OC3D Forums

OC3D Forums (https://forum.overclock3d.net/index.php)
-   Asus UK Customer Care Forums (https://forum.overclock3d.net/forumdisplay.php?f=132)
-   -   STRIX X470-I GAMING not supporting 3800x? (now 2700x wont work either) (https://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=92937)

b33rd0g 28-08-19 03:37 PM

STRIX X470-I GAMING not supporting 3800x? (now 2700x wont work either)
 
for the record ive built maybe 12 computers and replaced cpu almost as many times, im confident i havent done anything wrong

so i got my 3800x and installed it on my STRIX X470-I GAMING (bios 2703)
and it simply wont boot. the top right LED on the mobo is red. manual indicates cpu error. took out the cpu and put it in again. same result. and again. same result.

the only conclusion i could think of was that the 3800x wasnt supported yet, after all it was available quite a lot more recently than the other 2.

so i plugged in the 2700x. it wont boot either. this time the top right led is orange. orange isnt mentioned in the manual as far as i can see. took it out and in again, same result. decided to do the cmos clearing with the screwdriver shortcutting those 2 pins, as described in the manual. same result.

now im kind of stuck here. any idea what to do?

typing this from a crappy old laptop

thanks




PS the official asus forums are a nightmare to sign up for

Dawelio 28-08-19 04:26 PM

You need to update the BIOS to newer version to support Ryzen 3rd gen. You need to do this with an older Ryzen CPU. If it doesn’t work, then maybe either the CPU(s) are/have gone bad or the mobo. Look up what the error light indicates.

b33rd0g 28-08-19 04:31 PM

its already the latest bios, 2703, its supported ryzen 3 since 23xx something. as i said it wont boot the older ryzen either. wont even go to POST

i cant find anything about thte orange LED

Dawelio 28-08-19 05:44 PM

Now someone with more knowledge, please correct me if I’m wrong here, since I’ve never encountered this myself... But if it doesn’t even go to POST and none of the CPUs now work, can’t the motherboard be bricked?

NeverBackDown 28-08-19 05:45 PM

Can you roll back to a BIOS you know works?

b33rd0g 28-08-19 05:54 PM

i dont get as far as seeing if the bios even works. when i power on the monitor wakes up then quickly shuts down saying somrthing like 'no signal received blah blah' (yes its plugged in correctly)
it doesent receive any data at all it seems, just the initial power on signal

b33rd0g 28-08-19 05:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dawelio (Post 1010252)
Now someone with more knowledge, please correct me if I’m wrong here, since I’ve never encountered this myself... But if it doesn’t even go to POST and none of the CPUs now work, can’t the motherboard be bricked?

im worried ur right. i just dont know how thats possible. ive done this many times before and i even wore disposable glowes to be on the safe side

b33rd0g 28-08-19 06:01 PM

anyone know where the battery is on this thing?

RobM 28-08-19 06:13 PM

You did plug the cpu power back into the top?

b33rd0g 28-08-19 06:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RobM (Post 1010257)
You did plug the cpu power back into the top?

yes i did

RobM 28-08-19 06:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by b33rd0g (Post 1010256)
anyone know where the battery is on this thing?

Battery should be stuck to the back of network block just below the heatsink

NeverBackDown 28-08-19 06:28 PM

Try booting with one stick of memory in each slot then after try the same thing with the other stick of memory.

A faulty memory module can prevent boot up.

b33rd0g 28-08-19 06:42 PM

i guess i have to order a x570 mobo and hope on of the cpus work

b33rd0g 28-08-19 06:43 PM

i found the battery and removed it but to no avail.
what are the odds that a ram stick should go faulty just at that moment i switch cpu

RobM 28-08-19 08:24 PM

does that board have a bios flashback option?

Eddie long 28-08-19 10:19 PM

i'm no expert but i seem to remember something about when you flash the bios you had to do it with you older series chip installed , rather than you having your new one in , don't know if that makes a difference

b33rd0g 29-08-19 08:45 AM

yes i flashed it 3-4 days ago with the old cpu. all was working until i swapped cpus yesterday


theres no flashback option i believe

tolagarf 30-08-19 07:53 AM

Looks to me like a corrupt BIOS unfortunately

b33rd0g 31-08-19 05:13 PM

the bios was working fine with the 2700x


in any case got myself a rog crosshair viii impact (x570) and all is working fine, so there was nothing wrong with cpu and ram. it has a bios flashback thing as well

solus (linux) even booted right away as if nothing had happened
not so optimistic about booting win10 maybe later tonight


im also pleased that the chipset fans are inaudible, i havent heard them yet anyway but looks like they are spinning (havent looked closely)



thanks for all help/input

hmmblah 31-08-19 09:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by b33rd0g (Post 1010354)
the bios was working fine with the 2700x


in any case got myself a rog crosshair viii impact (x570) and all is working fine, so there was nothing wrong with cpu and ram. it has a bios flashback thing as well

solus (linux) even booted right away as if nothing had happened
not so optimistic about booting win10 maybe later tonight


im also pleased that the chipset fans are inaudible, i havent heard them yet anyway but looks like they are spinning (havent looked closely)



thanks for all help/input

The mini-dtx board? Where’d you get that?

b33rd0g 01-09-19 07:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hmmblah (Post 1010371)
The mini-dtx board? Where’d you get that?

yes the mini-dtx
it was pretty much the only one in stock that was of a suitable size for my case in my country, which is norway. got it at proshop.no

hmmblah 01-09-19 03:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by b33rd0g (Post 1010378)
yes the mini-dtx
it was pretty much the only one in stock that was of a suitable size for my case in my country, which is norway. got it at proshop.no

Lucky! It's not out in the US yet. What do you think of it so far?

Dawelio 01-09-19 04:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hmmblah (Post 1010384)
Lucky! It's not out in the US yet. What do you think of it so far?


Bit off topic here, but may I ask what you think of your own 2080 Super and if you may have experienced any sound related issues while using it?...

b33rd0g 01-09-19 05:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hmmblah (Post 1010384)
Lucky! It's not out in the US yet. What do you think of it so far?

yeah i think it more or less came straight from factory because the pre installed bios was just 2 weeks old or so.


as for what i think of it, im not a hardcore overclocker or anything, the only thing i did was to up the ram speed to 3200, switch off some LEDs and minor things, so i cant say much about that. i left the cpu stuff as it was.but it works, is silent and seems to stay cool. not sure what to think of that so-dimm thing or what its called, that sticks out like a tongue. if i didnt stick 2 small rubber pads on the bottom of it it would rest on the gpu backplate. it looks odd. not sure its a design that will stay. but the m.2 (thats installed on the so-dimm, and is not one of those hyperfast new ones) works and was 30C the one time i checked.



the 3800x seems to peak at around 4.5 ghz one core, all cores are running at 4.25-4.3 ghz when stressing all cores

b33rd0g 01-09-19 07:33 PM

btw which temp is the correct cpu temp? i guess 2 is out and 1 is the one that looks most like my old 2700x, BUT, cpu fan speed and cpu fan noise indicates number 4 is correct, its all more silent than the 2700x, even though ive set the aio fans identically. these are tremps from a short death of the outsider session


https://i.imgur.com/LA4ZsIe.png

AlienALX 01-09-19 08:29 PM

I always go by the hottest, which is usually CPUTIN or something.

hmmblah 01-09-19 09:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dawelio (Post 1010385)
Bit off topic here, but may I ask what you think of your own 2080 Super and if you may have experienced any sound related issues while using it?...

It's surprisingly smaller than my 1080 FTW, but it's loud. Hopefully I'll have it under water before too long. I haven't experienced any sound issues and I use the onboard sound from the motherboard.

Quote:

Originally Posted by b33rd0g (Post 1010386)
yeah i think it more or less came straight from factory because the pre installed bios was just 2 weeks old or so.


as for what i think of it, im not a hardcore overclocker or anything, the only thing i did was to up the ram speed to 3200, switch off some LEDs and minor things, so i cant say much about that. i left the cpu stuff as it was.but it works, is silent and seems to stay cool. not sure what to think of that so-dimm thing or what its called, that sticks out like a tongue. if i didnt stick 2 small rubber pads on the bottom of it it would rest on the gpu backplate. it looks odd. not sure its a design that will stay. but the m.2 (thats installed on the so-dimm, and is not one of those hyperfast new ones) works and was 30C the one time i checked.



the 3800x seems to peak at around 4.5 ghz one core, all cores are running at 4.25-4.3 ghz when stressing all cores

The board will sit horizontal in my case I shouldn't have to worry about the so-dimm card being obvious. My only concern is if it will interfere with water cooling the GPU and clearance on the rad in the roof of my case. I haven't measured anything yet. I did purchase the Gigabyte PCIe 4 m.2 so hopefully temps won't be too bad. I'd assume they would have done some testing with that...hopefully...

b33rd0g 02-09-19 07:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hmmblah (Post 1010392)
. I did purchase the Gigabyte PCIe 4 m.2 so hopefully temps won't be too bad. I'd assume they would have done some testing with that...hopefully...


is that the copper coloured arous one? is the idea to remove the heatsink from the m2, im not sure it will fit inside the so-dimm. or ditch the so-dimm lid, which i guess is also a heatsink ?


edit: added a photo that shows the so-dimm
https://i.imgur.com/coTLa9R.jpg

hmmblah 02-09-19 02:51 PM

Yeah that’s the one. I’ll probably remove the heatsink from the m.2 drive. That so dimm card is way smaller than I was expecting.

b33rd0g 02-09-19 03:02 PM

its the msi 2070 armour thats huge :)


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:50 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.