Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Cooling - Other
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #21  
Old 07-02-18, 11:14 AM
frufsa's Avatar
frufsa frufsa is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Norway <3
Posts: 325
Send a message via Skype™ to frufsa
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
My personal opinion is that if total fans in use is less than 6. Use software. Even though AE 6XT or LT are kings of the hill. They are (in my opinion) total overkill for you. ASUS AI Suite as crappy as it is, is actually very good for fan control and setting up of curves.

I use the 6 XT for 20 fans and 2 pumps. Beautiful device. If you think its inexpensive then sure, go for it. I just think if you never intend to watercool its a little bit of a waste.

Also remember for future software updates from Aquacomputer now, you need to pay a yearly license fee.
Well, ia suite does not give me the controll i need, my gpu is the hot part, not the cpu. And with my mobo i cant input gpu temp to controll the famcurve based on gpu temp.
And allso it does not let me turn of the fans.
The goal is to get the pc as quiet as possible.

Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-02-18, 11:54 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 4,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by frufsa View Post
Well, ia suite does not give me the controll i need, my gpu is the hot part, not the cpu. And with my mobo i cant input gpu temp to controll the famcurve based on gpu temp.
And allso it does not let me turn of the fans.
The goal is to get the pc as quiet as possible.
What mobo is it?

I know with AI Suite from ASUS you can set "fan off" below a certain temp, link temp curves to your GPU/CPU/Mobo NB/ Ambient temp / PCI E etc etc

Initially I had my set to turn on at 45C with a 35% PWM signal and ramp up to 55% if CPU hit 55C

Shame you cant do that. In that case 6LT is good. but you will have to pay a license fee for software/firmware updates
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-02-18, 12:02 PM
frufsa's Avatar
frufsa frufsa is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Norway <3
Posts: 325
Send a message via Skype™ to frufsa
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
What mobo is it?

I know with AI Suite from ASUS you can set "fan off" below a certain temp, link temp curves to your GPU/CPU/Mobo NB/ Ambient temp / PCI E etc etc

Initially I had my set to turn on at 45C with a 35% PWM signal and ramp up to 55% if CPU hit 55C

Shame you cant do that. In that case 6LT is good. but you will have to pay a license fee for software/firmware updates
It’s a asus p9x79-e ws so its some years old. But the cpu is still no bottleneck for what i use the pc for, so i dont see anny point in upgrading.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 07-02-18, 12:54 PM
Layer Cakes's Avatar
Layer Cakes Layer Cakes is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
My personal opinion is that if total fans in use is less than 6. Use software. Even though AE 6XT or LT are kings of the hill. They are (in my opinion) total overkill for you. ASUS AI Suite as crappy as it is, is actually very good for fan control and setting up of curves.

I use the 6 XT for 20 fans and 2 pumps. Beautiful device. If you think its inexpensive then sure, go for it. I just think if you never intend to watercool its a little bit of a waste.

Also remember for future software updates from Aquacomputer now, you need to pay a yearly license fee.

You need to pay a yearly license for aquasuite? I installed the 'trial', entered the license code for my PA3 and it activated. Am I going to have to pay for it next year?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 07-02-18, 01:00 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 4,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by Layer Cakes View Post
You need to pay a yearly license for aquasuite? I installed the 'trial', entered the license code for my PA3 and it activated. Am I going to have to pay for it next year?
Eventually to keep using the software I think so yes.

I think they only way to keep it going endlessly is to never update firmware. Once you do that, I think you lose access to the software tool.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 07-02-18, 01:20 PM
frufsa's Avatar
frufsa frufsa is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Norway <3
Posts: 325
Send a message via Skype™ to frufsa
I checked out their web page, and to my understanding, you get 2 year included with the unit, then if you want a new sw/fw after that you have to pay. But you can still run your old sw for as long as you want.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 07-02-18, 01:28 PM
Layer Cakes's Avatar
Layer Cakes Layer Cakes is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
Eventually to keep using the software I think so yes.

I think they only way to keep it going endlessly is to never update firmware. Once you do that, I think you lose access to the software tool.
Ah that's not too terrible. I'll worry about that in a couple of years then
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 07-02-18, 01:51 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 4,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by frufsa View Post
I checked out their web page, and to my understanding, you get 2 year included with the unit, then if you want a new sw/fw after that you have to pay. But you can still run your old sw for as long as you want.
Good to see they retracted slightly. Original plan was 12 month license validity.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 10:12 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.