Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Project Logs & Gallery > Project Logs
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #141  
Old 21-06-13, 03:55 PM
The Orange One The Orange One is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Llyn Peninsula, North West Wales
Posts: 1,089
Send a message via MSN to The Orange One
Sexy sleeving mate!

__________________



Broadband, Y U So Slow?
Reply With Quote
  #142  
Old 21-06-13, 05:24 PM
JayCobs's Avatar
JayCobs JayCobs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Where it's hot in the summer and cold in the winter
Posts: 198
That sleeving job is just....STUPID NICE!!! Inspirational to say the least. PSU mount is a win, especially to show off the magnificent sleeving.
__________________
Preventively pessimistic.

Projekt Suma Kuhl 2013 (ended)
http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthr...Suma+Kuhl+2013

Tha Leviathan build in progress...
http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=56390
Reply With Quote
  #143  
Old 21-06-13, 05:39 PM
Remmy's Avatar
Remmy Remmy is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: York
Posts: 1,570
Yeah that sleeving looks epic, I'm just being lazy and getting the Corsair braided cables for my PSU lol. I have done some though, I do all my fans, and SATA cables, and front I/O etc.. So I'm not completely noobish :L Getting the USB3 done was nearly impossible though, I got the braiding on fine, but I couldn't get any heatshrink over the MoBo header that would shrink enough so I've had to use electrical tape :s
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #144  
Old 21-06-13, 07:21 PM
alpenwasser's Avatar
alpenwasser alpenwasser is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayCobs View Post
That sleeving job is just....STUPID NICE!!! Inspirational to say the least. PSU mount is a win, especially to show off the magnificent sleeving.
Yeah it does work out quite nicely. Ironically I didn't originally plan on getting this
PSU and the other one would have been mounted differently (long story for another
day).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Remmy View Post
Yeah that sleeving looks epic, I'm just being lazy and getting the Corsair braided cables for my PSU lol. I have done some though, I do all my fans, and SATA cables, and front I/O etc.. So I'm not completely noobish :L Getting the USB3 done was nearly impossible though, I got the braiding on fine, but I couldn't get any heatshrink over the MoBo header that would shrink enough so I've had to use electrical tape :s
Yeah USB and that stuff is quite a PITA IMO.

I have to admit that it does take an absolutely ridiculous amount of time, especially
when using the techniques I'm using. Since I'm taking a forced break from college
at the moment (bad health, see intro post for log) part of the reason for all this
intricacy is admittedly just keeping myself busy.

Thanks for the support guys!
Reply With Quote
  #145  
Old 21-06-13, 07:23 PM
alpenwasser's Avatar
alpenwasser alpenwasser is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,856
Cable Lacing

Cable Lacing Sketches

Since I've been asked several times now how I did the lacing I've drawn up a few
very rough (and confusing ) sketches. Since I can't yet do the video this
is all I got at the moment.


Basic Concept

As you can see (I hope), the basic concept is to have a thread running across
the top and bottom of the wire bundle and then do loops around them.

When you do a downwards loop, you go straight down, and when you come back up
again, you change one wire over when you're in the middle. This pulls the next
wire to the ones you've already laced.

(click image for full res)



Front-View Step by Step


Step 1

First you loop the lace around the wire pack like this. Whenever there's a
crossing of wires in the third dimesion, red denotes the wire running in the
foreground.

Magenta represents continuity between steps. This is all just one piece of lace,
not several.

(click image for full res)



Step 2

After that, loop the lace around the vertical end part once and go between the
first pair of wires. This is the loop by itself:

(click image for full res)



And within context:
(click image for full res)



Step 3

After that you go across the package of wires using vertical loops. As mentioned,
you go down straight and when you come back up you switch one wire over.

(click image for full res)


With context:
(click image for full res)



Step 4

At the last pair of wires, instead of going one wire over (there's no wire there
of course ), you go back across the entire package between the two layers, then
loop around the vertical end again (as in the beginning) and go to where the start
of the lace comes out. Then you make a knot.

(click image for full res)



Which then leaves you with this mess:
(click image for full res)



Note: It's quite tricky to keep everything taut all the time. Instead of trying that,
simply tighten down at both ends of the lace between steps (you'll easily realize when
the package is not tightly packed). It greatly depends on what kind of lace you use.
Nylon is very slippery and quite difficult to work with, lacing cord (usually waxed
cotton) is quite convenient.


I will still do a video, but in the mean time this might help a bit. I know it's a
bit messy, but if you don't understand a specific step let me know and I might be
able to draw up a clearer sketch for some more detail of that part.

EDIT: Something I forgot: I usually tie the two ends of the thread to large
paper clips to be able to thread it through the wires. Otherwise this might drive
a person insane.
Reply With Quote
  #146  
Old 22-06-13, 01:13 AM
Feronix's Avatar
Feronix Feronix is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Dungeon
Posts: 8,350
^Thanks mate!
Useful stuff
__________________
~Rick

"If a bear looks good in the woods when nobody is there, is he still a cool ass motherf***ing bear?" - JR23
Reply With Quote
  #147  
Old 22-06-13, 01:52 AM
Mark3Max Mark3Max is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Florida U.S.A.
Posts: 745
Great job on the cable lacing alpenwasser ,
it looks like very tedious work , but the end result looks very nice.
__________________
Corsair 650D, MSI Z77A-GD65 , I7-3770k, Corsair H100i w/sp120 QE ,G.Skill Ares 16gb 2133 c9, Asus Blu-Ray Burner, Asus Xonar STX ,Corsair Neutron GTX 240gb ,W.D. black 1TB ,Seagate 3TB, MSI GTX 680 Lightning, Corsair AX760i ,Case Fans : Front : CM 200 blue,Rear : Corsair AF 120 PE , Klipsch 2.1 , Sennheiser HD650 , 2 x Samsung 23" 1080p , Logitech G710+
Reply With Quote
  #148  
Old 22-06-13, 08:31 AM
alpenwasser's Avatar
alpenwasser alpenwasser is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feronix View Post
^Thanks mate!
Useful stuff
Happy to help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark3Max View Post
Great job on the cable lacing alpenwasser ,
it looks like very tedious work , but the end result looks very nice.
Yeah it is indeed quite tedious, especially when using Nylon. The waxed cotton cord
I've used for ZEUS is much easier to work with, but is of course a lot thicker.

The other tricky phase is that when you've only done the first few wires and can't
yet tighten things down. It looks like quite a mess in the beginning and only really
takes shape once you've laced a few wires together and it doesn't come loose every
time you're adding a new one.
Reply With Quote
  #149  
Old 22-06-13, 09:04 AM
AverageNinja's Avatar
AverageNinja AverageNinja is offline
Average Penis Too
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,225
Cable stitching
Great job dude!
__________________
JavaBean: Ryzen 5 1600 / ASUS Crosshair 6 Hero / 16GB Corsair LPX 3200MHz / ASUS RX 580 Strix / Corsair RM750X / Fractal Design Meshify C

OC3D Overclockers Club Member:
Nr. #00 (Club Owner)


Reply With Quote
  #150  
Old 24-06-13, 11:33 AM
alpenwasser's Avatar
alpenwasser alpenwasser is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by AverageNinja View Post
Cable stitching
Great job dude!
Thanks mate!

Did a few more wires over the weekend. However, to my great astonishment I had
to realize that the 80 metres of 16 AWG I had ordered are in fact only about 40 m
long.

I've contacted the company and they swear they sent out 80 metres, which leads
me to believe that the other 40 m got stolen on its way to me. I just don't believe
that they would do this on purpose since if I had realized this sooner I could have
easily given them negative feedback on eBay (they have a great reputation, so
surely they would care about this), and I don't think you would accidentally only
pack half the amount of wire ordered by mistake.

Thievery is not as ridiculous as it sounds. Copper is highly desired by thieves around
here, sometimes they dismantle entire railway copper lines (the ground wires, not
the power carrying ones, of course). And since it is very hard to notice (just look at
how long it took me), if it gets noticed at all, it's quite an easy crime to get away
with (espeically considering nobody would ever seriously investigate something as
small as this).

So, I've ordered 60 m more 16 AWG wire and will continue the cable making when
that gets here (if it gets here ).

In the mean time I will have to find something else to keep me busy, I'll let you know
what that is when I find out.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
560 radiator, caselabs smh10, copper, evga sr-2, geforce titan

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 02:36 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.