Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 21-05-17, 02:33 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 17,126
ASUS' Crosshair VI Hero now supports 3200MHz+ memory multipliers

ASUS' Crosshair VI Hero now supports 3200MHz+ memory multipliers thanks to their latest beta BIOS and AMD's new AGESA 1006 microcode.



Read more on ASUS' new Crosshair VI Hero BIOS features.

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21-05-17, 03:53 PM
Avet's Avatar
Avet Avet is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,254
Wow... Was the bios that was released on launch pre alpha? Has anyone tried new memory profiles. I am very interested in scaling performance if the board can actually pull off those memory speeds.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21-05-17, 04:06 PM
iSaff iSaff is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Hogwarts and Nania South
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avet View Post
Wow... Was the bios that was released on launch pre alpha? Has anyone tried new memory profiles. I am very interested in scaling performance if the board can actually pull off those memory speeds.
Lots of people on Reddit claim to have been getting excellent results:

Quote:
Reddit Users:

-aylan1196:
"Finally gskillz 3600 32gb 4 8xgb running at 3466 with 1.37 v and my CPU at 4.0 1.4v .... thanks ASUS at last I can push this amd beast build."


-ShikatsuWatercooled (XFX R9 Fury | R7 1800X):
"Finally got my G.Skill memory (F4-3600C16D-16GVK) running at it's XMP specs: 3600MT/s CL16-16-16-36 with the x18 strap.

Great job from AMD and ASUS!"


-digitalfrost ([email protected] | ASUS CH6 | G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14 | R9 290X):
"Insane BIOS, my RAM is currently at 3466Mhz.

So glad I got this board."


-MaldiavoloSapphire (Tri-X R9 Fury):
"AGESA 1.0.0.6 is what is allowing the higher speeds. It's from AMD."
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21-05-17, 04:35 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,804
Not surprised Asus is first for the BIOS update.
__________________
I am Iron Man.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21-05-17, 07:21 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,486
I'm on 9945, running at 3466mhz @ 15-15-15-35-51trc-1T. Still can't boot 3600, so it's not quite there *yet*, but every update is one step closer!
__________________
Guts: ThreadRipper 2950X / GB Aorus Xtreme X399 / 64GB TridentZ Royal 3600CL16 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU
Storage: 6TB RAID0 NVME array (ADATA SX8200 Pro 2TB x 3)
Water Cooling: HeatKiller TR4-Pro CPU block / HeatKiller IV GPU blocks / 360mm Darskide LP360 rads x 3 / Heatkiller reservoir

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21-05-17, 07:26 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bartacus View Post
I'm on 9945, running at 3466mhz @ 15-15-15-35-51trc-1T. Still can't boot 3600, so it's not quite there *yet*, but every update is one step closer!
You noticing improved performance with every update?
__________________
I am Iron Man.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21-05-17, 07:33 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,486
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
You noticing improved performance with every update?
Honestly, I haven't done *extensive* testing, but using AIDA64s memory and cache benchmark, 3466 nets me the fastest copy speed and lowest latency so far. I've run 2966 @ 12-12-12-24, [email protected], 3333 @ 15-15-15-35, and [email protected] scores the highest so far. Cinebench R15 also sees a tiny bump (1699, my highest score so far). My 1700 seems to be an OCing turd though, as it needs crazy volts, so it's staying at 3.8Ghz for now. But in the small amount of testing I've done, I'm seeing improvements. And more importantly, it's stable. I think!
__________________
Guts: ThreadRipper 2950X / GB Aorus Xtreme X399 / 64GB TridentZ Royal 3600CL16 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU
Storage: 6TB RAID0 NVME array (ADATA SX8200 Pro 2TB x 3)
Water Cooling: HeatKiller TR4-Pro CPU block / HeatKiller IV GPU blocks / 360mm Darskide LP360 rads x 3 / Heatkiller reservoir

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21-05-17, 08:52 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: With the Asguardians of the Galaxy
Posts: 16,804
I guess memory timings don't matter so much and just the overall speed throughput is what matters for Ryzen. Pretty interesting. Hopefully you can clock better with a future BIOS. Hitting 4ghz and running memory at 3466 would be quite a feat
__________________
I am Iron Man.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21-05-17, 08:58 PM
Bartacus Bartacus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 2,486
4Ghz is beyond hope for my CPU I'm afraid. My ram is awesome, since i paid extra $$$ for 3600 @ CL15. If I can get that running at 3600, I'll be happy. Almost there, thanks to Asus releasing these test bioses for us to tinker around with. The new ones open up a slew of individual memory timings, the ability to choose 1T or 2T, etc in addition to the AGESA updates. CH6 owners should be all over those, especially the hard core tinkerers!
__________________
Guts: ThreadRipper 2950X / GB Aorus Xtreme X399 / 64GB TridentZ Royal 3600CL16 / Zotac GTX 1080Ti x2 / EVGA 1000W PSU
Storage: 6TB RAID0 NVME array (ADATA SX8200 Pro 2TB x 3)
Water Cooling: HeatKiller TR4-Pro CPU block / HeatKiller IV GPU blocks / 360mm Darskide LP360 rads x 3 / Heatkiller reservoir

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21-05-17, 09:28 PM
Celt Celt is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
I have F4-3600C16D-16GTZSW modules with the C6H. Using the 9945 bios, I am running 3600MHz with 16-16-16-16-36-1T. It boots consistently, and in general use has been flawless, but I need to tune further to pass torture testing.

You will need to learn some new approaches with using things like CLDO_VDDP settings, trDRDsc_sm, and tuning ProcODT is more important.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 10:28 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.