Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Overclocking
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 11-04-17, 10:54 AM
Vipermk2's Avatar
Vipermk2 Vipermk2 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: UK, Sol 3
Posts: 96
Asus AI Suite 3 any good

I was just wondering if the the Asus AI suite is any good for overclocking or using the '5 way optimization' is just a basic optimising tool.



Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-04-17, 03:01 AM
BigDaddyKong's Avatar
BigDaddyKong BigDaddyKong is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,008
I have used older versions in the past, and Windows did not like it. I have heard of others that have had problems from installing this version of the software. I won't try it now.
__________________
AMD R7 1800X-Asus Crosshair VI Hero-16GB GSkill 3200mhz-Corsair HX1000-XSPC Raystorm Copper Edition-Dual D5 Pumps-Corsair Force 3 SSD-Sapphire Fury X2-Corsair 900D-Windows 10 Pro-Dell U3011-Dell 2007FP
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-04-17, 07:11 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 3,811
i never liked it. the fan setup and optimisation would sometimes reset and put everything to maximum.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-04-17, 10:35 AM
Thelosouvlakia's Avatar
Thelosouvlakia Thelosouvlakia is offline
Classy-Fried-Chicken
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Greece
Posts: 2,930
You don't need it and you don't want it, just get HWinfo for monitoring and just use the uefi for everything else. (I think you can do auto overclock in the uefi but I prefer tweaking stuff on my own)
__________________

--------------------------------------------------------------------

---------------------------------------------------------------------
Theory is when you have the "know how" but nothing works.
Practice is when everything works but no one knows why.
In our lab, theory and practice are combined: Nothing works and no one knows why
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28-12-17, 02:11 PM
RobM's Avatar
RobM RobM is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Durham
Posts: 1,041
I have been using it this past couple days and whilst it can be handy for oc whilst in windows it has a tendancy to cause my system to randomly reboot, its only use as I see it is to get you a starting point to work from in bios
__________________
ASUS Prime x370 Pro | Ryzen 5 1600 | Antec 240 AIO | Corsair Vengance RGB 3000 2 x 8Gb | Asus Strix RX 470 | Samsung Evo 120gb ssd | Seagate Baracuda 1tb storage | EVGA 500w | Phanteks Entho ProM Acrylic Window | Windows 10 and Linux Manjaro
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28-12-17, 02:33 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 1,867
AI Suite is garbage, and has been for years. This is coming from an Asus fanboy too. I won't buy any other motherboards, but their software sucks HARD.
__________________
Guts: Ryzen R7 1700 / Asus CH6 Hero / 16GB G.Skill 3600CL15 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU / Case Labs M8
Storage: Intel 600p 1TB NVME / 6TB RAID0 array / 2TB RAID0 array
Water Cooling: Watercool HeatKiller IV blocks on CPU & GPUs / 4 360 rads + 1 240 rad / Singularity Computers reservoir / dual D5 pumps

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28-12-17, 04:51 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle-Earth
Posts: 14,551
Don't bother and definitely don't use the bench mark feature. It's quite terrible.
__________________
Pickles are cucumbers soaked in evil
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28-12-17, 08:11 PM
BigDaddyKong's Avatar
BigDaddyKong BigDaddyKong is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,008
Just remember uninstalling it does not get rid of it totally. You will need to reg clean when done to get it permanently gone.
__________________
AMD R7 1800X-Asus Crosshair VI Hero-16GB GSkill 3200mhz-Corsair HX1000-XSPC Raystorm Copper Edition-Dual D5 Pumps-Corsair Force 3 SSD-Sapphire Fury X2-Corsair 900D-Windows 10 Pro-Dell U3011-Dell 2007FP
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29-12-17, 10:16 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,674
I always use revo uninstaller


The fan control side is OK but Id not use anything else. Theirs is probably the best out of the big 3 but Id always say go manual in the bios and learn it. All the softwares only really apply profiles and the volts are ALWAYS too high
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 30-12-17, 11:14 AM
coffeefoot coffeefoot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
I always use revo uninstaller


The fan control side is OK but Id not use anything else. Theirs is probably the best out of the big 3 but Id always say go manual in the bios and learn it. All the softwares only really apply profiles and the volts are ALWAYS too high
I agree.
__________________
Antec 302 Intel i7 3770K K . Asus P8Z77-V. 16 Gb. Corsair Vengance 1600. Noctua NH D-15-S, w-Pull-Push Pull-Push Noctua 140 +120, Evga 1080 ti SC icx, Samsung 950, Seagate Firepro 2 TB, Western Dig. Blue 500 g. Corsair RM 1000i psu. Win. 10 Pro. 64
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 01:41 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.