OC3D Forums

OC3D Forums (https://forum.overclock3d.net/index.php)
-   Project Logs (https://forum.overclock3d.net/forumdisplay.php?f=39)
-   -   Render Farm, IT HAZ BEGUN! (https://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=47692)

dalewakelin 14-11-12 08:27 PM

Render Farm, IT HAZ BEGUN!
 
I have been wanting to have a render farm for a while now and i found out how i can do it now, i am going to be getting 10x Dell PowerEdge SC1425 and a network switch and a rack cabinet. All under 1000. It comes to about 700 but i still need to think about storage whether i want 30GB SSDs etc or what OS to get etc. Its not going to be turned on 24/7 it will be more getting turned on when i need it. Since it wont be getting connected to the internet im thinking of just cloning my windows vista to it and installing cinema 4d net render, and if that doesn't work ill use a linux distro with a wine setup which will take up less storage saving money on ssds. Since the distro i have in mind only takes up about 1GB im thinking of just getting high end usb flash drives for each of them. And also its not going to be sitting on my deskso i dont really care about noise or speed to boot etc
http://d3d71ba2asa5oz.cloudfront.net...8sc1425-01.jpg
http://static.scan.co.uk/images/products/1186485-a.jpghttp://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/...500_AA300_.jpg

hmmblah 14-11-12 08:55 PM

What kind of specs on those PE servers? Other than the usb stick for the OS, do you even need local storage? Hell you could probably get away with a pxe boot and forgo the usb stick too.

Be sure to post up when you get some gear in hand!

dugdiamond 14-11-12 10:15 PM

nice electric bill ;)

rossi94 14-11-12 10:19 PM

Holy crab .. very expensive baby ...

dalewakelin 17-11-12 04:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hmmblah (Post 570579)
What kind of specs on those PE servers? Other than the usb stick for the OS, do you even need local storage? Hell you could probably get away with a pxe boot and forgo the usb stick too.

Be sure to post up when you get some gear in hand!

They are 2x hyper-threaded 2 core xeons each so 80 render threads :D
6GB of ram each so 60GB of ram total

Do you know if they would be any good for folding?

dalewakelin 17-11-12 04:50 PM

Might go down to a 6U cabinet and have just 5 servers then the total is less than 500 so i might get it sooner

CPMFW 17-11-12 05:07 PM

what a monster :)

Josh Weston 17-11-12 05:10 PM

Does Ray know about this yet? I think he'll like the premise of this being used to fold.

dalewakelin 17-11-12 05:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Josh Weston (Post 571500)
Does Ray know about this yet? I think he'll like the premise of this being used to fold.

Whos ray?

Quote:

Originally Posted by CPMFW (Post 571499)
what a monster :)

indeed :D

Josh Weston 17-11-12 06:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dalewakelin (Post 571513)
Whos ray?

SnW :)


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.