Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Cases & Power
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 31-01-18, 09:39 AM
tolagarf's Avatar
tolagarf tolagarf is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 850
Fractal Define R6

I need a new case for my server, as my Primo is so terrible made it's vibrating from both the fans and harddrives. I had to pull off the frontcover which was the main issue, but it still persists. This one is bound for the garbage truck!

So my question regarding the Fractal Define R6: Has anyone tested the harddrive brackets in the case, if you mount heavy drives will they cause vibrations into the case? Can they be heard at all? My previous experience with the R5 was not a good experience in that regard.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31-01-18, 10:08 AM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 13,379
All cases will vibrate if you have fast hard drives, IE 7200 RPM. It's not a fault of the case (well it sort of is, as they could use rubber mounts).

It's easily fixed a number of ways.

Get a sound proofed case (but put up with higher temps)
Put drives on something soft and rubber. Or suspend them on bungees



Sound proof your existing case.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31-01-18, 10:12 AM
tolagarf's Avatar
tolagarf tolagarf is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 850
All my drives are WD Reds 5900 RPM. Vibrating might have been too strong a word, the problem is I can hear them being... well noisy. I have 6 of them in total, and it's the case just isn't able to dampen the sound.

Still the frontcover does resonate due to vibrations coming from somewhere, it's just too flimsy build

Edit: In hindsight I should just use my Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass again. This case has been dampered with the stuff from Overclockers and is super quiet. Wanted to use it for my main PC, but... RIP the dream
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31-01-18, 10:26 AM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 13,379
You can change it so that when not in use the drives completely spin down. IIRC it's under advanced in power management.

If they are bolted straight to the structure of the case then everything they do will be transferred into the rest of the case. This is particularly bad in alu cases, which take a lot less to get moving. That is why Lian Li provide rubber things very similar to the ones Dell use.

The only time I ever hear my hard drives is when I have the side off, and the only one I hear is the Raptor (just accessing).
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31-01-18, 10:32 AM
tolagarf's Avatar
tolagarf tolagarf is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
You can change it so that when not in use the drives completely spin down. IIRC it's under advanced in power management.

If they are bolted straight to the structure of the case then everything they do will be transferred into the rest of the case. This is particularly bad in alu cases, which take a lot less to get moving. That is why Lian Li provide rubber things very similar to the ones Dell use.

The only time I ever hear my hard drives is when I have the side off, and the only one I hear is the Raptor (just accessing).
My drives never power down from what I can tell, even though it's enabled. I think this is because of RAID and the fact Plex is constantly accessing the drives.

But no they aren't bolted, they're sitting in the plastic tray which sits in a metal cage. From my own experience vibrations don't really transfer that much with this kind of setup (Corsair uses similar trays). It's just the noise from those 4 TB WD Reds is kinda annoying, my guess would be it's from the motor when the platter spins around.

...And don't get my started on Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM drives, those trigger me lol
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31-01-18, 10:43 AM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 13,379
Yeah baras are loud. I had a few over the years as they came stock in Alienwares.

Not thought of building a server or NAS and shoving it somewhere? I have a basic NAS with two laptop drives in it literally threw together and I love it ! what's cool is my Android puter in the bedroom can stream from it. The only thing I am really missing is full on internet access. It's not worth it ATM because I have it hooked up on a cheap switch. But I will invest some time soon in a gigabit one with a gigabit switch, then sort out getting access to it from elsewhere. Would be well handy to have all my files on tap at my mother's house for example. Saves me copying it all over and fitting more drives into the rig I am taking there.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 31-01-18, 10:45 AM
tolagarf's Avatar
tolagarf tolagarf is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Yeah baras are loud. I had a few over the years as they came stock in Alienwares.

Not thought of building a server or NAS and shoving it somewhere? I have a basic NAS with two laptop drives in it literally threw together and I love it ! what's cool is my Android puter in the bedroom can stream from it. The only thing I am really missing is full on internet access. It's not worth it ATM because I have it hooked up on a cheap switch. But I will invest some time soon in a gigabit one with a gigabit switch, then sort out getting access to it from elsewhere. Would be well handy to have all my files on tap at my mother's house for example. Saves me copying it all over and fitting more drives into the rig I am taking there.
No I don't like NAS. Not optimal when you want your server to do a lot of stuff at the same time
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 31-01-18, 11:51 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,995
Youll never totally silence a hard drive spinning up dude....
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 31-01-18, 04:09 PM
tolagarf's Avatar
tolagarf tolagarf is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Denmark
Posts: 850
Lets get back on topic... Still looking for answers if anyone actually tested the R6 with several 3.5" hard drives installed in the case. How's the noise in your opinion and are you experiencing any problems with such a setup?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 31-01-18, 06:36 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 13,379
Do you care about how it looks?
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:45 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.