Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Project Logs & Gallery > Project Logs
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #31  
Old 16-09-17, 11:54 AM
bloodycrashboy's Avatar
bloodycrashboy bloodycrashboy is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Cairns, Australia
Posts: 26
Hi guys
its been just under12 months since I built this rig
time for an update:

GTX 690 was starting to become a pain
Each time a new driver came out there was problems that would take me ages to sort out (cos not very clever)
so I decided to upgrade to a GTX 1080 :-)
Just so happened that the time of my decision coincided
with the run on graphics cards due to crypto miners
eventually I managed to get my hands on a reasonably cheep one from Gigabyte



water block and back plate from EK







first time I have fitted a waterblock to a brand new card out of the box
(very satifying)






leak testing





blood red from EK



when I drained the system from using the car coolant for almost 12 months, the only thing I had was a very small amount of white residue which I flushed out .
The CPU block was like new
couldn't see anything wrong with the radiators or GPU block
Rig now runs flawlessly and the blood red coolant looks much better, beiing a much deeper red than the car coolant.

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 16-09-17, 12:24 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 20,797
Always a good shout with red and white
__________________
If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 16-09-17, 01:49 PM
Surfie's Avatar
Surfie Surfie is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 560
White is one of those colours that goes with EVERYTHING.

And looks epic.
__________________
What we've got here is; failure to communicate...
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 16-09-17, 04:03 PM
AverageNinja's Avatar
AverageNinja AverageNinja is offline
Average Penis Too
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,251
Great job dude, nice and clean loop. Great to see a 600t again, too. I used to love those cases (and I still do). Keep up the good work
__________________
JavaBean: Ryzen 5 1600 / Corsair ML240L RGB / ASUS Crosshair 6 Hero / 16GB Corsair LPX / ASUS RX 580 Strix / Corsair RM750X / Fractal Design Meshify C

OC3D Overclockers Club Member:
Nr. #00 (Club Owner)


Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 17-11-18, 08:50 PM
bloodycrashboy's Avatar
bloodycrashboy bloodycrashboy is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Cairns, Australia
Posts: 26
update time :-)
it's been 14 months since I changed my graphics card and I've been wanting to see it's cooling goodness, so I bought one of these



it's not specific to my case but I watched a YouTube video and decided to go ahead

video here: https://ru-clip.net/video/SDE-l_z8f9...y-pc-case.html

I have been putting this mod off for a long time because I knew that I would have to strip out all of the components in my case for cutting purposes
but it was high time I drained my system because the fluid had been in since I changed my graphics card 14 months ago!
the fluid still looked fine and I could not see any unwanted build up in the reservoir




so I got busy draining the system and stripping out everything
to my surprise the water blocks and radiators were almost spotless



just a small amout of buildup in the inlet and outlet of the GPU cooler
so little that you cant even see it in the shot above

did a test fit to make sure things would fit before I started cutting the case
all was good, fitted perfectly



so I stripped out the case and got out my 5 inch grinder and hacked away



with all of the components out there was a fair bit of clean up involved
I don't use any dust filters and the case always has the side panel removed





while the mother board was out I sprayed the whole board liberally with electrical contact cleaner after first brushing the dust off



re-applied thermal paste after thoroughly flushing the CPU water block
I use this stuff



all this hard work was making me hungry
so I had a morning fry up :-)

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 17-11-18, 09:17 PM
bloodycrashboy's Avatar
bloodycrashboy bloodycrashboy is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Cairns, Australia
Posts: 26
putting everything back together was nice after cleaning all the dust off
most parts looked brand new again
but then there is always the cabling (i hate cabling)





got my tube bending stuff out of the cupboard and got bending
managed to successfully complete the runs without any stuff ups



then it was leak test time

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 17-11-18, 10:21 PM
bloodycrashboy's Avatar
bloodycrashboy bloodycrashboy is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Cairns, Australia
Posts: 26
leak tested for about an hour
after close inspection, no water to be seen
I don't know why people insist on leak testing for hours and hours
my opinion is, if it's going to leak you will see it in a very short time
ie: in a few minutes
had to tip the case around a lot to rid the loop of air locks
with that done I drained some of the distilled water and added the EK Cryofuel red concentrate



then it was back into the study for some gaming



after about half an hour playing Project Cars 2, also running OBS Studio streaming to Twitch, the temperatures are great :-)

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 17-11-18, 10:35 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 11,899
Leaks can develop a couple of days after you first set up the loop. As pipes and fittings bed in you can find yourself with leaks. I have had that happen a couple of times, and it's better to be safe than sorry. What I do now is go around the loop with it running and pull gently on the hoses/piping to make sure that nothing can leak.

The vertical mount looks nice. I have one I am about to fit as it goes.
__________________
"Those really high 20 series prices are just place holders"



Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 17-11-18, 10:37 PM
bloodycrashboy's Avatar
bloodycrashboy bloodycrashboy is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Cairns, Australia
Posts: 26
here's a quick video :-)

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 17-11-18, 10:41 PM
bloodycrashboy's Avatar
bloodycrashboy bloodycrashboy is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Cairns, Australia
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Leaks can develop a couple of days after you first set up the loop. As pipes and fittings bed in you can find yourself with leaks. I have had that happen a couple of times, and it's better to be safe than sorry. What I do now is go around the loop with it running and pull gently on the hoses/piping to make sure that nothing can leak.

The vertical mount looks nice. I have one I am about to fit as it goes.
thanks mate
I have replaced most of the rubber seals and when I fit them I use a tiny smear of rubber grease which works a treat
never had a leak yet (famous last words)
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 08:39 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.