Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #51  
Old 01-04-17, 09:13 PM
BigDaddyKong's Avatar
BigDaddyKong BigDaddyKong is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 832
ouch, 1.45 for 4ghz.

__________________
AMD R7 1800X-Asus Crosshair VI Hero-16GB GSkill 3200mhz-Corsair HX1000-XSPC Raystorm Copper Edition-Dual D5 Pumps-Corsair Force 3 SSD-Sapphire Fury X2-Corsair 900D-Windows 10 Pro-Dell U3011-Dell 2007FP
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 01-04-17, 09:54 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 6,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Well I think as yields get better we have see better binned 1800x's. As it is now they really are all the same. There's no point in going for anything but the 1700, lower TDP but just as fast. Strange how it all worked out...
I think the guys have just answered that one. It obviously needs far more voltage to get up to the clocks of the 1800x, hence the massive hike in TDP. I bet the 1700 pulls some serious power with the sorts of voltages mentioned tbh.

Probably just early design. Maybe they designed it to run far slower, then had to push it to the limits in order to compete (same with the Fury X).
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




Manners cost nothing, but a lack of them will cost you everything.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 01-04-17, 10:40 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Asgard
Posts: 11,993
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
I think the guys have just answered that one. It obviously needs far more voltage to get up to the clocks of the 1800x, hence the massive hike in TDP. I bet the 1700 pulls some serious power with the sorts of voltages mentioned tbh.

Probably just early design. Maybe they designed it to run far slower, then had to push it to the limits in order to compete (same with the Fury X).
No, it does pull less watts even when OC'd to the same speed.
__________________
Death is just another path, one that we all must take.
The grey rain-curtain of this world rolls back,
And all turns to silver glass, and then you see it...
White shores, and beyond,
A far green country under a swift sunrise.
-J.R.R Tolkien
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 01-04-17, 11:04 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 6,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
No, it does pull less watts even when OC'd to the same speed.
Wow, weird. Is that at the same voltage too?
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




Manners cost nothing, but a lack of them will cost you everything.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 01-04-17, 11:53 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Asgard
Posts: 11,993
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Wow, weird. Is that at the same voltage too?
Yeah. I haven't seen a direct comparison, but at same clocks it's always consuming less, and considering how similar all Ryzen chips are voltage won't be far off each other
__________________
Death is just another path, one that we all must take.
The grey rain-curtain of this world rolls back,
And all turns to silver glass, and then you see it...
White shores, and beyond,
A far green country under a swift sunrise.
-J.R.R Tolkien
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 02-04-17, 12:30 AM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 6,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Yeah. I haven't seen a direct comparison, but at same clocks it's always consuming less, and considering how similar all Ryzen chips are voltage won't be far off each other
I think I have figured it out. The only thing left in the equation is that XFR thing. Maybe with it running on the CPU it uses up more power. I guess the only way to disprove that theory would be to disable it, and I'm not sure you even can?

That's the only difference left tbh.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




Manners cost nothing, but a lack of them will cost you everything.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 02-04-17, 05:40 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Asgard
Posts: 11,993
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
I think I have figured it out. The only thing left in the equation is that XFR thing. Maybe with it running on the CPU it uses up more power. I guess the only way to disprove that theory would be to disable it, and I'm not sure you even can?

That's the only difference left tbh.
It would probably boil down to how aggressive AMD makes the CPU use it's power saving features(through the architecture itself I suppose or there ASEGA/whatever the hell it is called). XFR is disabled I am pretty sure once any manual OCing occurs. Even if you change to manual but keep the same settings, BIOS will turn it off. Not really sure, but it is consistently using less power even under OC load.
__________________
Death is just another path, one that we all must take.
The grey rain-curtain of this world rolls back,
And all turns to silver glass, and then you see it...
White shores, and beyond,
A far green country under a swift sunrise.
-J.R.R Tolkien
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump








All times are GMT. The time now is 12:31 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.