Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 17-03-17, 02:51 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Posts: 10,991
AMD are rumoured to be creating a consumer-oriented 16-core Ryzen CPU

AMD are rumoured to be creating a consumer-oriented 16-core Ryzen CPU, coming on a larger LGA socket and support for quad-channel memory.



Read more on AMD's potential X99 competitor.
__________________
I'm not saying that 1984 is a bad book, but the dystopia we are currently living in has much better worldbuilding.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17-03-17, 06:36 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 13,838
Doubt this will happen. Especially a "revised" Zen core? Yeah BS on that
__________________
"I would have followed you, my Captain, my King."
- Boromir's last words.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17-03-17, 07:15 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 1,652
NBD: agreed! Also, didn't AMD already confirm that the AM4 platform would last for a few years, with no new sockets? I know I read that somewhere, but not sure it was the "official" word.
__________________
Guts: Ryzen R7 1700 / Asus CH6 Hero / 16GB G.Skill 3600CL15 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU / Case Labs M8
Storage: Intel 600p 1TB NVME / 6TB RAID0 array / 2TB RAID0 array
Water Cooling: Watercool HeatKiller IV blocks on CPU & GPUs / 4 360 rads + 1 240 rad / Singularity Computers reservoir / dual D5 pumps

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17-03-17, 10:54 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 13,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartacus View Post
NBD: agreed! Also, didn't AMD already confirm that the AM4 platform would last for a few years, with no new sockets? I know I read that somewhere, but not sure it was the "official" word.
You are right yes. No new sockets. They could update the chipset and keep same socket but Ryzen is at minimum a 4year commitment they said. Or 5 years? Can't remember which it was
__________________
"I would have followed you, my Captain, my King."
- Boromir's last words.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-04-17, 02:01 AM
spikebike spikebike is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartacus View Post
NBD: agreed! Also, didn't AMD already confirm that the AM4 platform would last for a few years, with no new sockets? I know I read that somewhere, but not sure it was the "official" word.
Sure AM4 is going to last awhile. But it's the target for the R3, R5, and R7 (consumer desktops). That doesn't mean there isn't going to be a new socket for higher end desktops (HEDT).

Increased performance (with more cores or faster cores) hits the memory bus harder. Makes sense for AMD to ship a socket with more than 2 memory channels. Just like Intel does, their higher end desktop (HEDT) chips are in their "server" socket (LGA2011) to get 4 memory channels instead of 2.

The good news is the upcoming AMD Naples is a package with 4 ryzen chips it in. So you get 4 times the cores, 4 times the threads, and 4 times the memory channels (total 8).

Even with the identical die, or maybe a newer stepping AMD could also bring out a new HEDT targeted chip that is the middle ground between the ryzen and Naples. Presumably with 2 ryzen die, so 24-32 cores, 48-64 threads, and 4 memory channels.

If you google around you can see that 24 core/48 thread ryzen numbers are starting to show up on benchmark sites from AMD engineering samples. They even mention a new socket.

Given that AMD is at a substantial disadvantage with much lower volumes (thus less units to amortize R&D over) it makes sense for AMD to hit 3 different points in the market with a single piece of silicon (ryzen), 2 piece of silicon (HEDT) and 4 piece of silicon (server/naples) products.

That way they can amortize their R&D across a much larger number of chips.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17-03-17, 07:28 PM
Kaapstad's Avatar
Kaapstad Kaapstad is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Skaro visiting family
Posts: 1,691
The 10 core 6950X is a better overclocker than any of the Ryzen CPUs, AMD need to address this first before even thinking about a 16 core consumer CPU.

What would a 16 core Ryzen CPU run at, 2.5ghz?
__________________
OC3D Overclockers Club Member
#041

GTX 960 owner and proud of it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19-03-17, 11:46 AM
KTM_RULZ KTM_RULZ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaapstad View Post
The 10 core 6950X is a better overclocker than any of the Ryzen CPUs, AMD need to address this first before even thinking about a 16 core consumer CPU.

What would a 16 core Ryzen CPU run at, 2.5ghz?
I don't think that Ryzen cpus will ever be great overclockers. L3 cache doesn't have its own multiplier and I'm not sure that fabric thing between CCXs can handle overclock any better.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19-03-17, 01:25 PM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: In a hobbit hole.
Posts: 7,704
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaapstad View Post
The 10 core 6950X is a better overclocker than any of the Ryzen CPUs, AMD need to address this first before even thinking about a 16 core consumer CPU.

What would a 16 core Ryzen CPU run at, 2.5ghz?
^^All of this, they have a good line up so far and should concentrate on that not throw more cores at the problem. #moarcoresfixesnothing
__________________

"As a species we evolved with complex communication and sound reasoning, monkeys fling poop." ~ Me
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 19-03-17, 03:47 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 8,938
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wraith View Post
^^All of this, they have a good line up so far and should concentrate on that not throw more cores at the problem. #moarcoresfixesnothing
If this is true and I highly doubt it for reasons given (AMD changing sockets etc) then they would be forward thinking again. And they've gotten themselves into trouble every time they have done that.

However, that said we do need to move forward. If they can get 8 cores supported properly (and they're working at it) then the next progression will be more cores of course. Because IPC becomes tight, and at the end of the day the only way to move on from Moore's law is to add more cores.

People only think the idea of 16 cores is stupid because they have been on 2/4 for a decade. Why do servers have 64 cores (as an example)? because it makes them more productive. There is no reason other than Intel that desktop PCs could do the same.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




Young man ya too girly girly, you're just a Cadbury's Curly Wurly
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24-03-17, 04:20 PM
WSH WSH is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaapstad View Post
The 10 core 6950X is a better overclocker than any of the Ryzen CPUs, AMD need to address this first before even thinking about a 16 core consumer CPU.

What would a 16 core Ryzen CPU run at, 2.5ghz?

Here is the following written:

https://www.overclock3d.net/news/cpu...re_ryzen_cpu/1

================================================== ======

Now Canard PC Hardware has released some additional information on this platform, stating that it is planned for a release in 4/6 months and that AMD's current samples have TDPs of 150W. Canard also lists AMD's 16-core 32-thread flagship as having base/boost clock speeds of 2.4 and 2.8GHz, which is very high for a CPU with such large high core count.

This new platform is said to be coming with an X399 socket and an LGA CPU, bridging the gap between traditional desktop CPUs and server platforms. These new CPUs will also come as dual-chip multi-chip modules (MCM), which means that this chip is made using two CPU dies rather than a single, larger die.

================================================== ======

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 09:00 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.