Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Liquid Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 20-07-18, 10:31 AM
ZeroInfinity94 ZeroInfinity94 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 110
Major Problem......

Well........
The list of things that have gone wrong has just gotten longer....




This blueish green crap has appeared in my loop and then there's the odd floater in my res which likes to spilt up then reform at the top.

So am at a loss, I think it may be some kind of growth but it looks like a copper oxide from the colour.
I cleaned out the rad with a dilute vinegar solution then flushed it out with De-ionised water, the rad and tubing is brand new, pump/res, fittings and block are reused.
Block was washed out with elbow grease and hot water then rinsed off with de-ionised water but didn't clean the fittings or rinse the tubing out.

Rad - Black Ice Nemesis LX360
Pump - Laing DDC
Res - Aquacomputer aqualis
Coolant - EK Cryofuel Acid Green

Anyone have any ideas whats happening here?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20-07-18, 11:57 AM
Korreborg's Avatar
Korreborg Korreborg is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Viborg - Denmark
Posts: 669
For how long has it been running? It looks like soap.
__________________
[I9-7900X][Asus Strix X299-E][EVGA 1080TI FE][Corsair 16GB 3733MHz][Fractal Meshify C][Corsair AX860i]
[Samsung 970evo 500GB+1000GB of mixed SATA SDD's][ASUS PG278QR][Logitech G510s and G502][Steelseries Wireless H]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20-07-18, 12:41 PM
ZeroInfinity94 ZeroInfinity94 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 110
It's been going for about a week now, when filling the loop I noticed a lot of foam while cycling the pump but put it down to air being sucked up while filling.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20-07-18, 12:50 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 5,365
HAve you recently replaced the coolant with this new green one? might be reacting with the previous one.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20-07-18, 12:58 PM
ZeroInfinity94 ZeroInfinity94 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 110
Nope coolant was the same, only change in the loop was the radiator.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20-07-18, 07:25 PM
Senzelian Senzelian is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 11
I don't know what is going on there, but have you flushed the radiator before installing it?

Even if you have, you might wanna try Mayhem's Blitz kit.
https://www.mayhems.net/collections/cleaning

Paul from Paul's Hardware recently used it to flush his system. I think it's worth a shot, but it takes quite a while to flush clean the entire system.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20-07-18, 07:57 PM
ZeroInfinity94 ZeroInfinity94 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 110
Yup, cleaned with a dilute vinegar solution twice then with de-ionised water 5 times.

The plan now will be dissemble, throw away fittings and tubing, replace them, blitz kit cleaning then reassemble.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20-07-18, 08:25 PM
Kei's Avatar
Kei Kei is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: South Wales
Posts: 490
No point in scrapping the fittings as they are just brass and won’t have caused this issue. It looks a lot like a precipitate has formed which would be from something incompatible with the coolant being present in the loop. It is more than likely copper based considering the colour though that could be down to the dye in the fluid.
__________________
Gigabyte Aorus X399 Gaming 7 ⁞⁞ Ryzen TR 1920x ⁞⁞ EK Blocks + αcool XT45 rads ⁞⁞ AMD Radeon Vega 56 ⁞⁞ 32GB 8 Pack 3200C14 ⁞⁞ Enthoo Primo
Seasonic Prime 750W ⁞⁞ Polaris 961 256GB ⁞⁞ 850 Pro 512GB ⁞⁞ M500 240GB ⁞⁞ WD Se 4TB & 1TB x2 ⁞⁞ Samsung C27HG70 + Dell 2408WFP
Ducky Shine 5 ⁞⁞ AJA Kona LSe ⁞⁞ RME HDSPe AIO ⁞⁞ Marantz AV7701 ⁞⁞ Tannoy SRM 10B ⁞⁞ AKG K601 ⁞⁞ Beyer DT770

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20-07-18, 08:48 PM
ZeroInfinity94 ZeroInfinity94 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 110
Was planning on going with 19/13mm tubing anyway so this is a good excuse for me to do it and explain it to the Mrs :').
The blitz kit seems to be my best course of action right now, clean the rad again with it then use the second part to flush everything out.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22-07-18, 01:18 PM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeroInfinity94 View Post
Nope coolant was the same, only change in the loop was the radiator.
If the rad is the only change than it has to be the rad, either that or the fluid has somehow been contaminated
__________________
ASUS Prime x370 Pro | Ryzen 5 1600 | Antec 240 AIO | Corsair Vengance RGB 3000 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Baracuda 1tb storage | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho ProM Acrylic Window | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 03:32 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.