Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 21-01-13, 01:48 AM
DeepFriedJif DeepFriedJif is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 55
I wounder.....

Hey guys, so I am transforming my current PC into a dream machine. I have so far upgraded my processor and motherboard. 3930k and ASRock x79 Extreme 11.
I want to get 4x gtx 690, now I am FULLY aware that this is beyond more horse power than is necessary, that is the point of the build. Now I am no noob to this, I know that I couldn't use 2 of the cards (4 of the gpus) for gaming, but i plan to run 3 monitors and megatask and what not. Still not necessary but again not my cocern. I was just wondering if the system will pick up and recognise all 4 cards, even if games can not use them, will the system be able too?

Thanks in advance for taking the time to answer!

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21-01-13, 02:03 AM
seumasbeathan seumasbeathan is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Isle Of Lewis
Posts: 3,488
Let me see if I read this right, you want 4 GTX 690's? That isn't even possible. If you meant 4 680's (2 690's) then yes that is possible but it is not needed, in fact it will give you worse performance than 3 or even 2 680's
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21-01-13, 02:04 AM
yassarikhan786's Avatar
yassarikhan786 yassarikhan786 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 8,931
As above, 4 x 690's is not possible with any motherboard (as far as I know).
__________________
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Pro (B3) || CPU: i7 2600k || Graphics Card: EVGA GTX 780 Ti ACX || Memory: 16GB - Mushkin Blackline 8GB + Corsair Vengeance LP 8GB || SSD's + HDD's: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB (OS + Programs) + Caviar Black 2TB (Games + Storage) || CPU Cooling: Noctua NH-D14 || Power Supply: BeQuiet Dark Power Pro P9 750W || Case: Corsair Obsidian 650D || Monitor(s): Dell U2410 + Dell U3818DW

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21-01-13, 02:17 AM
DeepFriedJif DeepFriedJif is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 55
Well as i would normally agree, as form what I have been able to read on the Nvidia forums the normal limitations for running 4x 690 is either not enough PCIe bandwidth or not enough expansion slots. I will have neither of those problems. I know that the drivers won't support it for games, like I said I am purely wondering if the computer will recognize them so I can use them to accelerate computing. But if its truly not possible them I will find a different solution.(more than open to suggestions)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24-01-13, 06:32 PM
Pwn3d|HGL Pwn3d|HGL is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Try and get one of those Ares II video cards, those are beasts.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24-01-13, 06:58 PM
Pr3d4t0r's Avatar
Pr3d4t0r Pr3d4t0r is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Warrington, UK
Posts: 1,041
current motherboards only have enough bandwidth(or whatnot) to support 4 gpu cores at one time, therefore having 4 690's is impossible(and stupid since you would pay for 3 cards to just sit there idly)

get A 690 or 7990, you can always add another card later on if the technology exists to balance it out with cpu performance.

i wouldnt have recomended asrock mobo especially if you wanted to get a quad sli in there, they are not very good to be honest and its always better to go with better brands. it will handle a single/sli ok probably but having a quad sli would only be beneficial on a proper board.

of course you can still grab 4 680's and they would work fine but 4 gpu cores is max you can get up to.

ps. off topic: what actually happens when you install more then 4 cores?
__________________
Main PC: [email protected], PowerColor Red Devil [email protected]/1900 ,16GB TeamGroup 3600mhz/cl16 1:1, Corsair HX850i, NZXT H440 grid+, Corsair H100

Unraid: Supermicro X9DRi-f, 2x2670v2, 198GB ECC DDR3 1333mhz (buffered,registered) RAM, 142TB + 1tb nvme raid0 cache, 1050ti for transcoding
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24-01-13, 07:41 PM
Timeless Timeless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pr3d4t0r View Post
of course you can still grab 4 680's and they would work fine
in benchmarking...


@DeepFriedJif: You should really do your homework on tri/quad SLI systems and their effect on a lot of games cause more isn't always better.

I think the best solution at the moment for ultimate high-res/multiple monitors gaming will be 2 680 4GB in SLI. Anything more is just silly and a waste of time and money.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24-01-13, 07:59 PM
dragoonk dragoonk is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Giurgiu, Romania
Posts: 908
Oh dear Lord, the money that would go into that... I'd buy meself a decent car and still be left with some change to get drunk with that kinda money.
The Max for any mobo is 4 graphical cores (2x690's/2x7990's etc.) no matter what you want to use them for. I'd recommend getting one dual GPU card like a 7990.
__________________
MB: MSI 760GM-E51 (FX)
CPU: AMD Athlon II x3 450 Rana @ 3,93GHz, 1,56 V
HDD: 1xExcelstor 160 Gb
GFX: Sapphire HD3870x2 857/1053
RAM: 2x2Gb Kingston HyperX Blu 1600 MHZ 1,65 V
PSU: Inter-Tech SL-700 700W
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24-01-13, 10:35 PM
DeepFriedJif DeepFriedJif is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 55
Thanks for the input and I have decided to go with either a single 690 or 2 680s for now, ill add more later and witht the new 700 seriers on the way I don't to sink all my moeny if the 700 series iz as great as the 600 series is, if its now ill go for the dual 690s other wise just get the new series cards. Btw, the reason Im going 690 ovet 7990 is for the cuda cores for accelerating video editing and what not.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24-01-13, 10:39 PM
DeepFriedJif DeepFriedJif is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pr3d4t0r View Post
current motherboards only have enough bandwidth(or whatnot) to support 4 gpu cores at one time, therefore having 4 690's is impossible(and stupid since you would pay for 3 cards to just sit there idly)

get A 690 or 7990, you can always add another card later on if the technology exists to balance it out with cpu performance.

i wouldnt have recomended asrock mobo especially if you wanted to get a quad sli in there, they are not very good to be honest and its always better to go with better brands. it will handle a single/sli ok probably but having a quad sli would only be beneficial on a proper board.

of course you can still grab 4 680's and they would work fine but 4 gpu cores is max you can get up to.

ps. off topic: what actually happens when you install more then 4 cores?

I was going to get a R4E but with the dual plx chips abd the lsi chip built in I could not pass it up. It has served me very well, i do not regret the decision to go with it. It may be excessive but as you can probably tell thats how I like my systems
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
4 way sli, gtx 690

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 04:33 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.