OC3D Forums

OC3D Forums (https://forum.overclock3d.net/index.php)
-   Overclocking (https://forum.overclock3d.net/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   AMD 1700x - Clocks and RAM (https://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=91589)

pickyantivirus 09-02-19 03:21 PM

AMD 1700x - Clocks and RAM
 
Hi All,

I'm sure there have been 100s of these types of posts, but I wanted to get a bit more detail.

I've had my Ryzen 7, 1700X since launch. It's sat under an NH-D15. Today was the first time I've bothered overclocking it. RAM is stuck at 3000Mhz, any higher and it's unstable, so clearly the s**tty memory controller isn't helping me here, as my RAM is 3200Mhz G. Skill, 2 x 16GB sticks.

Anyway, I can only manage 3.9Ghz, at a voltage of 1.43v with LLC set to Level 2. This boosts me from a Cinebench score of 1544 to 1711.

My question here is, real world performance wise, what kind of actual difference will I see. I feel that voltage is a tad high, and temps are about 10C hotter than stock clocks with a max of 68C with the fans on about 900RPM (out of 1500). The reason I ask is, I'm hoping Zen 2 and the 3000 series will offer some serious gains, if they do I'll swap my CPU anyway, but I want to know if it's even worth keeping this overclock or if I should just leave it at stock.

The other question here is, will my Crosshair VI Hero be able to safely run the "rumored" 12 or 16 core Zen 2 chips?

May Thanks,
Ryan

AlienALX 09-02-19 06:09 PM

First of all check your RAM is Samsung B die, as IIRC they made both (Gskill that is). There is a list of supported memory on the interwebs. Just put the exact model number (it will be quite long) into Google. IIRC the list is on Overclock.net.

Gaming performance will benefit the most from higher clocks. You have a very good cooler, so 1.43v should be OK but make sure it is not going over 1.45v when LLC kicks in as that is about the limit. IIRC AMD say 1.45 is OK.

Your CHVI should support the new 12 core, yes. IDK if they are doing a 16 on that socket. But yes, Ryzen 2 should work fine in that board.

Edit to add. What resolution are you playing games at? 4k? if so then don't even bother to overclock the CPU.

pickyantivirus 10-02-19 11:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AlienALX (Post 1001532)
First of all check your RAM is Samsung B die, as IIRC they made both (Gskill that is). There is a list of supported memory on the interwebs. Just put the exact model number (it will be quite long) into Google. IIRC the list is on Overclock.net.

Gaming performance will benefit the most from higher clocks. You have a very good cooler, so 1.43v should be OK but make sure it is not going over 1.45v when LLC kicks in as that is about the limit. IIRC AMD say 1.45 is OK.

Your CHVI should support the new 12 core, yes. IDK if they are doing a 16 on that socket. But yes, Ryzen 2 should work fine in that board.

Edit to add. What resolution are you playing games at? 4k? if so then don't even bother to overclock the CPU.

I don't think it is B Die to be honest. I'll pull a stick later and get the model, but the CAS Latency is 16, which kinda sucks too.

Also I'm playing at 1080p currently (Yes I know, its a waste of a 1080ti, but I'm more interested in waiting for the right 1440p ultrawide to come along).

I think overall I'll look to upgrade to Ryzen 3000 series, not sure how much better Memory support was on the 2700x vs 1700x, but i seem to hear its a lot lot better.

Thanks for your reply :)

AlienALX 10-02-19 12:04 PM

Ahh. Yeah non B die ram? Russian Roulette dude. It's not really AMD's fault, as Infinity Fabric is amazing, but yeah you do need the best memory for it. 3000? fine. You will see diminishing returns after 3200 any way. A dude I know tried 3500 but it was no better and found to be a waste of cash. That may change with Ryzen 2 if the clocks go up, but yeah for right now I wouldn't worry about it.

Have you tried running Nvidia DSR to play at 1440p any way? I do that with my TV as it is only 29hz at 4k. So I just run it with Nvidia DSR and go up to 4k and get 60hz.

By putting more load onto the GPU you may find you get less irrational FPS in games.

pickyantivirus 10-02-19 12:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AlienALX (Post 1001541)
Ahh. Yeah non B die ram? Russian Roulette dude. It's not really AMD's fault, as Infinity Fabric is amazing, but yeah you do need the best memory for it. 3000? fine. You will see diminishing returns after 3200 any way. A dude I know tried 3500 but it was no better and found to be a waste of cash. That may change with Ryzen 2 if the clocks go up, but yeah for right now I wouldn't worry about it.

Have you tried running Nvidia DSR to play at 1440p any way? I do that with my TV as it is only 29hz at 4k. So I just run it with Nvidia DSR and go up to 4k and get 60hz.

By putting more load onto the GPU you may find you get less irrational FPS in games.

I've been meaning to try DSR for ages. Might give it a go later!

AlienALX 10-02-19 12:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pickyantivirus (Post 1001542)
I've been meaning to try DSR for ages. Might give it a go later!

Yeah once you get to 1440p the GPU will have a good workout. That's why it doesn't really matter about my slow Xeons (one only clocks to 2.5ghz lol) because the GPU is doing all of the legwork :D

pickyantivirus 10-02-19 05:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AlienALX (Post 1001544)
Yeah once you get to 1440p the GPU will have a good workout. That's why it doesn't really matter about my slow Xeons (one only clocks to 2.5ghz lol) because the GPU is doing all of the legwork :D

Yea, once you're GPU bound it doesn't matter. The 1080Ti is great and everything but, I was actually kinda disappointed when I got it. I think because I moved from a 970, it actually didn't feel that drastic. Bonus is I can go Ultra in every game so far.

KingNosser 07-03-19 08:18 AM

Quick question Ryzen [email protected] 1.35 with spikes upto 1.387-1.392 with LLC2 set safe OC I use an AIO and the temps don't go above 60C I've not fully stress tested yet but it seems very stable doing cinebench runs and prime95 was fine for 15mins.

I'm kinda leaning towards 3.8Ghz 1.30-1.312 as a 24/7 clock but I'm not really clued up on the correct safe voltages or if my cpu is lotto winner no idea tbh so asking those with more experience of these chips.

WYP 07-03-19 09:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KingNosser (Post 1002796)
Quick question Ryzen [email protected] 1.35 with spikes upto 1.387-1.392 with LLC2 set safe OC I use an AIO and the temps don't go above 60C I've not fully stress tested yet but it seems very stable doing cinebench runs and prime95 was fine for 15mins.

I'm kinda leaning towards 3.8Ghz 1.30-1.312 as a 24/7 clock but I'm not really clued up on the correct safe voltages or if my cpu is lotto winner no idea tbh so asking those with more experience of these chips.

anything below 1.4V is fine. You will only see issues if you start going a lot above that. At least in terms of longevity.

If you CPU is stable at 4GHz at those volt's I'd say you have a great chip.

KingNosser 07-03-19 09:19 AM

Thanks in bios it's set to 1.35 and LLC mode2 it bumps up a bit under full load but not constant just now and then like in cinebench r20 the sofa white fabric seems to be the intensive part. I just need to do a longer session of Prime95 then but thanks for letting me know makes me feel more positive over running that voltage.

Since it was spiking I felt the need to add .25 more voltage now it doesn't spike stays more stable at 1.386 so I guess it needed that extra voltage to not fluctuate so much. Thou I've not really been able to put the system under enough stress in normal use, night and day difference to my old 2500k.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:50 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.