Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Platforms - Other
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 03-09-14, 06:47 PM
rzthrun's Avatar
rzthrun rzthrun is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: new york city
Posts: 74
VPS spec comparison: vCPUs vs RAM vs ...

Which of these configs is the sweet-spot of cost/performance per-month for an unmanaged VPS

RAM 1 GB
Storage 24 GB
Transfer 2000 GB
vCPUs 8 vCPUs

RAM 2 GB
Storage 48 GB
Transfer 3000 GB
vCPUs 2 vCPUs

RAM 1 GB (x2)
Storage 24 GB (x2)
Transfer :2000 GB (x2)
vCPUs 1 vCPU (x2)

The last is two VPS nodes with 1GB ram each etc...

Any opinions/thoughts/advice appreciated

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-09-14, 09:28 AM
SuB's Avatar
SuB SuB is offline
The Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Taking a break
Posts: 8,720
What are you using it for?
__________________
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro | i7-8700k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance 3000Mhz DDR4 | nVidia RTX 2080Ti | Creative Audigy Rx | 1Tb Samsung 970 EVO+ M.2 | 1TB Samsung 860 QVO | 2TB Seagate Barracuda | Corsair RM850 | Fractal Define S | Noctua NH-U14S | Roccat Kone Optical - Navy Storm | QPad MK85 Pro w/ Cherry Red MX | DELL U2413 + 2 x U2412M | AKG K702's | AKG K7XX S/N#000016 | Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250Ohm | TM Hotas Warthog Stick and Throttle | Saitek Combat Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5 | TrackClip Pro

Notice: Don't feed the trolls!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-09-14, 03:16 PM
rzthrun's Avatar
rzthrun rzthrun is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: new york city
Posts: 74
hosting 2 sites currently, plans for third - more. LAMP stack apps. One application is processor heavy and behind a password wall, I'd like to isolate it on separate VPS ideally. Other is currently information, but will soon be publishing platform with some dynamic content.

Update: After starting a support ticket with the host (linode), I was informed that the 8 vCPU is running on older hardware (on hdd, don't know processor). The 1 vCPU and 2 vCPU cofigs are using newer hardware (ssds and intel E5-2680).
I've also discovered that a vCPU is not a CPU (duh) - so it's just a percentage of the physical machine - not separate physical threads. Meaning - I don't know if I can really compare the 8vCPU config to 1&2vCPU configs.

I guess my question should be refined to the benefits/costs & capabilities/inabilities of have one robust VPS or two lesser cofigs.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-09-14, 03:34 PM
SuB's Avatar
SuB SuB is offline
The Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Taking a break
Posts: 8,720
Get one better one.

It'l share the load as necessary, gives you better burst ability if it needs it, and it's easier to upgrade and add more ram to without having to do it twice.

For todays needs I'd get something like 4 cores with as much ram for the database as you can. You won't need 6 or 8 cores.

Age/generation of cpu doesn't really matter for web stuff, it's still a virtual private server, it's just either more or less clocks etc etc. I would't worry about that.

You can put adequet security in place to keep the two things separate without the need to get two VPS's

just get the best single one you can afford, and then you can upgrade it if necessary.

Those transfer amounts seem a bit ty as well if you ask me...

Just been on that site and looked at prices and they are excuse my language, ing insane.


http://www.ovh.co.uk/vps/vps-classic.xml

The top end classic vps here:

4 core, 8gb ram, 100gb raid 10, 10 TERABYTES of data, for £12.74 /month
__________________
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro | i7-8700k | 32GB Corsair Vengeance 3000Mhz DDR4 | nVidia RTX 2080Ti | Creative Audigy Rx | 1Tb Samsung 970 EVO+ M.2 | 1TB Samsung 860 QVO | 2TB Seagate Barracuda | Corsair RM850 | Fractal Define S | Noctua NH-U14S | Roccat Kone Optical - Navy Storm | QPad MK85 Pro w/ Cherry Red MX | DELL U2413 + 2 x U2412M | AKG K702's | AKG K7XX S/N#000016 | Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250Ohm | TM Hotas Warthog Stick and Throttle | Saitek Combat Pro Pedals | TrackIR 5 | TrackClip Pro

Notice: Don't feed the trolls!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-09-14, 04:04 PM
rzthrun's Avatar
rzthrun rzthrun is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: new york city
Posts: 74
oh damn! Yea - that is a significantly better deal. So you'd recommend them ? they are offering near quadruple the resources for what I'm paying now. I'm going to have to seriously reconsider my current VPS solution given this information... um... huh...

side by side approx $20 / £12.74 *
Host--------Storage---------RAM---------vCPU---------XFER---------Outbound BW
Linode:--------48 GB ---------2GB-------2 vCores-----3 TB---------250 Mbps
OVH:---------100 GB ---------8GB ------4 vCores ----10 TB--------100 Mbps

£12.74 = $20.90

I went with linode a couple years back because they had farms in Newark, LA, UK and Tokyo - all places close to my market at the time. I put the node in Newark because NYC was the most important. But I don't even in know how important physical proximity even matters. And these days it quantitatively matters less to me.

*Edit: OVH price including VAT is £15.29 or $25.06
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-09-14, 05:16 PM
Estacado7706 Estacado7706 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Not as far up in the north as I'd like to be.
Posts: 49
I have 2 servers from Strao (www.strato.de).
For 20$ you can get:
4 vCores. 4GB RAM (can be upgradet on the fly to 8 if you need it)
400GB SSD
100 MBit at no transfer limit
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-09-14, 05:28 PM
rzthrun's Avatar
rzthrun rzthrun is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: new york city
Posts: 74
Hey, Estacado, thanks - they look good, significantly cheaper then linode, and competitive with OVH. How's english language support ? (Ich spreche kein Deutsch).

Also, should mention, I'm only interested in unmanaged hosts. All that cPanel stuff just drives me crazy.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-09-14, 05:59 PM
Estacado7706 Estacado7706 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Not as far up in the north as I'd like to be.
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by rzthrun View Post
Hey, Estacado, thanks - they look good, significantly cheaper then linode, and competitive with OVH. How's english language support ? (Ich spreche kein Deutsch).

Also, should mention, I'm only interested in unmanaged hosts. All that cPanel stuff just drives me crazy.

Since they are operating in Spain, the Netherlands, UK, France and Germany the support shouldn't be a problem. (I don't know if it makes a difference in pricing in wich country you order)

And since they are offering managed servers seperately the v-servers should be unmanaged.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-09-14, 06:16 PM
rzthrun's Avatar
rzthrun rzthrun is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: new york city
Posts: 74
Their UK facing site list steeper prices and different products then the german site. http://www.strato.de/linux-vserver/ https://www.strato-hosting.co.uk/server/virtual/ I estimate roughly a factor of x2 higher pricing.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
comparison, cpu, hosting, pricing, vps

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 07:00 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.