OC3D Forums

OC3D Forums (https://forum.overclock3d.net/index.php)
-   Networks & Security (https://forum.overclock3d.net/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   Real Time Network Monitoring ? (https://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=96446)

Dicehunter 08-03-21 03:48 PM

Real Time Network Monitoring ?
 
Just curious if anyone knows if it's possible to monitor the real time upload/download of a network using software, My ISP is EE but the actual router doesn't have this function built in, Could I monitor the IP of devices connected to the network through some 3rd party program ?

I had a look around google but all I got was some dodgy looking links to software I've never heard of that want hundreds of .

NeverBackDown 08-03-21 08:11 PM

Not sure if you are allowed to but you could always try flashing the router for dd-wrt, tomato, or openWrt as they are free. Have to check compatibility list I believe.

Otherwise the only free tools(even paid I think) will let you monitor just your device. I don't think you can monitor all router traffic/bandwidth from your PC. You'd probably have to have something like a dedicated network OS that's handling everything with the router such as pfsense.

Could be wrong I never delved into Networking as much as other areas of IT...

hmmblah 08-03-21 08:46 PM

Does the router belong to EE or to you? Easiest thing to do would be to get a router that supports this. Ubiquiti is a great choice and will give all sorts of stats on the connection with very little set up or playing around with things. Mikrotik does this too. Most home routers I've dealt with in the $150+ range have some kind of built-in stats. I mostly stick to ASUS and Ubiquiti now.

If you can log into your current router that doesn't support this, does it support sending logs to a syslog server?

tgrech 08-03-21 09:08 PM

There's an app called Fing that shows you all the devices connected to your WiFi network and their IP addresses if you just need that aspect (And has a list of state changes, IE connect/disconnect/ect)

looz 09-03-21 01:28 AM

I'd configure your router to function in bridge mode, and buy an ubiquiti edgerouter for your network. Though that also requires a separate access point for wifi.

NeverBackDown 09-03-21 01:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hmmblah (Post 1032102)
Does the router belong to EE or to you? Easiest thing to do would be to get a router that supports this. Ubiquiti is a great choice and will give all sorts of stats on the connection with very little set up or playing around with things. Mikrotik does this too. Most home routers I've dealt with in the $150+ range have some kind of built-in stats. I mostly stick to ASUS and Ubiquiti now.

If you can log into your current router that doesn't support this, does it support sending logs to a syslog server?

Ya most newer routers I have seen have some sort of UI interface for built in stats/configuration. I use Asus personally. Has the benefit of Merlin firmware support which is pretty neat.

As suggested though Dice a few options but they will require money. But you love to buy new things LOL :D^_^


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.