OC3D Forums

OC3D Forums (https://forum.overclock3d.net/index.php)
-   Mainboard & CPU (https://forum.overclock3d.net/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Deep Trouble Dead i7???? Please Help!!! (https://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=22950)

SwaleSmith 12-01-09 11:01 PM

Deep Trouble Dead i7???? Please Help!!!
 
Seems I am in the $hit. was doing some tweaking trying to see if I could get my cpu stable with sensible...ish volts temps etc was runnign 1.400vcore & 1.35 qpi/dram volts as I was priming say 2mins in the pc just shut off thought it just failed prime....so attempt restart and the pc seems to start working my LCD status light go's blue saying its got signal but when it seems like its about to post the ROG logo I get a white quick flicker in the right hand side of the screen and thats it.

The Blue light stays on but nothing, looking at the tweaker/bug lcd everything seems normalruns through post checks and so on and finds no errors.

I have tried all the obviouse like turning it of resetting cmos everything you can imagine, tried swapping GFX cards but its still the same....have I destroyed my CPU or something wasn't running any volts that were too much nothing amber or yellow...or red of course:D

One more thing I pulled my Heat sink off (heat sink was mounted properly temps were even and good) fired up the pc with no heatsink and the cpu gets hot fast as it should.....would that happen if it were dead...and surely the m/board would do no post checks liek it does when the cpu is removed if it was dead or is it possible that all this could happen.

Is my M/board playing up or is the CPU fried...or is there some other possibilty????

ps. I extremely doubt this is PSU related its about 7 months old with no history of trouble, and have also tried one stick of ram.

sorry for the long post...

Thanks in advance

monkey7 12-01-09 11:17 PM

"looking at the tweaker/bug lcd everything seems normalruns through post checks and so on and finds no errors." Somehow that makes me think the graphics card just isn't giving any image. Could be a fried southbridge (is that even possible? O.o) or a not so happy card. Do you have a card lying around that was not in the board when it gave up?

FarFarAway 12-01-09 11:20 PM

It's more likely to be a problem with the board or memory than the CPU, not often you get a CPU problem. Taking off the heatsink and firing it up was pretty stupid: that's more likely to fry the CPU than anything else.

Return the mobo first, then go from there.

SwaleSmith 12-01-09 11:22 PM

when I say taking heat sink off I literaly fired it up like 1 second just as I felt it get warm......and to be honest I was convinced it was dead.

tried another card that was not in the system and is exactly the same

VonBlade 12-01-09 11:24 PM

The Intel approved limit is 1.375v so maybe you just got really unlucky and had one that bombs where they said it does, rather than what everyone else tries.

http://processorfinder.intel.com/det...px?sSpec=SLBCH

SwaleSmith 12-01-09 11:43 PM

yeah maybe....would be my luck :(

Quote:

Originally Posted by name='VonBlade'
The Intel approved limit is 1.375v so maybe you just got really unlucky and had one that bombs where they said it does, rather than what everyone else tries.

http://processorfinder.intel.com/det...px?sSpec=SLBCH


rrjwilson 13-01-09 02:22 AM

I think you should do a parts check with normal PC. Check RAM, GPU and all HDDs on DDR3 board then get weiner GPU on to the i7 board and check the CPU and mobo.

If the CPU was fired then it could not do the BIOS (like if there was no CPU) so it must be at least partially functional. If the LCD does go through the usual stuff fine but the display goes out then try switching headers.

SwaleSmith 13-01-09 09:50 AM

After having a sleep over it...

I have come up with the fact that I feel it's CPU due to the following...

1, The board posts and goes through all post checks as normal and dispays the following on my tweakit display, usbfinali, cpucheck, vgabios and so on.

2, The board will enter setup when I press delete and will respond to my commands, for example I press delete ''setupeng'' desplays on tweakit display (as it should) if i press f10 and enter wich would be save changes and exit of course it will restart itself, and if i press the cmos clear button on the rear the pc would normaly stop and request you press f1 to enter bios dispaying the error code ''cmoserror'' when you press f1 it goes to setupeng if i press f5 then enter then f10 than enter it restarts and removes the error all exactly as it should do.

3, It all happened while priming, with now what I know to be too much volts all be it not buy many over but maybe there tempremental or my chip was a little softy.

The m/board doesn't fail on cpu check, but surely this cannot rule out the cpu is knackered maybe it burnt soemthing else on the chip as we knwo the cores are notthe opnly things on the i7.

Gonna go about sorting the problem today will post back my results on the solution tomorrow, I am utterly convinced it's the chip.

SO MY ADVICE TO ANYONE OVERCLOCKING....THE i7 CHIPS CAN AND WILL BE BURNED OUT...BE CAREFULL!!!!!!

HazzyP 13-01-09 10:48 AM

sorry to hear that mate. I know its not the same but wont chips be somewhat similar to car engines? What I mean by that is, when chipping, overboosting (ie overclocking!) cars your best off doing it when the parts are "run in" with a fair few miles on the clock. I know your I7 is obviously only a few weeks old so im thinking maybe it wasnt "run in" enough so responded badly to overclocking?

Just a thought.

JN 13-01-09 01:02 PM

Swale, I have to say I'd be really surprised if it was the CPU. On any system I've ever used if the CPU is faulty (or missing) the system will spin up the fans and nothing more. When I had a faulty CPU on an ASUS board with the LCD thingy it got stuck on CPU_INIT.

No display, yet a semi-successful POST to me would sound like graphics card or maybe even power delivery to the pci-e slots via the motherboard.

If you've not already done so, try a different GPU in a different PCI-E slot. Even try a PCI graphics card if you can get hold of one.

SwaleSmith 13-01-09 03:05 PM

Did try different grpahics in different slot also, still no joy exactly the same.

gonna get another board and cpu and give the board a try if not then I will put in the new cpu, unfortuantley I don't have another psu to try out on, just seems such a coincedence since it happened when priming at high temps with too many volts.

thing is all has been fine since december no complaints at all...then I push the cpu and.....this:(

Plus the board seems to functioning normal...if it was a nvidia based board liek the strikers or 780i I'd say no doubt board but the rampage is all intel based and have ar reputation for being very stable, plus the board was well within limits, as is a pure bread overclocking board.

of course it is still very new tecnology so could be this I sincerly hope it is the board its alot easier/faster warranty side of things, thing is it seems so normal I am convinced its cpu.

too much temp too much heat too many volts, being stressed to the brains with prime,... cpu TM was disabled...I'm sure its cooked

Quote:

Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Swale, I have to say I'd be really surprised if it was the CPU. On any system I've ever used if the CPU is faulty (or missing) the system will spin up the fans and nothing more. When I had a faulty CPU on an ASUS board with the LCD thingy it got stuck on CPU_INIT.

No display, yet a semi-successful POST to me would sound like graphics card or maybe even power delivery to the pci-e slots via the motherboard.

If you've not already done so, try a different GPU in a different PCI-E slot. Even try a PCI graphics card if you can get hold of one.


deathwish 13-01-09 04:56 PM

i would say that the cpu is ok considering what you have said

i would check the power supply hasnt blown

my pc has the same symptoms if the 6pin vga cable is unplugged

SwaleSmith 13-01-09 05:44 PM

dont have a way of proving the psu beyond all doubt I also do have anything to test it with still think its unlikely...have tried swapping wires still the same still find the psu to be unlikely candidate, its a toughpower 1500watt never had a problem with it or anyother I have owned from them this one is not that old or ever been stressed.

its too much of a coincedence this happened when priming and after voltage increases the temps were @ 90c!!! when i was aboiut to stop....but it did that for me :(

can anyone confirm beyond all doubt that if the cpu was damaged in anyway like i think it has, that it woul be possible the m/board would still do post checks go into bios and respond to my commands?

what im thinking is could something else on the i7 blown rather than the cores themselves e.g memory contoller or something/???

°TheMadDutchDude° 13-01-09 06:56 PM

I'm not to skilled with these i7s as I do not own one yet. However if I was you, as you've only had it for a couple of weeks see if they will take the CPU back and offer you a straight swap due to its age I don't think that'll be a problem if you provide them with everything.

That would be the first step, as you said it POSTs etc so your diagnosis I think is correct, sounds to me like the CPU has passed its best by date, although it has had a very short life span!

SwaleSmith 13-01-09 07:12 PM

Ive had it since middle december thought there was some way they could tell its been overclocked a fuse I heard or is that bs

I have had to order a new board and cpu as I cannot have this machine at of action so i am gonna try the board first if not then the cpu, as I should be able to return the board if it turns out that the one I have is fine, if not I will have my answer as the cpu once opened I guess.

One thing if Im really really unlucky and it turns out not to be board or cpu and the cpu box is opened I pressume I'm gonna not be able to return it, unless that was faulty :) would be my luck lol

Quote:

Originally Posted by name='°TheMadDutchDude°'
I'm not to skilled with these i7s as I do not own one yet. However if I was you, as you've only had it for a couple of weeks see if they will take the CPU back and offer you a straight swap due to its age I don't think that'll be a problem if you provide them with everything.

That would be the first step, as you said it POSTs etc so your diagnosis I think is correct, sounds to me like the CPU has passed its best by date, although it has had a very short life span!


FarFarAway 13-01-09 08:44 PM

If the board posts, it's not the CPU

°TheMadDutchDude° 13-01-09 09:01 PM

Mhmm toughy, so Swale you've ordered the new kit then have you?

Hope it is either one or the other, you can sell them off on eBay when you get an RMA of the faulty product! That would be the best plan I think.

SwaleSmith 13-01-09 09:03 PM

so it cannot be the cpu in any shape or form...so zilch, no chance whatsoever ig it was burned out due to overclocking to far or overheating as in at 90c for too long....wait lets say the worst way cpu temp is wrong and it hit T junction max?...rubbing hands excited :)

finger pointing towards board......

FarFarAway 13-01-09 09:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by name='SwaleSmith'
so it cannot be the cpu in any shape or form...so zilch, no chance?...rubbing hands excited :)

Ever tried booting a motherboard with no CPU?

°TheMadDutchDude° 13-01-09 09:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Ever tried booting a motherboard with no CPU?

Nope, but I bet it doesn't like it :p

Good to hear Swale, RMA the board? Hopefully it won't take too long. I've heard cases of Asus taking up to six weeks to return someones Rampage Extreme, that's a tad over the top if you ask me.

monkey7 13-01-09 09:09 PM

Nah I guess the shop warranty is still valid, so that would make for a quicker RMA.

Just try booting without cpu once, see what the x58 chipset does. Maybe it reacts completely different because of the new architecture.

SwaleSmith 13-01-09 09:20 PM

if i boot without chip it does nothing as in no post checks completely zero nothing whatsoever....just displays the bios time on the lcd tweakit display

SwaleSmith 13-01-09 09:22 PM

My plan exactly...just hopeing it is indeed not cpu, so i can return it.

will know tomorrow fingers crossed it is indeed the board....praying:worship:

Quote:

Originally Posted by name='°TheMadDutchDude°'
Mhmm toughy, so Swale you've ordered the new kit then have you?

Hope it is either one or the other, you can sell them off on eBay when you get an RMA of the faulty product! That would be the best plan I think.


SwaleSmith 13-01-09 09:26 PM

so definatley not CPU...I wouldn't think in the slightest it was cpu if it was 775 its just that this bloddy x58 i7 had a feelin it might have been different to lga775

Quote:

Originally Posted by name='°TheMadDutchDude°'
Mhmm toughy, so Swale you've ordered the new kit then have you?

Hope it is either one or the other, you can sell them off on eBay when you get an RMA of the faulty product! That would be the best plan I think.


FarFarAway 13-01-09 09:33 PM

Mate, there's an edit button there for a reason

SwaleSmith 13-01-09 09:50 PM

whoooppss....:)

Quote:

Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Mate, there's an edit button there for a reason


HazzyP 13-01-09 10:22 PM

I dont think its the CPU or the MOBO, I think its the bloody silly case!

SwaleSmith 13-01-09 10:48 PM

the case....how on earth you work that one out....???

is that a joke??

monkey7 13-01-09 10:49 PM

Well yes it was meant to be one ;) I don't really think your rig can be affected by the case in any way... Well except when you have an ungrounded case ofc.

SwaleSmith 13-01-09 10:51 PM

thought that but he seemed so serious lol

Quote:

Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
Well yes it was meant to be one ;) I don't really think your rig can be affected by the case in any way... Well except when you have an ungrounded case ofc.


Bungral 13-01-09 11:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Swale, I have to say I'd be really surprised if it was the CPU. On any system I've ever used if the CPU is faulty (or missing) the system will spin up the fans and nothing more. When I had a faulty CPU on an ASUS board with the LCD thingy it got stuck on CPU_INIT.

No display, yet a semi-successful POST to me would sound like graphics card or maybe even power delivery to the pci-e slots via the motherboard.

If you've not already done so, try a different GPU in a different PCI-E slot. Even try a PCI graphics card if you can get hold of one.

Agreed... From my experience, if the CPU is dead, then you aint gonna get any action out of it. No post in the background or reaction to anything you do. I would just do nothing but spin up fans for a split second and die.

SwaleSmith 14-01-09 06:29 PM

Well I've found the solution.....youi aint gonna beelive what it was........

no wait.....first person to guess will get a round of applause LOL nobody will guess...heres some hints its not gfx cpu m/board or psu

monkey7 14-01-09 06:31 PM

Souns like you've solved it.

What's left... Screen?

Pyr0 14-01-09 06:34 PM

mem?

zak4994 14-01-09 06:39 PM

lol

Maybe it was because of your HDD.

Or maybe it was because you forgot to put the VGA/DVI port in properly!!

monkey7 14-01-09 06:47 PM

Hmm yeah HDD is possible too. But that would make it display the POST and then give an error.

MrCaffeLatte 14-01-09 07:48 PM

CD-Drive!?

SwaleSmith 14-01-09 07:55 PM

ding ding ding ding correct answer....the f ing screen was the culprit!!!!

its blown???!!!

Quote:

Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
Souns like you've solved it.

What's left... Screen?


monkey7 14-01-09 08:06 PM

Yay :D What did I win, your shot at the Arora rig? :D j/k ofc. I know you wouldn't give that away :p

Stupid stupid though xD Replacing parts for two days only to find out the screen bugged out.

What are you going to replace it with?

HazzyP 14-01-09 08:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by name='SwaleSmith'
the case....how on earth you work that one out....???

is that a joke??

yeah it was a joke mate! We have covered all the other bases so there was only that left to blame!


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:22 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.