OC3D Forums

OC3D Forums (https://forum.overclock3d.net/index.php)
-   Screens and Displays (https://forum.overclock3d.net/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   3070 + lg gx oled + cable hdmi 2.1 (https://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=96851)

FTLN 23-05-21 08:13 AM

3070 + lg gx oled + cable hdmi 2.1
 
Morning All, been a busy few months for me moving apartment.

Anyway, all settled in now and to treat myself I bought myself a 65" LG GX OLED which is MEGA !!

I got a couple of 10m HDMI 2.1 cable but no matter what I play I get audio cut outs whilst playing on the LG OLED and even though 3840x2160x120hz appears in the display settings of windows and NVidia control panel whenever I select it it falls back to 3840x2160x60hz, Gsync is enabled in the NVidia control panel (tried disabling Gysnc but still same issue).



Has anybody got any experience with playing 4K high refresh rate with Gsync (VRR) ?

Maybe somebody can advise me on a HDMI 2.1 cable to buy that is 100% guaranteed to work with my Nvidia 3070?

Have a nice Sunday :)

scubasteve 23-05-21 08:40 AM

nice tv that just got my LG oled as well and trying to sort out the settings its also getting me a bit baffed, but from what i understand is that 3840x2160x120hz automatically pops up when you go in game mode and drops back to 60hz when you viewing tv/movies
well that is what i have observed so far im pretty sure i having got the settings all figured out only got it a couple days ago



also on my second monitor the tasks bar is not right the tabs are soooo long lol - 4 tabs open takes up the whole task bar :wacko:

NeverBackDown 23-05-21 09:01 AM

Is your input on the TV using a PC input? Pretty sure they require that for PC to work properly. Consoles just need game mode I believe.

KingNosser 23-05-21 09:27 AM

I've experienced this issue with audio on TV's your picture will be fine but your audio will constantly drop out, the reason is the PC audio is a different type to a tv audio and it's a higher freaquency or bandwidth so the hdmi cable cant handle the signal.

Invest in a Firestick 4k and install steam link onto it or buy a steamlink and that way when it passes through the software it will send the correct signal to the TV and if your TV is arc then it will go into the surround sound correctly, it's the only work around i've found for the issue unless you output the sound directly to an audio set up and just send the picture to the TV, the steamlink is a very handy solution to that issue and you can use it across all launchers as steam link just displays and sends audio it's not limited to steam alone.

As for the gsync issue or resolution i'm less sure it depends on the TV but the steam link would solve that as well, the firestick works really well and far better if though your router, if wifi 5ghz is best.

WYP 23-05-21 09:48 AM

Long HDMI cables can be very temperamental, and sadly HDMI cable listing love to lie about things.

I had similar problems with HDMI 2.0 a few years back with some long cables. Does 4K 120Hz work with shorter cables?

scubasteve 23-05-21 09:56 AM

no problem with audio my end if you have that try swapping out hdmi for another just for a test is does not even have to be a 4k one, even the hdmi port on the tv only just to be able to tick them of the list since it would take 2 min



pull the system closer obviously and try that see what happens

FTLN 23-05-21 09:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by scubasteve (Post 1033616)
nice tv that just got my LG oled as well and trying to sort out the settings its also getting me a bit baffed, but from what i understand is that 3840x2160x120hz automatically pops up when you go in game mode and drops back to 60hz when you viewing tv/movies
well that is what i have observed so far im pretty sure i having got the settings all figured out only got it a couple days ago



also on my second monitor the tasks bar is not right the tabs are soooo long lol - 4 tabs open takes up the whole task bar :wacko:

Saw your post, hoping you would chime in :) Let me know your findings as you settle in with it..

Quote:

Originally Posted by KingNosser (Post 1033618)
IAs for the gsync issue or resolution i'm less sure it depends on the TV but the steam link would solve that as well, the firestick works really well and far better if though your router, if wifi 5ghz is best.

Sucks to buy a Steam Link, I already got the latest Nvidia Shield and game streaming sucks, to much lag. Shouldnt HDMI 2.1 have enough bandwidth ? Is there maybe a way to send correct audio format ?

Quote:

Originally Posted by NeverBackDown (Post 1033617)
Is your input on the TV using a PC input? Pretty sure they require that for PC to work properly. Consoles just need game mode I believe.

No PC input on these models, You can change the name of the source to PC but thats just esthetic. Game mode on the tv comes on when I start a game, so games are getting detected and play great, just the god damb sound cutting in and out all the time which is horrid :(

scubasteve 23-05-21 10:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by WYP (Post 1033619)
Long HDMI cables can be very temperamental, and sadly HDMI cable listing love to lie about things.


this is the exact reason instead of getting mine online even tho i do have 2-3 extra different ones at home, i went to local shop made sure to as if they were true 4-8k and advertised on the box just so i can return them quick and easy if they didn't do what they said

NeverBackDown 23-05-21 05:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FTLN (Post 1033621)
No PC input on these models, You can change the name of the source to PC but thats just esthetic. Game mode on the tv comes on when I start a game, so games are getting detected and play great, just the god damb sound cutting in and out all the time which is horrid :(

Like most modern TVs and including all LG OLED ones, PC input allows proper 4:4:4 chroma subsampling and lower input lag. For this tv in particular you need it labeled as PC in order to get proper 4:4:4 at 4k 120hz and any resolution at 60hz when connected to a PC.

You just likely need to reapply settings as it changes back to defaults in PC mode. It is not just an aesthetic change.

The GX is basically a CX. They offer only different screen sizes afaik. Everything else is equal. So any information for the CX can be applied to the GX if you can't find something for GX. CX is just more popular so usually easier to find information for that.

FTLN 23-05-21 10:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NeverBackDown (Post 1033626)
Like most modern TVs and including all LG OLED ones, PC input allows proper 4:4:4 chroma subsampling and lower input lag. For this tv in particular you need it labeled as PC in order to get proper 4:4:4 at 4k 120hz and any resolution at 60hz when connected to a PC.

You just likely need to reapply settings as it changes back to defaults in PC mode. It is not just an aesthetic change.

The GX is basically a CX. They offer only different screen sizes afaik. Everything else is equal. So any information for the CX can be applied to the GX if you can't find something for GX. CX is just more popular so usually easier to find information for that.

Don't understand why you say I need to rename it the HDMI input to "PC" , this is definitely just for convenience purposes and has no impact on how the handshake occurs between devices, unless you have a link with some evidence to back this up? I also just tried this and it makes no difference.

One thing I noticed is that all the supported resolutions are there in the nvidia control panel, its just when I select the 4K 120hz I get black screen for a few seconds and then it falls back to 4k 60hz.

Also, when the OLED detects the PC I get a popup asking to enable HDMI ultra bandwidth on the input where PC is connected, whenever I enable this I just get black screen, have to restart PC and OLED.

Requested a return to amazon for both cables and have ordered another https://www.cablematters.com/pc-1329...mi-cable.aspx# this one seems to be active with usb connecter for additional powerand the Cable Matters website seems to have to pretty good explications about HDMI 2.1 and how to use with RTX cards.

Quote:

Originally Posted by scubasteve (Post 1033622)
this is the exact reason instead of getting mine online even tho i do have 2-3 extra different ones at home, i went to local shop made sure to as if they were true 4-8k and advertised on the box just so i can return then quick and easy if they didn't do what they said

If the third cable from Amazon fails, then I will go to the AV shop where I got the TV and buy one of their cables, but they want 450 euros for a 8 meter length and it isn't even certified.


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:05 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.