OC3D Forums

OC3D Forums (https://forum.overclock3d.net/index.php)
-   Project Logs (https://forum.overclock3d.net/forumdisplay.php?f=39)
-   -   Project : FX (https://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=45589)

dalewakelin 08-08-12 06:50 PM

Project : FX
 
This project that im planning on doing will start at late December presumably.
Any way its just on paper for now and this is what is going to be inside it, it will cost 800 so i had better start saving. Feel free to give you suggestions, i already know i don't need a fan controller but want one.
http://www.dwindustries.tk/uploads/1...322070.jpg?675
I may need i higher wattage psu and im not sure about the motherboard so help in those areas would be nice. The name is from the cpu and gpu so those are mandatory. It will mainly be used to replace my current pc and my workstation as im selling both and they will probably fund half of this project and the other half of funding will be from money ive saved up. It will be used to play some games but its primary use will be editing and rendering. Which in its self could help me fund this also.

PapaSmurf6768 08-08-12 07:10 PM

The hardware looks alright if you're dead set on an 8150, but why the 30GB SSD and 80GB hard drive? 30GB is barely big enough to put Windows on, so I'm assuming it's for a cache? I don't even know if AMD CPUs have that kind of capability. Also, I don't see a PSU on your list, or am I just blind?

dalewakelin 08-08-12 07:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PapaSmurf6768 (Post 548116)
The hardware looks alright if you're dead set on an 8150, but why the 30GB SSD and 80GB hard drive? 30GB is barely big enough to put Windows on, so I'm assuming it's for a cache? I don't even know if AMD CPUs have that kind of capability. Also, I don't see a PSU on your list, or am I just blind?

I must have removed it for some reason, but it was a corsair cx600. And the drives are a bit of a mess i may need to upgrade on ssd choice. The 4 80gb hard-drives have a reason.

PapaSmurf6768 08-08-12 07:19 PM

OK a 600W PSU should be fine. You're not thinking of RAIDing the hard drives are you? If you put them in RAID 0, if one fails all your data will be gone, and I think you'll have a pretty high chance of a "Generic Hard Drive" failing, and then you multiply that chance by 4. If you're going for RAID 1 or 5 or something, you might be OK, but I recommend you just get 1 high capacity, reliable drive. Or I could be completely off the mark, let me know. Also, for the SSD, I'd say 60GB is minimum if you are planning to have Windows on the SSD, and recommend 90GB or more. 30GB is more of just a caching drive then actually being used as storage.

PetrolHead247 08-08-12 07:19 PM

Forget the FX8150, it's god awful. If you doing editing and rendering an X79 setup with a 3930K would probably be the best choice but that would be difficult to incorporate into an 800 build so it would probably be more realistic to get a 3770K on a Z77 board. Either way it's gonna be a hell of a lot faster than a Bulldozer rig.

I'm gonna see what i can magic up with 800 and i'll post my results

PapaSmurf6768 08-08-12 07:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PetrolHead247 (Post 548120)
Forget the FX8150, it's god awful. If you doing editing and rendering an X79 setup with a 3930K would probably be the best choice but that would be difficult to incorporate into an 800 build so it would probably be more realistic to get a 3770K on a Z77 board. Either way it's gonna be a hell of a lot faster than a Bulldozer rig.

I'm gonna see what i can magic up with 800 and i'll post my results

You said what I didn't have the guts to say :)

seumasbeathan 08-08-12 07:21 PM

Ok well this is just all wrong, first of all, that comes to about 500 not 800 and the parts are just all wrong.

Here is what I recommend - https://www.aria.co.uk/WishList/8MfeCd8uf06t1Wy5Q0UdhQ,,

And yes I know the FX has 8 cores and 16 threads and the 3570k only 4 of each but benchmarks show the 3570 to still be quite a bit better

Edit : If your not doing that much gaming, drop to a HD 7850 and get a 3770k

seumasbeathan 08-08-12 07:23 PM

You could get a 3930k build quite easily with that money, You just couldnt get a graphics card

PapaSmurf6768 08-08-12 07:24 PM

Oh and don't SLI two 7770's... That's just wrong.

MadMarc 08-08-12 07:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by seumasbeathan (Post 548122)
Ok well this is just all wrong, first of all, that comes to about 500 not 800 and the parts are just all wrong.

Here is what I recommend - https://www.aria.co.uk/WishList/8MfeCd8uf06t1Wy5Q0UdhQ,,

And yes I know the FX has 8 cores and 16 threads and the 3570k only 4 of each but benchmarks show the 3570 to still be quite a bit better

Edit : If your not doing that much gaming, drop to a HD 7850 and get a 3770k

I think you've forgotten the ram and a CPU cooler, for this budget I'd go with a 3770k


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:34 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.