Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Liquid Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #31  
Old 08-02-18, 01:43 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 10,841
Quote:
Originally Posted by Layer Cakes View Post
Ive never had a cyclone issue before and I've always run in at the top, out on the bottom with no sort of baffle in the res.. What actually causes it?
Are you sure you don't have an anti cyclone piece inside the res? Or a diffuser piece?

Mine has this.



Inlet tube (making the coolant go into the coolant without splashing etc) and also on the bottom a diffuser.


__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins



Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 08-02-18, 01:54 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 1,885
I've never needed anti-cyclone pieces either. At one point, I had a sweet little water tornado going on inside my reservoir. Never caused me any grief at all, nor did it create bubbles. Plus, it was damn cool looking.
__________________
Guts: Ryzen R7 1700 / Asus CH6 Hero / 16GB G.Skill 3600CL15 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU / Case Labs M8
Storage: Intel 600p 1TB NVME / 6TB RAID0 array / 2TB RAID0 array
Water Cooling: Watercool HeatKiller IV blocks on CPU & GPUs / 4 360 rads + 1 240 rad / Singularity Computers reservoir / dual D5 pumps

Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 08-02-18, 02:45 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 3,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by Layer Cakes View Post
Ive never had a cyclone issue before and I've always run in at the top, out on the bottom with no sort of baffle in the res.. What actually causes it?
But you have a tube inside the res running down into the water. This guy in the vid has the pump pushing up into the res at full throttle with no anti cyclone or sponge. its just poorly done and noisy, unless you like the sound of bubbling water.

Saying that, my new res coming is intentionally made to create an effect so i won't use any diffusion either. Look forward to testing it, just a shame i might have to change my coolant after 5 years
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 08-02-18, 04:32 PM
Layer Cakes's Avatar
Layer Cakes Layer Cakes is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 313
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Are you sure you don't have an anti cyclone piece inside the res? Or a diffuser piece?

Mine has this.



Inlet tube (making the coolant go into the coolant without splashing etc) and also on the bottom a diffuser.



I always thought that tube was to stop the irritating running water noise

My res doesn't have a bit like that at the bottom though.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 08-02-18, 05:16 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 10,841
haha no you are supposed to fill the res so the outlet tube is submerged. Then you don't get bubbles
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins



Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 03:52 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.