Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Memory
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 23-07-18, 08:30 PM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,333
Memory to 4000mhz

For the life of me I cannot get my 2 x 16 gb sticks of Trident Z CL19 4000mhz to run @ XMP 4000mhz, the best I can get is 3700mhz @ CL19.

Bios is the latest 1002.

I've tried starting from scratch (no cpu overclock) after a clear cmos and set xmp and manuall timings then worked my way up to 3700mhz but anything above this speed and the pc bootloops (doesnt even try to load windows), I think its doing memory training but fails and after a couple of restarts it asks me to press F1 to load the bios. I also raised voltage on the sticks to 1.4v and vccio / sa to 1.225 but doesnt do a thing.

So with the sticks @ 3700mhz I have tightened the timings to CL16-16-16-36 (tRFC at 440) and these pass all benchmarks, H.265 benchmark is what I use for stability testing, if I try CL15 then I get a blue screen 30 seconds into the run.

Thinking that I may have a weak CPU I got a mate to test my cpu and memory on his rig and it has no issue booting with XMP 4000mhz -ROG Maximus X Code (bios 1602).

So can anybody help me get higher bandwidth ?

The memory kit I have is on the Asus QVL list for my Z370-I tested @4000mhz (second to last on the 4000mhz list near the bottom) : http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/...368.1532099243

Thanks in advance guys

P.S. I know higher bandwidth can become pointless because of the looser timings, but I would at least like to try and see how they perform at the advertised xmp settings...


__________________
Intel Core i7 8086K @ 5.00GHz Delidded @1.2v - Asus ROG Z370 Strix - G.SKill Aegis [email protected] 2x16GB - NZXT MANTA BLACK/RED - PM961 1TB x 2 RAID0 - Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti - Corsair H110 Pro - Corsair Commander Pro - Asus ROG Swift PG279Q 2560x1440P G-Sync 165Hz

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24-07-18, 12:15 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle-Earth
Posts: 14,937
If you're CPU can't hit it then I don't think there's much more you can do outside of raising the voltage for the memory controller.
__________________
The Cost of Freedom -
"A price payed gladly, in the hopes that the free, live better."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24-07-18, 09:33 AM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
If you're CPU can't hit it then I don't think there's much more you can do outside of raising the voltage for the memory controller.
Thats what my issue is though, the cpu and memory can hit it when I stick them in a friends Maximus X Code.

I managed to get to 3733 with the following timings :

__________________
Intel Core i7 8086K @ 5.00GHz Delidded @1.2v - Asus ROG Z370 Strix - G.SKill Aegis [email protected] 2x16GB - NZXT MANTA BLACK/RED - PM961 1TB x 2 RAID0 - Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti - Corsair H110 Pro - Corsair Commander Pro - Asus ROG Swift PG279Q 2560x1440P G-Sync 165Hz

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 01:48 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.