Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 25-11-17, 08:13 PM
Cigarjohn's Avatar
Cigarjohn Cigarjohn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pennsylania, United States
Posts: 103
Searching for z270 or z370 Apex mobo owners.

Looking to talk to owners of the z270 or z370 APEX Motherboard. Need to ask questions. Please contact me or private message me.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-12-17, 07:04 AM
Cigarjohn's Avatar
Cigarjohn Cigarjohn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pennsylania, United States
Posts: 103
Amazing how there isn't any APEX owners out there.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-12-17, 12:21 PM
WYP's Avatar
WYP WYP is offline
News Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 17,706
Not exactly surprising, the Apex is an expensive board and not many people are part of the "hardcore overclocking" scene, which is what this motherboard is aimed at.

Is there any reason why you are not asking the question here directly? Not many people would be willing to message a stranger via PM to answer a question that they may not be able to help with.
__________________
_______________________________
Twitter - @WYP_PC
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-12-17, 09:02 PM
Cigarjohn's Avatar
Cigarjohn Cigarjohn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pennsylania, United States
Posts: 103
Wink Stranger?

But were all strangers here in all community or forums. Were suppose to come together as a group and help one another if possible.

PM's don't necessarily need to be personal. Private? Yes! I'm just looking for some answers to the questions that I post on this website.

I'm not an extreme overclocker like I use to be, but I will be overclocking with this board and just wanted to connect with others that have the same board. Kind of forming a circle within a circle.

I do this when I purchase specific audio equipment and communicate with audiophiles that have the same equipment and close to the same setup I have. We help each other out with situations we may encounter.

I was hoping to connect with others that have the same motherboard I will be using.

I guess I'm the only individual on the OC3D community forums that has the z370 Asus Apex X. I'll have to seek elsewhere for my information. Many reviews out there on this board but not too many users of this board. Strange.

Anywho, I guess it is what it is. I'll figure it out.

Take care and thanks for your reply and concerns.

Have a great day!


P.S. Even though I am a stranger; don't be alarmed, I won't bite. I am a very friendly PC enthusiast who is constantly seeking knowledge.

P.S.S. I'm not asking my questions directly cause I've searched all over the community for information on this board and I come up empty. So I decided to put it out there to hopefully maybe find someone who might have the z370 Apex X board to communicate with now and in the future.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-12-17, 11:05 PM
mutantaxe mutantaxe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 105
well I am sort of an Apex owner........ordered one today so any tips at setting up appreciated or any thing to avoid
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13-12-17, 07:16 AM
Cigarjohn's Avatar
Cigarjohn Cigarjohn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pennsylania, United States
Posts: 103
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantaxe View Post
well I am sort of an Apex owner........ordered one today so any tips at setting up appreciated or any thing to avoid
Nice. Good choice and I don't think it's too expensive of a motherboard. Let me know how the onboard sound is.

I'll have my board sometime in December or the first of January. I'm contacting Asus tomorrow and pick their brains on this board.

If your an overclocker like me we need to compare notes.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13-12-17, 10:54 PM
mutantaxe mutantaxe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 105
come winter I will overclock but with temps over 30C in my flat in the summer its not ideal for overclocking
found it strange that you download the BIOS and they tell you to rename it ?

It will be next week before I get my one...supplier had 24 to 48 hrs but like normal they lied but am downloading all the software and going to put it onto a flash drive and the bios onto a separate one
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14-12-17, 01:48 AM
Cigarjohn's Avatar
Cigarjohn Cigarjohn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pennsylania, United States
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantaxe View Post
come winter I will overclock but with temps over 30C in my flat in the summer its not ideal for overclocking
found it strange that you download the BIOS and they tell you to rename it ?

It will be next week before I get my one...supplier had 24 to 48 hrs but like normal they lied but am downloading all the software and going to put it onto a flash drive and the bios onto a separate one

Yeah, that's very strange.

I don't know if I'm going to overclock using the multiplier and adjust the voltages manually or play around with the base clock.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14-12-17, 01:53 AM
Cigarjohn's Avatar
Cigarjohn Cigarjohn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pennsylania, United States
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantaxe View Post
well I am sort of an Apex owner........ordered one today so any tips at setting up appreciated or any thing to avoid
Nothing to really avoid that I know of. The board has incredible VRM temps no matter how hard you overclock it. The board will be more stable at higher overclocks in the CPU and Memory than the other z370 boards in the series. But it is a cut and dry motherboard with a lot of features taken away that's really not needed when overclocking compared to the features on gaming motherboards.

But I will be over clocking my 3200mhz RAM and CPU along with my EVGA Kingpin water cooled card. And will be using it for heavy gaming. Also I'll be using an installed sound card as the onboard sound card isn't as good as on some of those gaming motherboards.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 15-12-17, 12:46 AM
mutantaxe mutantaxe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 105
well spat the dummy today....the vendor had 24 to 48 hrs and then changed it to unknown and then sent me a message saying it may be in by Monday. Simply not good enough and with Amazon opening in Australia these vendors are going to have to lift their game.

anyway sent them the message...............if its not shipped by Monday cancel my order
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 06:58 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.