: North West UK
Posts: 1,246
I remember my old 920 would run 4Ghz at a core voltage of 1.275v, with 1600mhz ram at 1.65v, and the QPI/Dram voltage 1.35v.

My 950 would run 4.2Ghz at basically the same settings.

With X58 I do remember it wasn't just a case of changing the core and ram voltage you did normally need to tweak other stuff.
__________________
Main PC - I7 6700K, 32Gb Corsair 2400Mhz, MSI Z170 Gaming M7, 980Ti SLI, 840 Evo 500Gb, 2x 3TB WD Red, Corsair RM 1KW (White cables kit), Custom CPU Loop, Phanteks Enthoo Primo
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 17-03-17, 06:48 PM
notcool notcool is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien c View Post
I remember my old 920 would run 4Ghz at a core voltage of 1.275v, with 1600mhz ram at 1.65v, and the QPI/Dram voltage 1.35v.

My 950 would run 4.2Ghz at basically the same settings.

With X58 I do remember it wasn't just a case of changing the core and ram voltage you did normally need to tweak other stuff.
Yea I did try playing around with a few other settings but they were making no difference OCCT would still crash after about 3 minutes. Looking at a load of Youtube videos it seems most need well over 1.30v for 4Ghz. TTL's needed 1.35v which for 200mhz extra doesn't seem worth it to me.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 19-03-17, 03:33 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 6,879
That's not bad. IIRC I remember 4ghz only really being a given on the I7 950, and even then you would have to be prepared to put up with pretty extreme temps (low 90s under load).

As usual mine was crap.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




And they couldn't prevent Jack from being happy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump








All times are GMT. The time now is 03:41 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.