Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Project Logs & Gallery > Project Logs
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 09-10-18, 07:39 PM
robbiec robbiec is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cork, Ireland
Posts: 54
To do list:

Spray the Lian-Li hot swap cage black and braid the wires + fit a black MOLEX connector.

Get my head around Vega and Wattman, can get it up to 1720 + 1050 and will run a bench but at 1.2 so want to pull back a little, perhaps more mem and less core + voltage.

Aura is not recognising the board so will bring the Aquaero into play for control of RGB, maybe turn blue if everything under 30c and go more Orange to red as it warms up.

Seriously tidy up the wiring

That's about it then, maybe fit another 240 rad (have an old TFC 240) in the front right hand side for giggles.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-10-18, 09:58 PM
robbiec robbiec is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cork, Ireland
Posts: 54
+ swap out Phanteks 140mm with NB versions, the noise they make while quiet is of a different hum to the NB's and so annoying me.
+ reflash Vega64 to a LC bios
+ upgrade my D5 to this, AquaComputer D5 Next , looks a nice fit for my system.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-10-18, 10:12 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 12,369
I had the same problem with the EK Coolstream. It comes with brass extenders pre fitted, but there is no way to tighten them up. The only way around it was to put a fitting in, then tighten that a crap load, then it would all seal up. But yes, a very bad design that your ports are sunk into the shell and you need extenders at all. I stopped it leaking eventually as I said, but not before it leaked.

Not being funny, but it has to be THE most poorly made part I've ever had in a PC. They look stunning when fitted and nice in pics but the build quality is awful.

I found the same with their CPU block too. It's nearly all plastic.

I won't be ditching the stuff I have, but I won't be buying any more either.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-10-18, 07:40 AM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 5,048
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
I had the same problem with the EK Coolstream. It comes with brass extenders pre fitted, but there is no way to tighten them up. The only way around it was to put a fitting in, then tighten that a crap load, then it would all seal up. But yes, a very bad design that your ports are sunk into the shell and you need extenders at all. I stopped it leaking eventually as I said, but not before it leaked.

Not being funny, but it has to be THE most poorly made part I've ever had in a PC. They look stunning when fitted and nice in pics but the build quality is awful.

I found the same with their CPU block too. It's nearly all plastic.

I won't be ditching the stuff I have, but I won't be buying any more either.
Never had a leak with any of the coolstreams. Only have them because they are the cheapest ones around. Personally I think the performance is quite poor but the dimensions suit me well and at least the Rad frame looks good. Tightening the extender can be done by a monkey wrench. Just use two pieces of rubber either side of the extender. Won't damage or scratch the framework at all.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 13-10-18, 01:30 PM
robbiec robbiec is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cork, Ireland
Posts: 54
So just performed a bit of shopping.

AC D5 Next pump,
3 NB Silent Pro 140 PL3s (they are overkill as they ramp up to 1700rpm but I can control that )
Aqua Computer also have these nifty little 4 x fan and 4 by RGB splitters called Splitty so I got a couple of those to play with.

I'm really toying with the idea of another Vega64 and a Rift.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 29-10-18, 11:37 PM
robbiec robbiec is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cork, Ireland
Posts: 54
AquaComputer stuff shipped today. Guess I missed the first batch of the D5 Next's.
In other news, my PC is going on holiday to a R&D lab my company has setup. I'll be converting from Windows to Linux for the next few months and using it as my personal POC machine for any crazy ideas I have opposite a bit of Heterogeneous computing (CPU & GPU) I am investigating at the moment. That means a couple of new Samsung 970 Pros and perhaps I might be able to sneak in a couple of 1633a SAS drives as backup along with whatever Broadcom LSI are touting as nice workstation type LBAs at the moment.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-11-18, 11:25 PM
robbiec robbiec is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cork, Ireland
Posts: 54
So I love it when a plan comes together...
Some arrivals today in time for the weekend

I'm a big Noiseblocker fan, good, strong quiet fans that are easy to mount, have flexible cabling and these ones are stronger than I need but that allows me to tune them to be sufficient for my needs.



The D5 Next is a tidy unit, cabling might be a challenge but it comes with an inbuilt flow sensor and lights up only kidding, fully compatible with my Aquaero so definetly a case of want over need.



So top is an 4x aqua bus extension to my Aquaero, allows me to plumb in the pump and other accessories I have. Middle is the Quadro 4x powered fan splitter, which I use to daisy chain the other AC splitters I have or not depending on the way I eventually run the cabling. Last is a heatsink / cover for my naked secondary M.2 drive.



These Splitty thingys have some sort of RGB capability which I won't be using, so I either hang off the Aquaero directly or via the Quadro. Basically I could probably have 50 fans in my case now and drive / control from the Aquaero, Quadro and Splitty4's with just cable splitters.



A 7 port internal USB hub which I will dedicate to AquaComputer stuff and a pressure tester with a G1/4 female connector one side and an inlet for a bicycle pump on the other side. Been reading the water cooling stickies I have Mr TTL



Lastly some wires to hang all the kit back together and an online temp sensor to give me some liquid temps for reference.

Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-11-18, 04:37 PM
Cenedd Cenedd is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 54
Ah, found your thread.
May have missed something but if you're planning to drive RGB strips off the RGB header in the Aquaero, you will probably be disappointed. It's good for a single RGB LED and it's the opposite type of LED to most strips - I can look it up if it's relevant to your build but one is common anode and the other is common cathode. You may need a farbwerk if you want to drive strips.

Mind you don't drop the DrDrop (no pun intended) as the gauge is a little flimsy and loses its zero. You can reset them but dismantling the gauge, pulling the needle off the spindle and putting it back pointing at zero. It may not read true PSI but it's the drip or lack of that you're interested in. Also, they don't seem to be completely pressure-tight....but that could be just the couple I've had.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 21-11-18, 12:29 AM
robbiec robbiec is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cork, Ireland
Posts: 54
So weird thing started happening, GPU would fail to initialise on restart. Then it was a case of touch and go on normal starts. I would have to switch off power supply and leave PC alone for a random period, anything from 15 mins in one case to a full day in another. Then the NIC went or the driver failed to start it... The Aquareo or the D5 Next or the Quadro would not be recognised or the Aquaero would and the other two would not and vis versa.
So I've narrowed down to either the be quiet! PSU or the Asus Prime X470 with my gut telling me its the MB. Upshot is that a new MB is on the way, a Asus ROG Crosshair Vii Hero Wi-Fi and if that starts acting up I'll swap out the be quiet for a Seasonic Prime.
It could also be something shorting out but I can't be pushed to strip everything down and test until the new board arrives. PITA but that is Murphy's law sometimes.
Upshot is that the Crosshair has Bluetooth and Wi-Fi and i'm testing some Cisco AP4800s which have BLE and AC and some cool Hyperlocation tech so I have a feeling 'Cry Baby' might show up at a work conference in a couple of weeks which is good motivation to tidy up everything
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 23-11-18, 08:54 PM
robbiec robbiec is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cork, Ireland
Posts: 54
Complete strip down for installation of a Crosshair Vii WiFi. I'll take pics on the way
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 06:46 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.