Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section > Games
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 12-04-07, 02:06 PM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,671
Wtf Fps Liek Urgh

Ok my games are now quite unplayable with random fps spikes hindering well anything. CSS is like - jittery as fook with my normal settings and just about playable with all settings as low as it gets, but everytime a flash goes off or i walk to a different area it drops to say 10, then goes back up making it rather bad for competitive play. Medieval 2 just dies lol and plays worse than my old sempy. I have the latest CCC (7.3) and have recently oced my e6300 to 2.9ghz. I loosened my timings to 5-5-5-15 as its past the rated speed of my ram. There is 2.15v going to ram. There is 1.4125v going to cpu (one more setting past 1.4v). ICH v is set to auto as my guide recommends this. Im overclocking at 1:1 and Orthos doesnt tell me im unstable. Temps dont go past 53C ish and idle at about 40. HELP ME!

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-04-07, 02:11 PM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
When did it start? Just randomly or after you did somthing?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-04-07, 02:14 PM
equk's Avatar
equk equk is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Southwest England
Posts: 2,578
What do you have MCH set to?

I was getting random crashes on CS:S when I first clocked my system. Turned out it was the MCH setting. Gave it more power and it was suddenly stable again, altho the only thing that it crashed on was CS:S

Altho if it is to do with FPS it's prob the graphics card or a setting

Did the problems start as soon as you overclocked it?
__________________

i5-2500K @ 4.8Ghz | 8G DDR3 | P8Z68-V GEN3 | Archlinux | Win7
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-04-07, 02:16 PM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,671
Ok just ran orthos and now its unstable

FATAL ERROR: Rounding was 0.5, expected less than 0.4

Hardware failure detected, consult stress.txt file.

Torture Test ran 5 minutes 40 seconds - 1 errors, 0 warnings.

Execution halted.

So what should i change now?

Edit: Got some scary beeps comin in every 5 seconds or so...shutdown and dropped overclock to 2.66 (fsb 380)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-04-07, 02:34 PM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,671
wot do u reckon would be a good starting point on the ICH voltage, the SB voltage and NB voltage, as now ive dropped it down i wanna push it back up correctly
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-04-07, 02:39 PM
equk's Avatar
equk equk is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Southwest England
Posts: 2,578
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='mrapoc'
wot do u reckon would be a good starting point on the ICH voltage, the SB voltage and NB voltage, as now ive dropped it down i wanna push it back up correctly
I wouldn't touch the ICH/Southbridge voltage as that controls the IDE/SATA etc & prob won't make a difference in overclocking.
__________________

i5-2500K @ 4.8Ghz | 8G DDR3 | P8Z68-V GEN3 | Archlinux | Win7
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-04-07, 02:46 PM
Dav0s Dav0s is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7,983
does it work ok at stock?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-04-07, 02:51 PM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,671
Im not at stock, just 2.6ghz as i know this works, ill check once ive finished this virus scan on a client's hdd
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-04-07, 03:42 PM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,671
Ok its working fine now - 200fps at spawn - 150ish in combat

What did i do wrong and how can i prevent it
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-04-07, 09:12 PM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,671
Ok got it again during a match even with my dropped overclock so now im @ stock. ARGH
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 06:47 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.