Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Customer Care Forums > Asus UK Customer Care Forums
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 05-09-17, 06:40 AM
AdmiralDonut AdmiralDonut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 164
X370-F boot looping and intermittent PCI-E slot issues

Hi all,

Just posting up to see if anyone else with this board has had these particular issues. Firstly, the PC will fire up, get a second or two into POST, then stop, reboot, and then it successfully POST's. The thing is, it doesn't do this on every boot, nor does there seem to be any unifying cause that I can fathom out.

The second issue is a slightly more serious one. PCI-E slot #1 seems to have intermittent issues when a GPU is installed in it. Sometimes a few reboots does the trick, other times it simply refuses to work at all. I've now had to move the GPU to the second PCI-E slot in order to get the GPU to work properly. GPU has been tested in two other machines, so I am certain it is not the issue.

Any suggestions, possible fixes, is this a known issue etc etc.

Specs are:

ASUS Strix X370-F
G.Skill Ripjaws V F4-3200C16D-16GVK
AMD Ryzen R5 1600
EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
Crucial CT250BX100 for OS
EVGA 280mm CLC
Super Flower Leadex Gold 650W PSU
Windows 10 Pro

Everything is currently running at stock speeds. All drivers (GPU, chipset etc) are 100% up-to-date, BIOS is latest 1.0.0.6a, Windows also up-to-date AND is a clean install done just 3 days ago due to this boot loop/GPU issue occurring previously.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-09-17, 07:14 AM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: On the Moon.
Posts: 7,703
I'd say it might be a good idea to get a ticket in and prepare for an RMA, intermittent PCIe slot and booting it's RMA time.

See what Asus say though.
__________________
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-09-17, 07:44 AM
AdmiralDonut AdmiralDonut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wraith View Post
I'd say it might be a good idea to get a ticket in and prepare for an RMA, intermittent PCIe slot and booting it's RMA time.

See what Asus say though.
It's kinda what I thought to be honest. But then with this being a new platform, and BIOS changes coming fairly frequently, I'm still kinda hoping it could be fixed without the need for sending stuff away. Especially as I've already had to send back a B350-F, and why I upgraded to the Strix in the first place
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-09-17, 09:35 AM
Wraith's Avatar
Wraith Wraith is offline
Bettyswollocks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: On the Moon.
Posts: 7,703
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdmiralDonut View Post
It's kinda what I thought to be honest. But then with this being a new platform, and BIOS changes coming fairly frequently, I'm still kinda hoping it could be fixed without the need for sending stuff away. Especially as I've already had to send back a B350-F, and why I upgraded to the Strix in the first place
So with your Strix have you tried other Bios or have you only run the latest?
__________________
“A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new.” ~ Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-09-17, 10:27 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 21,218
GPU issues - are you using a display port cable?
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-09-17, 10:52 AM
AdmiralDonut AdmiralDonut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wraith View Post
So with your Strix have you tried other Bios or have you only run the latest?
I have tried 809, 810, and 813. The issue persists, but only in the top slot. The GPU runs just fine on the second slot.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-09-17, 10:54 AM
AdmiralDonut AdmiralDonut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
GPU issues - are you using a display port cable?
DP to DVI fella. As I said to Wraith, the GPU funcitons just fine in the second slot, it's just the top slot that causes the hang on boot.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-09-17, 10:58 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 21,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdmiralDonut View Post
DP to DVI fella. As I said to Wraith, the GPU funcitons just fine in the second slot, it's just the top slot that causes the hang on boot.
Ive had hangs in the top slot on many boards - weirdly even when I do BIOS updates I switch to a HDMI cable because of it.

It wont be BIOS
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-09-17, 11:01 AM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 15,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Ive had hangs in the top slot on many boards - weirdly even when I do BIOS updates I switch to a HDMI cable because of it.

It wont be BIOS
hmm. My mate is having issues with his B350 Strix. Same sort of issues. He can't get into bios it just ignores him and sometimes it sits for ten minutes just cycling at boot.

He's using a 4k monitor, so HDMI will be out but I will have to tell him about this.
__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-09-17, 11:03 AM
AdmiralDonut AdmiralDonut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Ive had hangs in the top slot on many boards - weirdly even when I do BIOS updates I switch to a HDMI cable because of it.

It wont be BIOS
So what might the issue be then? Because I didn't have this issue with my B350-F, nor with my old Z77 rig. Just seems odd that it would only happen now.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 09:14 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.