Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Networks & Security
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 13-07-17, 09:49 AM
RobCharles1981 RobCharles1981 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Swansea
Posts: 125
Random Disconnections BT Hub 5

Hi Can anyone help.
I have BT Infinity 3 Connecting on a BT Hub 5
And I'm getting these speeds which are fine:

http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/6451332621

Every so often I get random "Disconnections" The thing is my Hub Remains solid blue, and my network icon on my taskbar is fine.

I can be surfing then browsing activity can be slow and un-responsive and temporaly goes off line.

I have to restart my PC for it to be back to nomral.

I connect wired but I have the wi-fi on to make use for other devices in my home such as phones ect.

Cany anyone help on this issue?

Thanks
Rob

__________________
Intel Core i5 3570K. Asus P8Z77-V LX Motherboard Noctua NH-U12PSE2 Corsair XMS3 8 Gig Corsair TX 850W, AMD R9 390: Asus Xonor D1 Sound Card: Coolermaster 690ii Advanced
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13-07-17, 09:52 AM
SPS SPS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 6,195
Hmm could be flaky DNS servers. You could try swapping over to Google's DNS server and give that a run. Should be easy to do in the router settings.

http://www.increasebroadbandspeed.co...erver-settings
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13-07-17, 10:03 AM
RobCharles1981 RobCharles1981 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Swansea
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPS View Post
Hmm could be flaky DNS servers. You could try swapping over to Google's DNS server and give that a run. Should be easy to do in the router settings.

http://www.increasebroadbandspeed.co...erver-settings

Thanks where do I find this in the BT Hub Manager?
__________________
Intel Core i5 3570K. Asus P8Z77-V LX Motherboard Noctua NH-U12PSE2 Corsair XMS3 8 Gig Corsair TX 850W, AMD R9 390: Asus Xonor D1 Sound Card: Coolermaster 690ii Advanced
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13-07-17, 10:28 AM
SPS SPS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 6,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobCharles1981 View Post
Thanks where do I find this in the BT Hub Manager?
Ok looks like you can't on the router, not suprised.
In this link go down the BT customer part and it shows you how to do it for one computer on Windows.
http://www.expertreviews.co.uk/netwo...ing-google-dns
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14-07-17, 04:49 PM
RobCharles1981 RobCharles1981 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Swansea
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPS View Post
Ok looks like you can't on the router, not suprised.
In this link go down the BT customer part and it shows you how to do it for one computer on Windows.
http://www.expertreviews.co.uk/netwo...ing-google-dns

Hi Since Changed that Setting it appeard to be ok, then today the issue happend again.....
__________________
Intel Core i5 3570K. Asus P8Z77-V LX Motherboard Noctua NH-U12PSE2 Corsair XMS3 8 Gig Corsair TX 850W, AMD R9 390: Asus Xonor D1 Sound Card: Coolermaster 690ii Advanced
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14-07-17, 07:41 PM
SPS SPS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 6,195
Have you made sure that your power settings are set to maximum? And that in device manager you turn of, let windows manage power for this device on the ethernet adapter. I'm not sure if that option is just for Wi-Fi adapters only but worth checking.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14-07-17, 08:04 PM
RobCharles1981 RobCharles1981 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Swansea
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPS View Post
Have you made sure that your power settings are set to maximum? And that in device manager you turn of, let windows manage power for this device on the ethernet adapter. I'm not sure if that option is just for Wi-Fi adapters only but worth checking.
What Power Settings?

And I have all the power options turned off for the Onboard Lan controler too.
__________________
Intel Core i5 3570K. Asus P8Z77-V LX Motherboard Noctua NH-U12PSE2 Corsair XMS3 8 Gig Corsair TX 850W, AMD R9 390: Asus Xonor D1 Sound Card: Coolermaster 690ii Advanced
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15-07-17, 01:08 AM
SPS SPS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 6,195
Hmm honestly not sure besides updating ethernet driver.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15-07-17, 09:34 AM
RobCharles1981 RobCharles1981 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Swansea
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPS View Post
Hmm honestly not sure besides updating ethernet driver.
That's all up to date as well.
__________________
Intel Core i5 3570K. Asus P8Z77-V LX Motherboard Noctua NH-U12PSE2 Corsair XMS3 8 Gig Corsair TX 850W, AMD R9 390: Asus Xonor D1 Sound Card: Coolermaster 690ii Advanced
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18-07-17, 07:08 AM
evilcorp's Avatar
evilcorp evilcorp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobCharles1981 View Post
Hi Can anyone help.
I have BT Infinity 3 Connecting on a BT Hub 5
And I'm getting these speeds which are fine:

http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/6451332621

Every so often I get random "Disconnections" The thing is my Hub Remains solid blue, and my network icon on my taskbar is fine.

I can be surfing then browsing activity can be slow and un-responsive and temporaly goes off line.

I have to restart my PC for it to be back to nomral.

I connect wired but I have the wi-fi on to make use for other devices in my home such as phones ect.

Cany anyone help on this issue?

Thanks
Rob
Have all devices been disconnecting or just your wired one? Have you taken a look at the event log on the home hub 5 while in admin log in? Can you post the log to somewhere from the time where you are having the issue and I will take a look
__________________
Ryzen 1700 3.95ghz @1.37v - Still playing with 4ghz
Asus Crosshair Hero
8pack Dark pro DDR4 @3466mhz - currently testing with 3600mhz
Asus GTX 1080ti Strix OC
Cougar Panzer
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 07:02 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.