OC3D Forums

OC3D Forums (https://forum.overclock3d.net/index.php)
-   OC3D News (https://forum.overclock3d.net/forumdisplay.php?f=47)
-   -   MSI updates their AM4 lineup to support Raven Ridge (https://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=83265)

WYP 07-02-18 04:32 PM

MSI updates their AM4 lineup to support Raven Ridge
 
Every MSI AM4 motherboard has a bios update for AGESA version 1.1.0.1

https://overclock3d.net/gfx/articles...121547984l.jpg

Read more about MSI's AM4 Raven Ridge supporting BIOS updates.

NeverBackDown 07-02-18 08:18 PM

New CPUs come out in April. So it's nice to see MSI are already on top of it hopefully that means we have good support and no bugs on launch day unlike last launch

WYP 07-02-18 08:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NeverBackDown (Post 970900)
New CPUs come out in April. So it's nice to see MSI are already on top of it hopefully that means we have good support and no bugs on launch day unlike last launch

These updates are for Raven Ridge, which launches next week.

NeverBackDown 07-02-18 08:55 PM

Yeah my bad. I keep getting confused which codename represents which product. So many these days

sheroo 08-02-18 04:59 PM

Is there a way to flash the bios on an AM4 board if the your raven ridge CPU is unsupported by the current bios?

So say you buy a new AM4 board and raven ridge CPU, but the current bios version on the board doesn't support the new CPU, is there an easy way to update the bios if you don't have a supported CPU?

NeverBackDown 08-02-18 05:21 PM

Some boards you can just plug in a USB drive into a specific port and it will flash it. Not all boards have it..

You could go in to a shop and ask them to flash it or borrow a CPU so you can flash it too

Tolemac 09-02-18 07:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sheroo (Post 971039)
Is there a way to flash the bios on an AM4 board if the your raven ridge CPU is unsupported by the current bios?

So say you buy a new AM4 board and raven ridge CPU, but the current bios version on the board doesn't support the new CPU, is there an easy way to update the bios if you don't have a supported CPU?

If I personally was going to buy a new board I would contact the etailer to make sure it came with the latest bios installed :)

sheroo 09-02-18 10:17 PM

I still think it'll catch quite a few people out...

ImprovizoR 09-02-18 11:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NeverBackDown (Post 971042)
Some boards you can just plug in a USB drive into a specific port and it will flash it. Not all boards have it

Which is a travesty in this day and age. That's a feature that should be utilized on all motherboards considering the potential importance of BIOS updates.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:04 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.