Go Back   OC3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 25-11-17, 02:59 AM
Cigarjohn's Avatar
Cigarjohn Cigarjohn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pennsylania, United States
Posts: 103
Post test on new board.

Do I need to install the CPU to do a post test on a motherboard with memory installed or can I keep the CPU uninstalled? I can't remember but I think I saw Tom do a post test on a motherboard without the CPU a while ago.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25-11-17, 07:33 AM
Avet's Avatar
Avet Avet is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,359
What is the point of doing post without the CPU? You would want to connect all of your components. Jay did one time put just 1 stick of ram GPU, and CPU, but when he locked his system under water loop he discovered that RAM slots 3 and 4 don't work and he couldn't install all of the memory kits. The point of the test is to save you time if something doesn't work, so you won't have to pull everything out of the case, and in the worst case brake down hard loop.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25-11-17, 05:19 PM
Davva2004's Avatar
Davva2004 Davva2004 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Nottingham UK
Posts: 1,158
As above. Fit everything, assembled outside of the case, and stress test before you build the system and especially before you water cool.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25-11-17, 10:38 PM
Cigarjohn's Avatar
Cigarjohn Cigarjohn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pennsylania, United States
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davva2004 View Post
As above. Fit everything, assembled outside of the case, and stress test before you build the system and especially before you water cool.
When you say "Stress Test", you mean do a CPU Burn-in for a few hours? I won't be able to do that with my video card as it will have a permanent water block mounted on it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26-11-17, 05:06 AM
NeverBackDown NeverBackDown is online now
AMD Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17,013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cigarjohn View Post
When you say "Stress Test", you mean do a CPU Burn-in for a few hours? I won't be able to do that with my video card as it will have a permanent water block mounted on it.
Do it before you put the block on. Or grab a spare card. Or use the integrated gpu
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26-11-17, 06:15 AM
Cigarjohn's Avatar
Cigarjohn Cigarjohn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Pennsylania, United States
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Do it before you put the block on. Or grab a spare card. Or use the integrated gpu
Ok, I might be able to get a temporary fan for the processor and I'll use the integrated video for the burn in.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump










All times are GMT. The time now is 05:14 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.