Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 23-03-17, 12:57 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 1,200
I'm rarely a fanboy at all for anything, but the one exception for me is Asus. They just do it consistently better than most anyone. But I am open to Gigabyte and EVGA. It just seems that Asus boards simply work, and if they do have issues, they're generally minor issues. With AM4 EVERY board maker seems to have teething issues, but that's to be expected. But MSI hasn't hit enough motherboard homeruns for me to give them a shot.

__________________
Guts: i7 3820 / Asus Rampage IV Gene / 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum / Zotac GTX 980 x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU / Case Labs M8
Storage: 2x ADATA SX900 256GB SSDs in RAID0 / 2x 3TB in RAID1 / 2x 1TB stand alone
Water Cooling: CPU - Darkside Heatkiller / GPUs - EK 980
/ 360 rad x 3 / dual D5 vario pumps
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 23-03-17, 01:47 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 6,253
Yeah I think most of the BIOS issues people are having are not down to the boards but the CPU itself. There are issues AMD are aware of and have said will be fixed. The memory issues are most probably board related though as Gigabyte seem to have a pretty good bios out there. Still not surpassing 2667mhz though really.

At present I have three boards running. My Alienware MSI X99, a Giga X79 UD3 Rev 1.1 (with the proper phases) and an old Asus. The best board I have ever had was my CHVFZ by Asus, and the M5A97. I just love how they lay out their bioses, pure class.

If I do decide to upgrade my Phenom X6 Ubuntu rig to Ryzen I will probably look at the MSI 350 arctic (the ATX one). I'm not too bothered about overclocking any more and it's the best looking board out there. I even prefer it to the CH6 !
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




Manners cost nothing, but a lack of them will cost you everything.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 23-03-17, 02:17 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 19,989
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Yeah I think most of the BIOS issues people are having are not down to the boards but the CPU itself. There are issues AMD are aware of and have said will be fixed. The memory issues are most probably board related though as Gigabyte seem to have a pretty good bios out there. Still not surpassing 2667mhz though really.

At present I have three boards running. My Alienware MSI X99, a Giga X79 UD3 Rev 1.1 (with the proper phases) and an old Asus. The best board I have ever had was my CHVFZ by Asus, and the M5A97. I just love how they lay out their bioses, pure class.

If I do decide to upgrade my Phenom X6 Ubuntu rig to Ryzen I will probably look at the MSI 350 arctic (the ATX one). I'm not too bothered about overclocking any more and it's the best looking board out there. I even prefer it to the CH6 !

All the boards Ive had are doing 3200 now. The delays are AMD yes but its still bios. In their wisdom they have fixed it so only they can do the memory QVL
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 23-03-17, 02:20 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 1,200
Stop posting birthday boy! You're supposed to be drinking and getting romanced by the lady for the next 2 days!!
__________________
Guts: i7 3820 / Asus Rampage IV Gene / 16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum / Zotac GTX 980 x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU / Case Labs M8
Storage: 2x ADATA SX900 256GB SSDs in RAID0 / 2x 3TB in RAID1 / 2x 1TB stand alone
Water Cooling: CPU - Darkside Heatkiller / GPUs - EK 980
/ 360 rad x 3 / dual D5 vario pumps
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 23-03-17, 02:26 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 6,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
All the boards Ive had are doing 3200 now. The delays are AMD yes but its still bios. In their wisdom they have fixed it so only they can do the memory QVL
That will be handy. Not that I would buy top end ram any ways, too spenny.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins




Manners cost nothing, but a lack of them will cost you everything.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump








All times are GMT. The time now is 05:38 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.