Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 08-05-17, 01:52 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 8,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by WYP View Post
As I said, it has happened several times during playtesting. The best solution is to just quit the game and try it again.

This does not happen very often, but it happens and it would be negligent not to mention it. I have no doubt some people will never come across this issue, but it is nonetheless something that happened to us.
I've had that with a couple of Denuvo titles. It's usually addressed pretty quickly though.

__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




Young man ya too girly girly, you're just a Cadbury's Curly Wurly
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-05-17, 02:17 PM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,155
Far Cry games have had terrible load times for me. Far Cry 3 and Blood Dragon take minutes and minutes on an SSD.
__________________
ASUS X370 Crosshair VI Hero ⁞⁞ Ryzen 1600X 4Ghz ⁞⁞ Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT ⁞⁞ Aorus GTX 1080 11Gbps ⁞⁞ G.Skill TridentZ 3200Mhz
Jonsbo W2 ⁞⁞ Corsair AX760 ⁞⁞ Pexon PC ⁞⁞ Samsung 960 EVO 250GB & 850 EVO 500GB
⁞⁞ Western Digital 1TB Blue & 3TB Green
BenQ XL2730Z ⁞⁞ Mixonix Naos 7000 ⁞⁞ Corsair K70 Cherry MX Brown ⁞⁞ Audio-GD NFB-15 ⁞⁞ EVE SC205 ⁞⁞ AKG K7XX
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-05-17, 02:32 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 8,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryGoldfish View Post
Far Cry games have had terrible load times for me. Far Cry 3 and Blood Dragon take minutes and minutes on an SSD.
Doom is the worst game I have. And Fallout 4, but I have that on a TB RW RAID SSD now.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




Young man ya too girly girly, you're just a Cadbury's Curly Wurly
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-05-17, 02:34 PM
AngryGoldfish's Avatar
AngryGoldfish AngryGoldfish is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 2,155
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Doom is the worst game I have. And Fallout 4, but I have that on a TB RW RAID SSD now.
It's funny because some open world games load super snappily. Dishonored was one.
__________________
ASUS X370 Crosshair VI Hero ⁞⁞ Ryzen 1600X 4Ghz ⁞⁞ Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT ⁞⁞ Aorus GTX 1080 11Gbps ⁞⁞ G.Skill TridentZ 3200Mhz
Jonsbo W2 ⁞⁞ Corsair AX760 ⁞⁞ Pexon PC ⁞⁞ Samsung 960 EVO 250GB & 850 EVO 500GB
⁞⁞ Western Digital 1TB Blue & 3TB Green
BenQ XL2730Z ⁞⁞ Mixonix Naos 7000 ⁞⁞ Corsair K70 Cherry MX Brown ⁞⁞ Audio-GD NFB-15 ⁞⁞ EVE SC205 ⁞⁞ AKG K7XX
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-05-17, 04:23 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 1,652
I wonder if SLI support is in the cards for Prey. It only uses one of my GPUs, which makes 4K a complete slideshow (not unexpected though).
__________________
Guts: Ryzen R7 1700 / Asus CH6 Hero / 16GB G.Skill 3600CL15 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU / Case Labs M8
Storage: Intel 600p 1TB NVME / 6TB RAID0 array / 2TB RAID0 array
Water Cooling: Watercool HeatKiller IV blocks on CPU & GPUs / 4 360 rads + 1 240 rad / Singularity Computers reservoir / dual D5 pumps

Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-05-17, 05:16 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ye Olde England
Posts: 12,065
Send a message via Skype™ to Dicehunter
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Doom is the worst game I have. And Fallout 4, but I have that on a TB RW RAID SSD now.
Could the loading have to do with the GPU's memory and/or overall speed at all ? Just curious as I have Doom on a 5 year old SSD but the game is being run by the 1080 Ti I currently have *On loan from a friend until Vega drops* and it loads really quickly.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-05-17, 08:14 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 3,329
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
Could the loading have to do with the GPU's memory and/or overall speed at all ? Just curious as I have Doom on a 5 year old SSD but the game is being run by the 1080 Ti I currently have *On loan from a friend until Vega drops* and it loads really quickly.
Doom was a pretty rapid loading experience for me. I hardly had delays on it at all and that was with 980Ti's.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-05-17, 11:57 AM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 8,910
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
Could the loading have to do with the GPU's memory and/or overall speed at all ? Just curious as I have Doom on a 5 year old SSD but the game is being run by the 1080 Ti I currently have *On loan from a friend until Vega drops* and it loads really quickly.
It was on an old laptop drive. It's now on a 240gb RAIDR.

From what I have read 5 y/o SSD 5 minute old SSD still really helps Doom. It's when you run it from a mech drive (same as Fallout 4). Can't see any VRAM problems, given I was using HBM? dunno, could even be single threaded nonsense on the CPU itself (3.1ghz Ivy).
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




Young man ya too girly girly, you're just a Cadbury's Curly Wurly
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 05:52 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.