Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Customer Care Forums > Asus UK Customer Care Forums
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 21-11-18, 06:46 AM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,380
Motherboard Header on Maximus X Hero Rev 1.01

Hello,

Does anybody know what the motherboard header is for directly underneath the bios chip on the right hand side of the cmos battery ?

No mention of what is does in the manual.

Cheers, FTLN


__________________
Intel Core i9 9900kK @ 5.00GHz @1.29v - Asus ROG Maximus Hero - G.SKill [email protected] 2x16GB - Thermal Take View Glass - PM961 1TB x 2 RAID0 - Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti - Corsair H110 Pro - Corsair Commander Pro - Asus ROG Swift PG279Q 2560x1440P G-Sync 165Hz
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21-11-18, 07:16 AM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,003
Looks like a BIOS SPI header. Just a guess, though. Probably nothing a user should worry about since the manual doesn't mention it.
__________________
i7 8700k 4.9GHz - 2x8Gb 3600MHz CL15-15-15-34 - GTX 970 - 512GB 850 EVO
<3 Linux, DXVK and 165Hz
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21-11-18, 05:17 PM
Warchild Warchild is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Norway, Oslo
Posts: 4,470
Saw it mentioned two thunderbolt headers but I only see one labelled.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21-11-18, 08:48 PM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,380
***Edit - Looks like its for flashing the bios***



Although on the product page of motherboarddb.com I can see 1 x thunderbolt 5 pin header mentioned I don't see any mention of it in the manual I have.


https://motherboarddb.com/motherboar...us%20X%20Hero/



__________________
Intel Core i9 9900kK @ 5.00GHz @1.29v - Asus ROG Maximus Hero - G.SKill [email protected] 2x16GB - Thermal Take View Glass - PM961 1TB x 2 RAID0 - Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti - Corsair H110 Pro - Corsair Commander Pro - Asus ROG Swift PG279Q 2560x1440P G-Sync 165Hz
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21-11-18, 09:35 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle-Earth
Posts: 15,140
Looks like front panel audio if I remember right.
__________________
The Cost of Freedom -
"A price payed gladly, in the hopes that the free, live better."
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21-11-18, 10:36 PM
Dark NighT's Avatar
Dark NighT Dark NighT is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,542
it isnt, Front panel audio is further down below between the supreme fx chip and the rgb pinout that is next to the power button, must be something else.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21-11-18, 10:46 PM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is offline
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Middle-Earth
Posts: 15,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark NighT View Post
it isnt, Front panel audio is further down below between the supreme fx chip and the rgb pinout that is next to the power button, must be something else.
Well easy mistake to make since it says AAFP instead of Front Panel like every other board (including my Asus board). So that leaves me to believe the port in question is probably for service in case they need to get access to BIOS if the user bricks the board
__________________
The Cost of Freedom -
"A price payed gladly, in the hopes that the free, live better."
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21-11-18, 11:53 PM
Dawelio's Avatar
Dawelio Dawelio is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 4,434
Quote:
Originally Posted by FTLN View Post
Quite off topic here, apologies, but may I just ask what browser you’re using?...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21-11-18, 11:58 PM
looz's Avatar
looz looz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,003
Looks like Firefox with dark theme since I think Chrome did away with the green lock symbol in favour of a gray one recently.
__________________
i7 8700k 4.9GHz - 2x8Gb 3600MHz CL15-15-15-34 - GTX 970 - 512GB 850 EVO
<3 Linux, DXVK and 165Hz
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22-11-18, 04:03 PM
FTLN FTLN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dawelio View Post
Quite off topic here, apologies, but may I just ask what browser you’re using?...
Firefox Dark Theme
__________________
Intel Core i9 9900kK @ 5.00GHz @1.29v - Asus ROG Maximus Hero - G.SKill [email protected] 2x16GB - Thermal Take View Glass - PM961 1TB x 2 RAID0 - Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti - Corsair H110 Pro - Corsair Commander Pro - Asus ROG Swift PG279Q 2560x1440P G-Sync 165Hz
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 01:20 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.