OC3D Forums

OC3D Forums (https://forum.overclock3d.net/index.php)
-   OC3D News (https://forum.overclock3d.net/forumdisplay.php?f=47)
-   -   Quick News (https://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=65782)

barnsley 19-02-16 10:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JR23 (Post 894924)
A single card of that power doesn't need more than 3GB and neither should games, GTA V runs ultra at 4k (no AA) with 3GB. And yeah the same heat but a better cooler :eek:

JR

I like AA.I also play ARMA 3 which goes to 2.9+GB on the settings I use at 1440p. Why would I want to have a sweaty card that will be useless at my resolution/settings?

JR23 19-02-16 10:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by barnsley (Post 894928)
I like AA.I also play ARMA 3 which goes to 2.9+GB on the settings I use at 1440p. Why would I want to have a sweaty card that will be useless at my resolution/settings?

I said 4k :mellow:

If your life is that bad why not just get a 290? or a 390, then you can have all the VRAM and slightly less performance.

JR

barnsley 19-02-16 11:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JR23 (Post 894930)
I said 4k :mellow:

If your life is that bad why not just get a 290?

JR

I know, but unlike you I'm having vram issues at a lower resolution.

No AMD atm because bad blower coolers innit.

NeverBackDown 20-02-16 12:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by barnsley (Post 894931)
I know, but unlike you I'm having vram issues at a lower resolution.

No AMD atm because bad blower coolers innit.

Bad coolers on the 290/290x yeah but the new ones are very good. Was impressed by my 390x XFX unit I had a while back, was quiet and kept it from going over 77C in games. The extra vram would help you a lot though if you are having trouble at 3GB which is a plus. I'd probably wait it out till Polaris or Pascal though. Seeing as they are not that far away and with 14/16nm finfet heat probably won't be bad with either company.

SPS 21-02-16 07:24 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FnKu7MLB7vQ

barnsley 22-02-16 09:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NeverBackDown (Post 895030)
Bad coolers on the 290/290x yeah but the new ones are very good. Was impressed by my 390x XFX unit I had a while back, was quiet and kept it from going over 77C in games. The extra vram would help you a lot though if you are having trouble at 3GB which is a plus. I'd probably wait it out till Polaris or Pascal though. Seeing as they are not that far away and with 14/16nm finfet heat probably won't be bad with either company.

Was the 390 a blower style cooler or the normal DD card? I can't run a non blower style card in my case unless said card is low-ish TDP.

If things go well I'm going dual GPU tbh. I'm hoping the FuryX2/980x2 are going to be good cards as I think that is the next way forward for me.

NeverBackDown 22-02-16 06:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by barnsley (Post 895245)
Was the 390 a blower style cooler or the normal DD card? I can't run a non blower style card in my case unless said card is low-ish TDP.

If things go well I'm going dual GPU tbh. I'm hoping the FuryX2/980x2 are going to be good cards as I think that is the next way forward for me.

I wasn't aware they made blower style cards for the 300 series..:huh:

Damien c 25-02-16 07:40 AM

Oh dear Asus

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/hardwar...s-monitoring/1


I was going to go for a Asus router when I had the money but, I think I will wait till they have secured there routers better if this is story is accurate.

Dicehunter 25-02-16 07:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Damien c (Post 895659)
Oh dear Asus

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/hardwar...s-monitoring/1


I was going to go for a Asus router when I had the money but, I think I will wait till they have secured there routers better if this is story is accurate.

Wow, Having bought an Asus router as of late this means all my iraqi midget goat porn is in danger !

Doomslayer 25-02-16 07:52 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Damien c (Post 895659)
Oh dear Asus

http://www.bit-tech.net/news/hardwar...s-monitoring/1


I was going to go for a Asus router when I had the money but, I think I will wait till they have secured there routers better if this is story is accurate.

Oh crap i have an ASUS router maybe i should check to see if there is a firmware update ^_^

TBH ASUS should know better than to do something like this.


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.