Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 21-04-07, 04:39 PM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
Ps2 + HardDrive?

I have the old bulky PS2. The ones which you have to buy a seperate Network controller.

I just found today that it molex power and IDE harddrive slots on it. As shown below.





Does anyone know how the harddrive gets found and used on s PS2 or was this part never developed?

Thanks!

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21-04-07, 05:00 PM
deathwish deathwish is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,145
weird
__________________
There are 10 types of people in the world those who understand binary and those who dont

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Is it wrong that I'm enjoying this
-----------------------------------------------------------

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21-04-07, 05:02 PM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='deathwish'
weird
Can't see how.. Seeing as you will have to cut a hole in the front of the PS2 to get the drive to eject.

There was always a hole in the PS2 called the "expansion Bay"

EDIT: Deathwise you poo!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21-04-07, 05:10 PM
!TIMMY! !TIMMY! is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,592
Here a link you might find useful:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HD_Loader

And a compatibility list:

http://ps2drives.x-pec.com/?p=list

You can put most your games on the HD using HD Loader or HD Advance and run them off the HD. This is usefull if your laser has gone.

Thinking about this my laser is going, hmmm *pops on ebay*...
__________________
Mobo: DFI LP X48 LT T2R | Bios 12/24 | XSPC Delta Chipset

CPU: Intel Q9550 E0 @ 3.6ghz (424 x 8.5) | Swiftech GTZ

Ram: OCZ PC2-9200 4GB (2 x 2G Flex II @ 1121mhz 5-5-5-15 2T

GC: 2 x Sapphire 4870 1GB @ 780/4000

SC: Auzentech Forte 7.1

Monitors 3 x DGM 24" L2442W-VA LCD

HD's: 3 x WD 150GB Raptor (Raid 0) & 2 x Samsung F3 1TB (Raid 1)

Optical Drives: 2 x NEC DVD Writers

PSU: Enermax Modu82+ 625W

Case: NZXT Tempest

Cooling: Custom Water Cooling

OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21-04-07, 05:12 PM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
OMG now this is awesome!

Thanks Tmmy!

Repped!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21-04-07, 05:19 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
haha I`m all for finding an old hd and checking it out.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21-04-07, 05:23 PM
!TIMMY! !TIMMY! is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,592
What size is your HD? If its over 120gb you will have to get HD Advance 3.0 to support up too 300gb HD's. Btw I don't endorse the copying of games that you don't own the original's of.
__________________
Mobo: DFI LP X48 LT T2R | Bios 12/24 | XSPC Delta Chipset

CPU: Intel Q9550 E0 @ 3.6ghz (424 x 8.5) | Swiftech GTZ

Ram: OCZ PC2-9200 4GB (2 x 2G Flex II @ 1121mhz 5-5-5-15 2T

GC: 2 x Sapphire 4870 1GB @ 780/4000

SC: Auzentech Forte 7.1

Monitors 3 x DGM 24" L2442W-VA LCD

HD's: 3 x WD 150GB Raptor (Raid 0) & 2 x Samsung F3 1TB (Raid 1)

Optical Drives: 2 x NEC DVD Writers

PSU: Enermax Modu82+ 625W

Case: NZXT Tempest

Cooling: Custom Water Cooling

OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21-04-07, 05:24 PM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
haha I`m all for finding an old hd and checking it out.
Thats what I will be doing!

Seeing as my PS2 doesn't read the ever ageing PS1 games I have. I wanna give this a go using a Harddrive.

After all this time me saying The xbox rules because it has a HDD. Now I have found you can run games off of a HDD using a PS2. I am once again impressed!

Need to find a harddrive now.. DAD!

@Timmy - Don't worry matey.. Im against pirating as well!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21-04-07, 05:33 PM
!TIMMY! !TIMMY! is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,592
I might have to get myself a network adapter now lol thinking about it. Im never gonna buy a ps3 @ the price it is atm and i <3 me ps2.
__________________
Mobo: DFI LP X48 LT T2R | Bios 12/24 | XSPC Delta Chipset

CPU: Intel Q9550 E0 @ 3.6ghz (424 x 8.5) | Swiftech GTZ

Ram: OCZ PC2-9200 4GB (2 x 2G Flex II @ 1121mhz 5-5-5-15 2T

GC: 2 x Sapphire 4870 1GB @ 780/4000

SC: Auzentech Forte 7.1

Monitors 3 x DGM 24" L2442W-VA LCD

HD's: 3 x WD 150GB Raptor (Raid 0) & 2 x Samsung F3 1TB (Raid 1)

Optical Drives: 2 x NEC DVD Writers

PSU: Enermax Modu82+ 625W

Case: NZXT Tempest

Cooling: Custom Water Cooling

OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21-04-07, 05:46 PM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='!TIMMY!'
I might have to get myself a network adapter now lol thinking about it. Im never gonna buy a ps3 @ the price it is atm and i <3 me ps2.
I have been playing a few games online atm.

A good few people still playing!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 03:47 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.