Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Project Logs & Gallery > Project Logs
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #311  
Old 11-01-20, 10:31 AM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 13,663
Yup take a recent example.

My MSI board was stalling at boot, taking up to five minutes to start. I figured oh there's a fault with the hardware.

Turns out it's the RGB mouse mat ffs.

Disconnect it, vroom vroom FFS.

If I install the software for it? Dear god.

__________________

Reply With Quote
  #312  
Old 11-01-20, 07:57 PM
hmmblah's Avatar
hmmblah hmmblah is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,571
lol, things were so much simpler before rgb.
__________________
CaseLabs Mercury S3 | AMD 3900X | ROG CH8 Impact | RTX 2080 Super | 16GB DDR4 | 1TB NVMe
Acer Predator Z35P


Reply With Quote
  #313  
Old 12-01-20, 08:32 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 13,663
I am now with board.

Diablo came over on Saturday (I call him that haha, even in person )



She's empty. Sort of.





So my usual method is towel on floor of PC. Insert jug under GPU fitting, remove. Turn fitting to hold jug in place. Let the coolant drain until it stops, then remove the res cap and let the pressure go so the lower loop can drain via gravity.

That went well. Then the trick is to screw in the hose with the fitting on into the other side of the GPU and blow, hard. And this worked well, and the coolant left the system. Unfortunately I hadn't put the cap back in the res so it was a full blown fountain. Mostly in my face (but hey, the coolant is rather sweet in taste.. I suspect PG).

Any way embarrassment aside it's a good thing Diablo knows his water cooling, as if any one else was helping me it would have all been in the bottom now.

I had to remove some wiring for the RGB ram sticks too, that took me about 2 hours. It's not easy going back to a PC you built over a year ago with 3 months of on and off work put into the wiring. It's like a crash course.....

I think I have it all back where it should be though. Sadly the water leaked all over the screen cover (3mm clear) and did get inbetween the screen and it somewhat. So that is all apart now and has been dried and will be left for a week.

Now this is where I get all philosophical.

XSPC EC6 has now saved my ass twice. Had that been any water based coolant I would be scared to death. I once had a leak from a PC full of red EC6 and it leaked for many months before I even realised. All I found was dried up red powder all over the electronics, with no damage or fire.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #314  
Old 15-01-20, 01:50 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 13,663
"Hey, I didn't order any Stere-oh, they're SSDs"



I also found a solution for the M.2. This.



No back plate so it's ideal. Poifect.

You simply fit this.



And then connect the MINI SAS cable to the drive. It's a PCIE NVME drive, but it connects with a cable (probably so you can cool it properly as it gets hot.). However, I saw the other day that the Intels are the most reliable DATA drives in the world. Even more reliable than any mech drive. Basically Google use them for their servers, and Linus has been buying some of their older smaller ones. Then a tale of woe from last night....

Last night I had one of those nights that every single one of us dreads. Like, the sort of night where it strikes fear into even the most hardened techie.

All I had to do was take the U.2 drive out of the Triad and fit two M.2 drives to my new board. Simples. I also had to fit a cooler to one M.2 drive which banana-d it and I thought I had killed that, but I digress.

I took out the U.2 host card and booted the PC. Then realised that I needed to try and clone Windows to the RAID stripe. So I put it back in, terribly fiddly horrible little screw and all. Booted into Windows and could not get it to clone so I rebooted to try again and it got to the PIN screen and the PC shut down. Hmm that's odd. Rebooted, same thing happened. Gave the wires a shove and that was it. Nothing. Dead PC. Removed the GPU and sound card still nothing. Removed the PSU cables from the board, let it sit, cleared CMOS and plugged the PSU back in. The standby light on the board was dim and flickering. I thought "Oh crap, I've either killed the PSU or board".

Reset the CMOS a few more times and still nothing. It just wouldn't start. Fiddled with the switches on the board and yay, it starts. Tried to boot, it shut down again, repeat the entire process above twice.

Then I noticed something. I noticed that my GPU had 8 pin cables on it, but one is a 6 pin. This isn't an issue at all as they are only grounds, but what I had done was slice the plastic so it fitted in the socket. Problem was it wasn't seating correctly. So I had to cut it up a bit and finally got it all working. PC booted, I installed Windows on the stripe and all was good in the world again.

But I got those chills. You know? the "OMG I just killed £1000 worth of upgrades !" and "I don't want (or can afford) to buy a new PSU or board etc".

Thank god. Somewhere in all of this the Killer wifi has vanished, but that happened before. It's a funny little module that sits under the IO, so means taking the board out. I think some Deoxit would sort it out, but I have an Asus PCIE card so that is in there now.

5 hours. 5 hours instead of what should have been 5 bloody minutes !
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #315  
Old 18-01-20, 09:04 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 13,663
The PCIE adapter card came.



Bit annoyed it's that way as the cable goes off in the wrong direction.



No magic smoke. Atto didn't seem right though.



But Crystal is bang on spec.



Now the boring stuff is over I will take a couple of days off and then get stuck in next week.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #316  
Old 21-01-20, 01:25 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 13,663
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #317  
Old 21-01-20, 02:51 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 13,663
Then disaster struck.

The pics are probably in the wrong order and I can't fix that on a phone.

Looped it all up and got out my spare PSU. Poured the res full and turned on the pump. Every last drop dumped into the floor.

Turns out that in the under side of the bitspower t piece there lives a G1/4 hole with nothing in it for the temp probe. Which fell into the bottom of the rig and thus wasn't actually in there when I poured the coolant in. But you can't see the hole cause its facing the floor. Right above the screen.

So I've just done my whole day in reverse.

Ffs. Sorting pics now..



__________________

Reply With Quote
  #318  
Old 21-01-20, 08:14 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 13,663
OK dried and rebuilt. It's now full and pumping from a stand alone PSU.

It's dry. Thank the heavens.

Will leave it for two hours then turn off and do another hour in the morning.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #319  
Old 21-01-20, 09:29 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,492
Ahh the good old Homer Simpon "d'oh" moment, lots of fun, LOL! Thankfully nothing got roasted, that would have been one expensive "oopsie". I like the combo of red fittings and black tube!
__________________
Guts: ThreadRipper 2950X / GB Aorus Xtreme X399 / 64GB TridentZ Royal 3600CL16 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU
Storage: 6TB RAID0 NVME array (ADATA SX8200 Pro 2TB x 3)
Water Cooling: HeatKiller TR4-Pro CPU block / HeatKiller IV GPU blocks / 360mm Darskide LP360 rads x 3 / Heatkiller reservoir

Reply With Quote
  #320  
Old 21-01-20, 11:05 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 13,663
Jesus, what a test.

I left the loop running for three hours, no leaks. I didn't expect it to given it was fine for 13 months.

Finally plucked up the courage to boot it. Only it wouldn't boot. I ended up moving the PCIE riser ribbon to the top slot. Then it booted, but that is where the fun began. It kept shutting off the display (Sound familiar? same issue I had with my sodding Vega). I thought it might be BIOS related and I looked at that. Feb 2018. OK so it needs a bios.

Three attempts later and Windows installed. But, every time I tried setting up the GPU the screen would switch off. Took me two hours to get the BIOS on. Great, RAM now boots and works at 3200mhz.

But still the screen kept switching off. I noticed a red VGA LED on the board too.

Took apart the Powerlink, removed it from the equation. Same. It eventually did boot with the GPU drivers, but kept shutting off and turning the screen off.

I can't tell you how hard this is with a vertical riser on a GPU. You can't see the POST codes without laying on the floor. Same goes for resetting the BIOS and so on.

In the end (and I still don't know how I did it) I removed the Cooler Master cage, with the GPU looped (as I said, IDK how I managed it) put in the Phanteks riser (bracket is at my mother's) and just ran a few benchmarks and everything now seems stable and normal.

So that is the second CM riser I have had that worked for a while and then died. Oddly the Phanteks riser was better on the VEGA, but it still kept crashing. It seems OK on here though, fingers crossed.

I tell you what I am too fat and too old to be rolling around on the floor. I bet I won't be able to walk tomorrow



__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 06:28 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.