OC3D Forums

OC3D Forums (https://forum.overclock3d.net/index.php)
-   Games (https://forum.overclock3d.net/forumdisplay.php?f=35)
-   -   Star Citizen Thread (https://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=57085)

barnsley 23-09-13 11:22 AM

Star Citizen Thread
 



Star Citizen is one of my most anticipated games ever so I thought I would make a thread about it in which people who want to can discuss it, keep others updated on the progress and show of our ships and talk about the game's performance on our rigs.

Various bits of information:

probable release schedule (likely to change):
  • Hanger module- released
  • Dogfighting mode (aka pvp flying)-sometime 2014
  • Social/planetside module-summer 2014
  • FPS/Ship boarding module- summer/winter2014
  • Singleplayer Alpha/Squadron 42- ~2014
  • Persistent universe- End of 2014
  • Full release- mid 2015
approximate specs (feel free to debate/add):

bare minimum- i3 3225/fx4300, 7770/650ti, 4gb RAM, 25gb space,DX11,win 7 64
halfway house- fx 6300/i5 2500, 7870 xt/660ti,8gb RAM,25gb space,DX11,win 7 64
recommended- i5 3570k OC/fx8350 OC,7970/770,16gb RAM,25gb space,DX11,win 7 64

The fleet:
barnsley- Origin 315p, Aurora MR
conchubair- Aurora
Cru- Origin 325a,Aegis Dynamics Avenger, F7C-M Super Hornet
Dark NighT- Dynamics Avenger, Aurora LX
Devvo234- Aurora LN, Freelancer
MrKambo- Hornet Ghost
SeekaX- Origin 325a


The OC3D casual fleet is live!
Join here: https://robertsspaceindustries.com/orgs/OC3D

Devo234 24-09-13 02:24 AM

im really looking forward to this game. i pledged a few nights ago with the digital mercenary pack so ive got the aurora MR.
i quite like the idea of an OC3D star fleet. it'd be good to have a community all set up and ready by release time.

What ship have you got?

EDIT:
come on peeps there must be more than 2 people interested in this game :)

barnsley 30-09-13 11:35 AM

Oh there is, I just created the post when not many people were online.

I have an origin 315p Explorer as I'm planning to explore and find one of the corvettes that spawn damaged and can be claimed/rebuilt by anyone (I'd rather spend hours looking for one then buying one when you could, I believe it was $2.5k). I was going to get the constellation but I didn't buy one in time :(. Ideally I'll get a starfarer in game but I'm pretty sure it'll be very expensive.

The fleet would be nice :D, We'd defiantly not be the size of shacktack's fleet which has a stupid number of ships

MrKambo 30-09-13 12:05 PM

Im actually uber interested in this, but i havent finshed building the new rig so cant really get into it yet, got my eye set on the 325a fighter!

barnsley 30-09-13 12:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrKambo (Post 689928)
Im actually uber interested in this, but i havent finshed building the new rig so cant really get into it yet, got my eye set on the 325a fighter!

I'm looking at getting a 780/R9 290x in preparation for the game. If the hanger module is anything to go by, a 770 will max it out graphically (seekaX said he had it maxed out at 100fps and by making a few deductions due to the closed environment I'd hazard a guess that in normal play the game will average 60fps in high/very high settings). Ram appears to be this game's favorite food and as I said you'll need a lot of it to make the game run best.

MrKambo 30-09-13 12:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by barnsley (Post 689931)
I'm looking at getting a 780/R9 290x in preparation for the game. If the hanger module is anything to go by, a 770 will max it out graphically (seekaX said he had it maxed out at 100fps and by making a few deductions due to the closed environment I'd hazard a guess that in normal play the game will average 60fps in high/very high settings). Ram appears to be this game's favorite food and as I said you'll need a lot of it to make the game run best.

yeah im waiting on a GPU, i could get a 780 today, but if the 290X turns out to be awesome ill be ed! so choosing to wait and be sensible for once in my life :lol: i wouldn't even bother trying this on the Intel 4600 gpu it'll cry

barnsley 30-09-13 12:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrKambo (Post 689932)
yeah im waiting on a GPU, i could get a 780 today, but if the 290X turns out to be awesome ill be ed! so choosing to wait and be sensible for once in my life :lol: i wouldn't even bother trying this on the Intel 4600 gpu it'll cry

If you run it on the 4600 you might as well get some images and run it via powerpoint ;D.

I'm going to wait and see if they announce a partnership with either AMD or Nvidia (I'm not in any real rush to upgrade at the moment, despite my 7870 being a pain...). I originally thought they were working with Nvidia but after they showed footage at the recent AMD gpu announcement I'm not so sure...

MrKambo 30-09-13 12:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by barnsley (Post 689936)
If you run it on the 4600 you might as well get some images and run it via powerpoint ;D.

I'm going to wait and see if they announce a partnership with either AMD or Nvidia (I'm not in any real rush to upgrade at the moment, despite my 7870 being a pain...). I originally thought they were working with Nvidia but after they showed footage at the recent AMD gpu announcement I'm not so sure...

yeah i watched that, got a feeling AMD have this one

barnsley 30-09-13 12:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrKambo (Post 689937)
yeah i watched that, got a feeling AMD have this one

They'll probably want to keep it quiet the RSI use 690s and 680s almost exclusively... I agree though, it does seem like something AMD would work with. The only real partner I've noticed that RSi have is alienware :confused: due to the various giveaways they did after the successful kickstarter.

SuB 30-09-13 12:36 PM

I know this is a Ram hungry game.. but how does it bypass the address space limit (present even in 64 bit windows) ? This came up as a thing for Arma 3 a bit back and I still haven't quite wrapped my head around how they do it?

As far as I'm aware, even in 64Bit windows there's a memory cap in place for compatibility, is this strictly only for 32Bit applications or is it for both?


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:14 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.