OC3D Forums

OC3D Forums (https://forum.overclock3d.net/index.php)
-   Mainboard & CPU (https://forum.overclock3d.net/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Random x99 restarts issue (https://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=69158)

NIRampage 21-01-15 07:49 PM

Random x99 restarts issue
 
In Nov I upgraded from my 3770k to the new Asus Rampage V Extreme x99. I delyed the build until start of Dec so i could have time making sure everything was correct. Everything worked fine as far as I could see after installing os and putting parts in case.

For the past few weeks it has been restarting for no reason at random times while using it. This kept doing this until the past week or two when after a random restart it would boot up again then maybe after a few minutes it would shutdown but wouldn't turn back on again unless I turned the power off at the wall socket until the lights went off on the motherboard and only then it will turn back on again. In the past few days, its getting worst. Now finding it even hard to turn on. Since the mothetboard has another BIOS, I switch to that one and still it continue playing up as above. The light on my Corsair h100 would flash on for a sec then turn off. Now from the day writing this, the computer won't turn on any more.

I have tried so far:
- Switching BIOS since the motherboard comes with two
- Only having one stick of RAM installed switching between the 4 sticks of RAM
- Making sure all cables are correctly connected
- All drivers & BIOS up to date
- Removed CPU to check pins and no broken or bent pins found
- Fresh install of Windows 8.1 x64 Pro

Computer Spec
CPU: Intel Core i7 5960x
Motherboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
RAM: 16GB Corsair Dominator 3000mhz
PSU: Corsair AX 860W
CPU Cooler: Corsair h100 with Noctua NF-F12 x2
GPU: Asus 7970 Directcu ii top
Hard drives: Samsung Pro 120gb ssd as boot drive & Samsung 1tb for storage
Case: Antec P280
Monitor: Iiyama Prolite E2273HDS 22 inch x2
Fans: Noctua NF-F12 x3
OS: Windows 8.1 x64 Pro

I am more or less thinking its a motherboard issue. Any idea's what I could check?

barnsley 21-01-15 07:52 PM

change your PSU with a known working one?

NIRampage 21-01-15 08:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by barnsley (Post 821114)
change your PSU with a known working one?

Thanks for the reply. One thing that I forgot to say in my first post was that the only parts that were new to this x99 build was the CPU, RAM & motherboard. The other parts was used in my z77 build. The PSU was working since I purchased it in May 2014. All my friends uses MAC's so will have just bite the bullet and my another PSU.

NIRampage 23-01-15 09:28 PM

I think you are right about its the power supply barnsley. I have tested it in my media centre and it will not even boot. I can't test the media centre power supply on my desktop because it does not have enough power since it is only 460W Seasonic Fanless Gold.

I will get onto scan to see what they say and if they will take it back or do I have to send it back to Corsair instead.

JR23 23-01-15 09:37 PM

I would recommend taking it up with Corsair rather than Scan, i've found their RMA service is much better. If being without the PSU is a problem then request an advanced RMA and they'll get you a replacement in a matter of days. PM Greybeard your ticket number and he'll accelerate things for you ;) - Submit a ticket at corsair.force.com

JR

NIRampage 02-02-15 01:36 PM

Thanks for the reply JR23, I have spoken to Corsair now and they are happy to accept my RMA for the power unit. It is already on route to me :-)


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:34 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.