Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Overclocking
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 06-05-18, 02:14 PM
Korreborg's Avatar
Korreborg Korreborg is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Viborg - Denmark
Posts: 633
Upgrade MB and/or ram?

Hey guys/girls

Swapped my old itx build for 7900x (delidded), asrock X299E-itx/AC and 32gb of 2400mhz ram.

I'm a gamer, so not the best combo, but I have always wanted a high end bulid

Then, to get a better gaming experience, I want to OC. And do I need faster ram?

Options for MB:
1. Get the bitspower monoblock for the itx board.
2. Get a ATX MB and a monoblock for that.

Options for ram:
1. Keep current MB and 2400mhz quad channel ram
2. Swap current for faster ram, maybe even dual channel and only 16gb? Will it make a difference.
3. New MB, and thereby new ram. Again quad or dual channel.

The question is, what to do will faster ram make a difference? And will a bigger board make OCing easier/better temps?

I have a 280mm and 240mm in my case. And have just bought a 400mm to mount under my desk and the have it with quick disconnect fittings. I'm all in for quite.

What would you guys/girls suggest?

/Korreborg out

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-05-18, 03:09 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 11,042
You won't be OCing much if at all with that board. It simply doesn't have the fets for it and no such thing exists. If you are not crunching serious data then it would have been wiser to stick with less cores and more speed.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins



Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-05-18, 04:42 PM
Korreborg's Avatar
Korreborg Korreborg is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Viborg - Denmark
Posts: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
You won't be OCing much if at all with that board. It simply doesn't have the fets for it and no such thing exists. If you are not crunching serious data then it would have been wiser to stick with less cores and more speed.
Well i might sell it if intel comes with a "9700k", but this thing is having a go.

The ITX bored handles a 7980XE at 4,5Ghz with the bitspower block. The problem is the VRM.

I think that the underlying question is: Is 2400mhz ram enough.
If not, then i need new ram. And if i'm going to get new ram, then would it be an idea to get a new MB

I like the looks of the Strix-X299-XE
https://www.asus.com/ROG-Republic-Of...MING/overview/
(My case can't fit a EATX board)

The worst thing about the ITX MB is the cable clutter. The riser card for the SATA cables makes a lot of mess. And the budget isn't there for a 2TB M.2 at the moment.
__________________
[I9-7900X][Asus Strix X299-E][EVGA 1080TI FE][Corsair 16GB 3733MHz][Fractal Meshify C][Corsair AX860i]
[Samsung 970evo 500GB+1000GB of mixed SATA SDD's][ASUS PG278QR][Logitech G510s and G502][Steelseries Wireless H]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-05-18, 04:56 PM
dugdiamond's Avatar
dugdiamond dugdiamond is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Under a rock
Posts: 4,675
you'll need a minimum of a 280mm rad, so the question is your case.

will it take a 280mm rad (360mm would be better) and will it have superior airflow!!!
__________________
Prepare for the worst. Assume losing. Then... if the opposite occurs... BONUS!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-05-18, 05:02 PM
Korreborg's Avatar
Korreborg Korreborg is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Viborg - Denmark
Posts: 633
Currently i have 2 radiators a 280mm + 240mm, i'm in an ATX case.

(i turned up the light for the pic. It has tinted glass, so the cable clutter isn't normaly that visible, but still irritating)
__________________
[I9-7900X][Asus Strix X299-E][EVGA 1080TI FE][Corsair 16GB 3733MHz][Fractal Meshify C][Corsair AX860i]
[Samsung 970evo 500GB+1000GB of mixed SATA SDD's][ASUS PG278QR][Logitech G510s and G502][Steelseries Wireless H]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-05-18, 05:11 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 11,042
I would leave the RAM. Totally not worth doing, IMO. Would be if it were an AMD though.
__________________
He used to do surgery
For girls in the eighties
But gravity always wins



Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-05-18, 05:27 PM
tannji tannji is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 100
If you are only gaming, that combo will work, but as pointed out is not specifically the optimal or most price efficient setup. If you are going to stream/edit/multitask while gaming, different story. I would almost say Ryzen+ would be better, but the 7900x and X299 platform have more PCIe lanes, which is why I went that route. Wanted to go Threadripper, but IMO it isn't quite there. Threadripper2 might be a completely different story. Personally, I think I expect it to check more boxes than anything else available ATM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-05-18, 06:10 PM
Korreborg's Avatar
Korreborg Korreborg is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Viborg - Denmark
Posts: 633
I have already used the money.

712£ + my 4790k, Asus Z87i-pro and 16gb 2400mhz ram.
__________________
[I9-7900X][Asus Strix X299-E][EVGA 1080TI FE][Corsair 16GB 3733MHz][Fractal Meshify C][Corsair AX860i]
[Samsung 970evo 500GB+1000GB of mixed SATA SDD's][ASUS PG278QR][Logitech G510s and G502][Steelseries Wireless H]
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-05-18, 08:56 PM
Korreborg's Avatar
Korreborg Korreborg is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Viborg - Denmark
Posts: 633
Well the Danish forum I'm on, sometimes sells some of their test samples. And today was one of those days

So bought a Strix X299-E gaming downside, major rebuild of the watercooling, but the monoblock is cheaper than for the asrock board.
__________________
[I9-7900X][Asus Strix X299-E][EVGA 1080TI FE][Corsair 16GB 3733MHz][Fractal Meshify C][Corsair AX860i]
[Samsung 970evo 500GB+1000GB of mixed SATA SDD's][ASUS PG278QR][Logitech G510s and G502][Steelseries Wireless H]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 12:16 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.