Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Project Logs & Gallery > Project Logs
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #191  
Old 13-11-18, 03:50 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 11,299
China, no doubt. It may even ship from there but I am not in a hurry for it. Will be nice to make sure it went in OK and isn't hitting anything etc.

__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins



Reply With Quote
  #192  
Old 13-11-18, 10:36 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 11,299
OK just a quick update. I am not at the PC ATM I am away until next Monday. I needed a break, as I was starting to get sick and skipping doses of my meds (to have the energy to work on my PC) but when I do that everything else suffers. So I wasn't eating properly or sleeping properly etc. Nearly two weeks of it took its toll so I took a break to get some rest for the final push !

One thing I needed was some sort of T piece. I need to hook in the temp sensor for the VFD on the front, but had nowhere to put it. I want it in the front really, so the cable doesn't need any tampering with. I have some chrome and smoked chrome T pieces, but then I need rotatries and male-male adapters and so on. Way too much agg. Cue this.



The most expensive fitting I have ever bought at £13, but this is why I fell for it. Not only is it rotary (think of it coming out of the pump sideways with the hole there ^ aiming backward for me to fit the water temp sensor) but it also has this.



So it's basically a very tidy way to get a neat pass through on a rotary with a G 1/4 hole facing backward for the temp sensor. So I got it.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins



Reply With Quote
  #193  
Old 14-11-18, 08:23 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 4,365
I have two of them on my loop. One for the exact reason you chose. Temp sensor. So as it leaves the second 480 rad and back down to the res, I have my temp sensor picking up there.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #194  
Old 14-11-18, 09:19 AM
Cenedd Cenedd is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 49
That looks a nice piece, will works for so on. You know that pass-through sensors exist though, right? Just for future reference: Aqua Computer pass-through temp sensor
Reply With Quote
  #195  
Old 14-11-18, 01:05 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 11,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warchild View Post
I have two of them on my loop. One for the exact reason you chose. Temp sensor. So as it leaves the second 480 rad and back down to the res, I have my temp sensor picking up there.
Yeah definitely the cleanest way I reckon. I've gone through loads of ideas, but that was probably the cheapest solution. the Q alone (non rotary all female) isn't much cheaper and then you need to buy a rotary to connect it to the pump and so on. All a PITA.

The best location for the temp probe is in the pump area, as then I can basically hide the wire almost out of sight. Anywhere else and I would probably need to extend it.

I worked out about a week back or so that the best way to hook up the GPU is to take it from behind (lolz) and plug up the holes at what will be the front ('cause it's vertical) with nice premium caps. I don't know what I have and don't have tbh (forgotten, due to all of the other stuff melting my brain) so I will check them all when I get back and see what I have.

What's annoying is as I type this I can see two black premium fittings in the rig I am on, but of course there is no way to drain/swap without, well, draining and swapping.

That said at around £8 for two it's totally not worth it.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins



Reply With Quote
  #196  
Old 14-11-18, 01:31 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 4,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cenedd View Post
That looks a nice piece, will works for so on. You know that pass-through sensors exist though, right? Just for future reference: Aqua Computer pass-through temp sensor
Yeah I have one. But the chrome ring stands out for me. It also increases your fittings total.

Its useful, but with my Q block placed above my res, the sensor is very discreet. Looks like a basic BP Stopper.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #197  
Old 14-11-18, 02:13 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 11,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cenedd View Post
That looks a nice piece, will works for so on. You know that pass-through sensors exist though, right? Just for future reference: Aqua Computer pass-through temp sensor
Aye, but as Warchild said it has a chrome ish ring on it that just would not go with everything else. I could have painted it, but that is PITA. Deffo worth bearing in mind for anything I may do in the future though.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins



Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 12:18 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.