OC3D Forums

OC3D Forums (https://forum.overclock3d.net/index.php)
-   Mainboard & CPU (https://forum.overclock3d.net/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Deep Trouble Dead i7???? Please Help!!! (https://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=22950)

SwaleSmith 13-01-09 03:05 PM

Did try different grpahics in different slot also, still no joy exactly the same.

gonna get another board and cpu and give the board a try if not then I will put in the new cpu, unfortuantley I don't have another psu to try out on, just seems such a coincedence since it happened when priming at high temps with too many volts.

thing is all has been fine since december no complaints at all...then I push the cpu and.....this:(

Plus the board seems to functioning normal...if it was a nvidia based board liek the strikers or 780i I'd say no doubt board but the rampage is all intel based and have ar reputation for being very stable, plus the board was well within limits, as is a pure bread overclocking board.

of course it is still very new tecnology so could be this I sincerly hope it is the board its alot easier/faster warranty side of things, thing is it seems so normal I am convinced its cpu.

too much temp too much heat too many volts, being stressed to the brains with prime,... cpu TM was disabled...I'm sure its cooked

Quote:

Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Swale, I have to say I'd be really surprised if it was the CPU. On any system I've ever used if the CPU is faulty (or missing) the system will spin up the fans and nothing more. When I had a faulty CPU on an ASUS board with the LCD thingy it got stuck on CPU_INIT.

No display, yet a semi-successful POST to me would sound like graphics card or maybe even power delivery to the pci-e slots via the motherboard.

If you've not already done so, try a different GPU in a different PCI-E slot. Even try a PCI graphics card if you can get hold of one.


deathwish 13-01-09 04:56 PM

i would say that the cpu is ok considering what you have said

i would check the power supply hasnt blown

my pc has the same symptoms if the 6pin vga cable is unplugged

SwaleSmith 13-01-09 05:44 PM

dont have a way of proving the psu beyond all doubt I also do have anything to test it with still think its unlikely...have tried swapping wires still the same still find the psu to be unlikely candidate, its a toughpower 1500watt never had a problem with it or anyother I have owned from them this one is not that old or ever been stressed.

its too much of a coincedence this happened when priming and after voltage increases the temps were @ 90c!!! when i was aboiut to stop....but it did that for me :(

can anyone confirm beyond all doubt that if the cpu was damaged in anyway like i think it has, that it woul be possible the m/board would still do post checks go into bios and respond to my commands?

what im thinking is could something else on the i7 blown rather than the cores themselves e.g memory contoller or something/???

°TheMadDutchDude° 13-01-09 06:56 PM

I'm not to skilled with these i7s as I do not own one yet. However if I was you, as you've only had it for a couple of weeks see if they will take the CPU back and offer you a straight swap due to its age I don't think that'll be a problem if you provide them with everything.

That would be the first step, as you said it POSTs etc so your diagnosis I think is correct, sounds to me like the CPU has passed its best by date, although it has had a very short life span!

SwaleSmith 13-01-09 07:12 PM

Ive had it since middle december thought there was some way they could tell its been overclocked a fuse I heard or is that bs

I have had to order a new board and cpu as I cannot have this machine at of action so i am gonna try the board first if not then the cpu, as I should be able to return the board if it turns out that the one I have is fine, if not I will have my answer as the cpu once opened I guess.

One thing if Im really really unlucky and it turns out not to be board or cpu and the cpu box is opened I pressume I'm gonna not be able to return it, unless that was faulty :) would be my luck lol

Quote:

Originally Posted by name='°TheMadDutchDude°'
I'm not to skilled with these i7s as I do not own one yet. However if I was you, as you've only had it for a couple of weeks see if they will take the CPU back and offer you a straight swap due to its age I don't think that'll be a problem if you provide them with everything.

That would be the first step, as you said it POSTs etc so your diagnosis I think is correct, sounds to me like the CPU has passed its best by date, although it has had a very short life span!


FarFarAway 13-01-09 08:44 PM

If the board posts, it's not the CPU

°TheMadDutchDude° 13-01-09 09:01 PM

Mhmm toughy, so Swale you've ordered the new kit then have you?

Hope it is either one or the other, you can sell them off on eBay when you get an RMA of the faulty product! That would be the best plan I think.

SwaleSmith 13-01-09 09:03 PM

so it cannot be the cpu in any shape or form...so zilch, no chance whatsoever ig it was burned out due to overclocking to far or overheating as in at 90c for too long....wait lets say the worst way cpu temp is wrong and it hit T junction max?...rubbing hands excited :)

finger pointing towards board......

FarFarAway 13-01-09 09:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by name='SwaleSmith'
so it cannot be the cpu in any shape or form...so zilch, no chance?...rubbing hands excited :)

Ever tried booting a motherboard with no CPU?

°TheMadDutchDude° 13-01-09 09:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Ever tried booting a motherboard with no CPU?

Nope, but I bet it doesn't like it :p

Good to hear Swale, RMA the board? Hopefully it won't take too long. I've heard cases of Asus taking up to six weeks to return someones Rampage Extreme, that's a tad over the top if you ask me.


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:21 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.