Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Storage Mediums
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 14-04-19, 01:53 PM
phil2013 phil2013 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 19
Can the Optane 900p speed up your current drives?

Hi guys, I have the 32gb Optane m.2 memory to speed up my storage drive and I would like to know if the Optane 900p will do the same job.

All reviews of the 900p review this as a drive, not a way to speed up you existing drives in your system.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14-04-19, 02:07 PM
tgrech tgrech is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 999
Unless you're running some very specific workloads 900P performance will be essentially equivalent to a modern high end SSD and is comparable to one in most ways. Basically if you're running a HDD only system then yes it will, but so would an SSD in cache mode, if you've already got an SSD then it depends a lot on how fast that is and what workloads you use it for. The 900P is around 18 months old now and first gen Optane wasn't much to write home about, even now Optane is struggling to carve out a niche for itself.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14-04-19, 03:16 PM
phil2013 phil2013 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 19
Like I said at the moment Im using the 32gb optane m.2 memory to speed up my hard drive, but I want to get a larger one.

I was also looking at the "118gb optane 800p m.2", but Im thinking of just going for the 280gb "optane 900p", thats if you can use it to speed up your existing hard drive with it?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14-04-19, 04:24 PM
tgrech tgrech is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 999
Oh yeah any 300 series or newer chipset can use the 900P drives with Intel RST to act as a cache for another drive I think.

https://www.tomshardware.co.uk/intel...ews-58178.html
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14-04-19, 08:01 PM
phil2013 phil2013 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 19
Thats great to know, thankyou, now do I go for it? like at the moment I am using a 640gb hdd for my games drive, but If I buy the 900p, I would pair it up with a nice wd black/gold 4tb drive as my games drive
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25-04-19, 12:03 PM
phil2013 phil2013 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 19
Hey, I have manage to get the 480gb 900p pciex4 card for £250 and its working great as cache for my hard drive, so thanks very much for helping me out.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:42 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.