OC3D Forums

OC3D Forums (https://forum.overclock3d.net/index.php)
-   Cooling - Other (https://forum.overclock3d.net/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   Fancontroller (https://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=59253)

Ghost-Script 29-12-13 01:11 PM

Fancontroller
 
Hi Guys and Girl`s

I am in the work on a 900D Build whit 2 480mm and 1 240mm Rad, so whit all the fans togehter i am up to about 14 fans, i would like to avoid Corsair Link, i own it but i crashes all the time, and i would like to have a clean look so if could avoid a fancontroller, but insted use Fan expert2 to run all my fans.
( 13 SP120mm 1 AF140mm )

i Was wondering if i could use 2 of them.
http://www.swiftech.org/images/produ...R-SATAx600.jpg
http://www.performance-pcs.com/catal...ducts_id=38706

Love to hear from you.
Sorry about Spelling

Remmy 29-12-13 01:16 PM

I have little experience with fan controlling software so I couldn't say much about that, but if you did have to go down the actual fan controller route then you'll be able to use a handful of 3 pin splitters without a problem. I have 11 SP/AF fans running off a 6 channel fan controller, and I'm sure it could handle a few more.

tinytomlogan 29-12-13 01:26 PM

1x 3pin to 6 x 3pin - I use two of these in orca with a single fan reducer on one end that is then connected to a 12v molex

http://www.aquatuning.co.uk/product_...----black.html

Remmy 29-12-13 01:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tinytomlogan (Post 714423)
1x 3pin to 6 x 3pin - I use two of these in orca with a single fan reducer on one end that is then connected to a 12v molex

http://www.aquatuning.co.uk/product_...----black.html

When I tried running three SP120 QEs through splitters all on one Corsair fan speed reducer to 12V molex, the resistor got really hot, so instead I put a reducer on each fan before going to the splitters and then they didn't get so hot.

Does it not do this with yours? Especially with 6 attached through one of them as well

tinytomlogan 29-12-13 01:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Remmy (Post 714427)
When I tried running three SP120 QEs through splitters all on one Corsair fan speed reducer to 12V molex, the resistor got really hot, so instead I put a reducer on each fan before going to the splitters and then they didn't get so hot.

Does it not do this with yours? Especially with 6 attached through one of them as well

Yeah you can feel the warm patches on the side panel - but they have been fine right through the summer etc and still work fine. They are ceramic after all so designed to get hot.

I did it this way to make it easier to keep tidy.

mehere 29-12-13 04:06 PM

you could mod the molex to give you 7v

Remmy 29-12-13 04:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mehere (Post 714516)
you could mod the molex to give you 7v

Sticking the supplied fan speed reducers from Corsair on the fans before connecting it to the molex will essentially reduce it to about 7V anyway :)

mehere 29-12-13 05:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Remmy (Post 714521)
Sticking the supplied fan speed reducers from Corsair on the fans before connecting it to the molex will essentially reduce it to about 7V anyway :)

true I was just thinking of getting away from the reducers and the possible hot spot

tinytomlogan 29-12-13 06:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mehere (Post 714562)
true I was just thinking of getting away from the reducers and the possible hot spot

Its not hot enough to harm, just you know its hot lol.

Modding a molex isnt a bad idea but depends on the connections and the cable. Most will find it easier to smash a reducer in and forget about it.

Remmy 29-12-13 07:14 PM

Not sure why I've only just thought of doing this now, but if you had fans which happily run at 5V, then you could just swap the red (5V) and yellow (12V) pins on the molex power, and then you have an automatic 5V fan power supply, without the need for any resistors, or any other external things. I do not know if the number of fans you could power would be limited because I don't know if the 5V line provides too small a current (it may even be rated the same as the 12V line, it's something I'll look into), but this is something I'd love to investigate when I get a digital multimeter :) Anyway when (if) I do get one, I'll be sure to post my findings for everyone on here :)


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:20 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.