Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 19-05-20, 02:42 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 17,942
AMD Changes Course - B450 and X470 will support Zen 3-based processors

400-series users will have an upgrade path, but upgrading will be tricky.



Read more about AMD extending B450 and X470's motherboard support.

__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19-05-20, 02:55 PM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ye Olde England
Posts: 14,012
This was probably planned from the start given how extremely quickly they changed their stance, They knew there would be customer backlash so now them "listening" makes them look like the good guys, Clever marketing.
__________________
=AMD Ryzen 9 - 3950X @ 4.20GHz - XFX 5700XT Thicc III Ultra @ 2100/1800=

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19-05-20, 03:53 PM
Avet's Avatar
Avet Avet is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,441
It will be optional only. See paragraph 4. You will need to confirm that you have Zen3 CPU and there is no rollback after this. You lose support for old processors completely.
__________________
Turbos on an engine is God's way of telling you it ain't got enough cylinders.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19-05-20, 04:12 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 14,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
This was probably planned from the start given how extremely quickly they changed their stance, They knew there would be customer backlash so now them "listening" makes them look like the good guys, Clever marketing.
Nah, I strongly doubt that. They've just seen the backlash, realised MSI and Co would be screwed and have changed their mind.

Remember, this will cost them a lot of time and money and will result in board failure and RMA. They will have to cover that, which is why they probably didn't want to go this route in the first place.

Fair play though. I doff my cap.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19-05-20, 05:26 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17,144
Pretty stupid how you cannot do a BIOS flash to an older version that doesn't support a Zen 3 CPU. Makes no bloody sense as to why.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19-05-20, 05:47 PM
Avet's Avatar
Avet Avet is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Pretty stupid how you cannot do a BIOS flash to an older version that doesn't support a Zen 3 CPU. Makes no bloody sense as to why.
Here is the deep dive by GN. It is just past the limits of the BIOS chip to support all that. Either old or new compromise is the only thing AMD could do. If you want the new stuff you probably won't go back to the old. If you want old just don't go for the special version of the BIOS.

__________________
Turbos on an engine is God's way of telling you it ain't got enough cylinders.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19-05-20, 05:58 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17,144
No that still makes no sense.

If you flash it with an older BIOS you are rewriting the entire file stored. It does not matter what is on it, you are deleting it to it's base functions to where it can still operate, but then writing new binary to it allowing for all the support needed. It does not matter what's written so long as it's able to be written.

Older BIOS will have a previous AGESA and CPU support. Newer BIOS version will have a new AGESA version and therefore new CPU support.


It doesn't matter if the "probably" event you mentioned occurs. It's the fact that it still makes no sense to me how they can prevent old flashbacks unless they are specifically writing code to prevent anything older than these new AGESA versions. Which is purposefully removing options from the user when there is 0 need to.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19-05-20, 06:01 PM
tgrech tgrech is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,900
I assume this update is so large they have to remove the full bootloader(The bootloader for the UEFI chip rather than the PC) to be able to fit(or at least removing the flashing functionality). If you write software to an embedded processor without a bootloader than allows you to "flash" itself then you need to use a dedicated programmer to "re-flash" it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 19-05-20, 06:03 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgrech View Post
I assume this update is so large they have to remove the bootloader(The bootloader for the UEFI chip rather than the PC) to be able to fit. No bootloader, no more hot flashing.
Considering they are only supporting one lineup, Zen 3, they are actually using less storage as there are less CPUs being supported. It's a one way ticket. Zen 1/2 or 3. Not both.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 19-05-20, 06:11 PM
tgrech tgrech is online now
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 1,900
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Considering they are only supporting one lineup, Zen 3, they are actually using less storage as there are less CPUs being supported. It's a one way ticket. Zen 1/2 or 3. Not both.
The size of the AGESA procedure library required for Zen3 could still be larger than previous lines, particularly if the core design has changed notably.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 04:31 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.