Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Networks & Security
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 30-11-17, 04:18 AM
Chrazey's Avatar
Chrazey Chrazey is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 3,998
Malwarebytes

Hey guys,

So a quick question for anyone here that may be using Malwarebytes and may know an solution to this issue.

Lately whenever Malwarebytes has done a scan, it detects something within Chrome files, more specifically "Secure Preferences", which is called "PUP.Optional.Conduit".

Anyone here knows what this is and what it does?... All that I've found on Google is that it's come form of searching thingy, which isn't really an infectionious one.

But it would be nice to get rid of the warning that Malwarebytes gets off whenever it has finished a scan these days.

I can't remember when, but couldn't have been more than 2 months ago, that it didn't do this. So this warning has started happened recently for me.

Thanks,
Chrazey

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30-11-17, 05:41 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is online now
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 13,861
Just whitelist the file?
__________________
"I would have followed you, my Captain, my King."
- Boromir's last words.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30-11-17, 05:54 AM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ye Olde England
Posts: 12,096
Send a message via Skype™ to Dicehunter
Get rid of it.

https://blog.malwarebytes.com/detect...ional-conduit/
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30-11-17, 06:58 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is online now
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Valhalla
Posts: 13,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
Yeah based off that link.
Nuke that sucka! Rid of it entirely.
__________________
"I would have followed you, my Captain, my King."
- Boromir's last words.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30-11-17, 11:17 AM
Chrazey's Avatar
Chrazey Chrazey is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 3,998
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Yeah based off that link.
Nuke that sucka! Rid of it entirely.
Haha! So basically just delete the file itself?...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-12-17, 10:07 PM
notcool notcool is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 302
That Conduit search thing is usually bundled with 'free' software and is malware/adware and hijacks your browser to display ads.

I had it a few years ago and it was a pain in the ass to remove from my web browser. I didn't have an anti virus then though which would've just blocked it in the first place.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-12-17, 12:15 AM
Chrazey's Avatar
Chrazey Chrazey is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 3,998
Quote:
Originally Posted by notcool View Post
That Conduit search thing is usually bundled with 'free' software and is malware/adware and hijacks your browser to display ads.

I had it a few years ago and it was a pain in the ass to remove from my web browser. I didn't have an anti virus then though which would've just blocked it in the first place.
Yeah, apparently from doing a bit of research, it ain't an easy process to remove it. It looks like to be a very time consuming and dangerous process (ie, you need to know what you're doing in order to remove it "safely").
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-12-17, 12:33 AM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ye Olde England
Posts: 12,096
Send a message via Skype™ to Dicehunter
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrazey View Post
Yeah, apparently from doing a bit of research, it ain't an easy process to remove it. It looks like to be a very time consuming and dangerous process (ie, you need to know what you're doing in order to remove it "safely").
Maybe stop downloading "free" software then ?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-12-17, 01:20 PM
notcool notcool is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
Maybe stop downloading "free" software then ?
But arguably the two best pieces of software are free, VLC media player and handbrake, both of which I use on a daily basis. Free overclock programs too.

Just make sure you always scan with an A/V free products and look on the checklist when you're installing them to check for this kind of stuff. Most if not all Anti-virus will block that Conduit search.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-12-17, 03:37 PM
Chrazey's Avatar
Chrazey Chrazey is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 3,998
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
Maybe stop downloading "free" software then ?
Well considering I only download "free" software which I believe most of you also are. And by "free", I mean such as Steam, Origin, VLC, Chrome, Firefox, Spotify, Teamspeak, Discord, Word etc etc

Quote:
Originally Posted by notcool View Post
Just make sure you always scan with an A/V free products and look on the checklist when you're installing them to check for this kind of stuff. Most if not all Anti-virus will block that Conduit search.
Yeah, my Kaspersky quarantined it and it shutted Chrome down. When I then later opened it, the font on Facebook where completely messed up, had a dissorted look to it and strange symbols. Ie, the font had changed etc for some odd reason.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 03:09 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.