OC3D Forums

OC3D Forums (https://forum.overclock3d.net/index.php)
-   Project Logs (https://forum.overclock3d.net/forumdisplay.php?f=39)
-   -   New Project: Sicarius (https://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=38435)

Sileo 14-10-11 07:26 PM

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition

Motherboard: Asus M5A99X EVO

RAM: Corsair Vengeance Black 8GB DDR3 1600 MHz

Graphic Card: EVGA 1280MB GeForce GTX 570 Superclocked

HDD: 750GB Western Digital Caviar Green SATA III

ODD: SAMSUNG SH-S222AB/BEBE

Case: Corsair Carbide 400R

PSU: Antec TruePower New 650W

Total Price: 679.06

Click my profile to see my current rig for comparison.

So what do you guys think?

wassupdoc 15-10-11 05:12 PM

Looks good but if you want to save money, you could get the top of the range black edition phenom dual core processor then unlock it to 4 cores with your motherboard. Also two EVGA GTX460 1Gb superclocked cards would destroy one of their gtx 570s for the same price, but try and get the rear exhaust ones if you can (unless you have decent airflow)http://forum.overclock3d.net/images/...cons/laugh.gif

http://media.bestofmicro.com/Q/C/273...BC2%201920.png

In the picture bear in mind that these are the stock cards, with the superclocked edition they will be faster XD

wassupdoc 15-10-11 05:28 PM

Just had a look at the case too, looks pretty sweet http://forum.overclock3d.net/images/...cons/laugh.gif

S_I_N 15-10-11 06:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wassupdoc (Post 1318698778)

Looks good but if you want to save money, you could get the top of the range black edition phenom dual core processor then unlock it to 4 cores with your motherboard. Also two EVGA GTX460 1Gb superclocked cards would destroy one of their gtx 570s for the same price, but try and get the rear exhaust ones if you can (unless you have decent airflow)http://forum.overclock3d.net/images/...cons/laugh.gif

In the picture bear in mind that these are the stock cards, with the superclocked edition they will be faster XD

whatchootalkinboutwillis????? hahaha just chiming in with my 2P get the 570 best bang for buck around and sli later if needed. And if planning sli in future you'll need more juice from a psu go 850watt min on another note as well if the Green is ur only hdd (no ssd) then I'd go Black there awesome drives

yassarikhan786 15-10-11 06:04 PM

on the WD Caviar Black drives http://forum.overclock3d.net/images/...cons/smile.gif.

Paulie 15-10-11 06:42 PM

I'd spend the extra 35 quid or so and get a 1090T istead of the 955. Also if you ever thinking of going sli in the future your choice of board doesnt support it, gd80 I think is the closest sli board for price

Sileo 15-10-11 07:16 PM

I have looked at caviar blacks and the 1090T but I can't fit them in on my budget, I am buying this with birthday and Christmas money as well as some cash I got for my GCSE results and money from the rig I'm going to sell lol, can't really go any higher than what I am at now but I am looking to see if there is something I can drop and replace with something as good but cheaper I'm thinking maybe about getting a non modular psu (maybe lower wattage) I am going to get SLI in the future (oh and @Paulie my board does support it, I'm pretty sure it does anyway) so I will get a new card plus psu then and swap the 955 with the 1090T not sure I can though, really want to though those six cores are on my mind lol.

yassarikhan786 15-10-11 07:18 PM

What about a 500GB Western Digital Black?

Sileo 15-10-11 07:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by yassarikhan786 (Post 1318706331)

What about a 500GB Western Digital Black?

If I swap to a non modular psu I can get it but hopefully I am picking all this up tomorrow and the 500GB is out of stock and I cba waiting lol, I will probably get one in the future though.

wassupdoc 16-10-11 11:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sileo (Post 1318706555)

If I swap to a non modular psu I can get it but hopefully I am picking all this up tomorrow and the 500GB is out of stock and I cba waiting lol, I will probably get one in the future though.

Jonny, ignore whoever said your psu isn't powerful enough, I doubt they know anything about rails and wattage, 500W is plenty with a decent rail, like your power supply has. And your board does support Sli, it's one of it's main features, but i agree about the hdd


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:50 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.