Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Overclocking
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 11-08-20, 07:49 AM
Xrqute's Avatar
Xrqute Xrqute is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 647
3950X Overclocking advice wanted!!!

Hey guys,

My tried and true 5960X rig died over the weekend. which was very sad i thought she still had another good couple of years in her.

So given the lack of tech advancement vs cost in Intel products i decided to build my first AMD rig since my AMD Athlon XP 2400.

cpu- 3950x
mobo- gigabyte X570 Xtreme
ram- corsair vengeance 3600mhz
gpu- Amd Vega64 (left over from old rig)
psu- Corsair AX860i (left over from old rig)
cooling- custom dual 360 rads with blocks on both cpu and gpu.

Anyway its been quite sometime since i've tried to overclock a new cpu/mobo. And well im not familiar with the do's and dont's for the current ryzen chips nor do i really know my way around a gigabyte bios (always been an Asus Rog guy but went gigabyte in the spirit of trying something new)

So constructive advice throw it at me boys!

__________________





OC3D Overclockers Club #47
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-08-20, 07:55 AM
Dicehunter's Avatar
Dicehunter Dicehunter is offline
Resident Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ye Olde England
Posts: 14,521
Enable Precision Boost Overdrive and leave it to do its own thing, Often manual overclocks with the 3950X will actually result in worse single threaded performance, With PBO I've seen 1-2 cores on my 3950X boost up to 4.40-50GHz or I can overclock and set all cores to 4.30GHz, Will give me higher multi performance but worse single threaded performance.

As long as you have the cooling sorted you'll be golden.
__________________
If you think about it, VR is free unreal estate.....

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-08-20, 11:10 AM
Dark NighT's Avatar
Dark NighT Dark NighT is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,930
Yep Dice nailed it, just let it do it's own thing and it will work out just fine.
__________________
Rig: Cpu: AMD R7 3700X. Mobo: Gigabyte X470 Aorus Gaming 7 wifi. Ram: Gskill Royal Silver 3200mhz cl16: Gpu: Msi RTX2070 Armor. Asus Xonar STX II.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-08-20, 01:08 PM
Xrqute's Avatar
Xrqute Xrqute is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 647
i kinda wanna push her and see what she can do. obviously not for daily OC more to satisfy curiosity and see how i fared in the silicon lottery.
__________________





OC3D Overclockers Club #47
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-08-20, 01:13 PM
AlienALX's Avatar
AlienALX AlienALX is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 14,980
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xrqute View Post
i kinda wanna push her and see what she can do. obviously not for daily OC more to satisfy curiosity and see how i fared in the silicon lottery.
There isn't really a silicon lottery on AMD. They have done all of the binning, and they have pushed them as far as they can go.

The only lottery you will have is how fast your FCLK will run and how fast you can run your RAM. Most are locked at 3600, but some can go higher.

And that's it. You will get a choice of which PBO you want to run (extreme, Cinebench etc) and that will do you.

Manual overclocking is a complete waste of time. Remember, these are competitive times and nothing is being left on the table.
__________________


If you don't like what I post don't read it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 01:10 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.