OC3D Forums

OC3D Forums (https://forum.overclock3d.net/index.php)
-   Memory (https://forum.overclock3d.net/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Odd ram behaviour (https://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=91379)

Dicehunter 13-01-19 11:45 AM

Odd ram behaviour
 
So I've been running my Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro at it's rated speed of 3200MHz happily for a number of weeks in my 2700X system, Turn on the rig today and for some reason after 20 minutes of answering emails my system freezes, I turn the power off, Boot it back up, Go into the bios, Redo the settings and for some reason it will not go past the boot screen now.

So I tried lowering the speed down to 3000MHz, That worked for 5 minutes and then it happened again.

Now I've flashed back to a much earlier bios, Lowered the speed to 3000MHz from its rated 3200MHz and it's been stable for hours, It's really odd that it would be stable on a specific bios for weeks and then all of a sudden become unstable.

I haven't a clue what's going on, Any insight would be appreciated.

EDIT

Flashed back to the bios I was using earlier and 3000MHz is completely stable but the rated 3200MHz I was running for weeks refuses to stick, Very weird.

RobM 13-01-19 01:01 PM

looser timings?

Excalabur50 13-01-19 09:02 PM

Interesting Dice I can't get my 1700x to run 32gig of 3200 ram either it was blue screening but it's running quite happily with 16 3200 I wonder if it's Windows 1809

looz 14-01-19 01:33 AM

Nah, hardware problems aren't down to your OS, especially when it's about ram which has no drivers.

Warchild 14-01-19 07:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by looz (Post 999717)
Nah, hardware problems aren't down to your OS, especially when it's about ram which has no drivers.

Thats incorrect. A recent update from windows prevented many users stable CPU overclocks. Removing the update returned stability to many people.

Dicehunter 14-01-19 08:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Excalabur50 (Post 999710)
Interesting Dice I can't get my 1700x to run 32gig of 3200 ram either it was blue screening but it's running quite happily with 16 3200 I wonder if it's Windows 1809

I installed the 3200MHz memory just after 1809 landed and it sat happily at 3200 for a good few weeks and all of a sudden it simply doesn't work at anything over 3000MHz, It's not that it won't boot into Windows, It won't even make it to the bios screen.

Maybe running it at 3200MHz was just a fluke :confused:

Dawelio 14-01-19 08:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dicehunter (Post 999727)
It's not that it won't boot into Windows, It won't even make it to the bios screen.

What do you do then at that point?...

Dicehunter 14-01-19 08:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dawelio (Post 999728)
What do you do then at that point?...


Hold the power button down, Power off and it then reboots with default settings.

tinytomlogan 14-01-19 08:49 AM

Have you manually set the SOC voltage?

Dicehunter 14-01-19 09:25 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tinytomlogan (Post 999730)
Have you manually set the SOC voltage?


Nope, Didn't know I should've to be honest, Worth fiddling around with ?


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:55 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.